Posting your rating...
Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Caribbean | Aged

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum is a combination of pot-stilled and column-stilled Barbadian rums that are initially aged in the Caribbean in ex-bourbon casks for 12-20 years. They are then transported to France for a second 12-18 months aging in small French oak casks.

The first bottle of Plantation XO 20th Anniversary was created for the head of Cognac Ferrand Estate Alexandre Gabriel to honor his 20th year running the company. This special gift has resulted in the bottling we see today.

8.5/10 (1188 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
4
9
37
98
281
553
200

Rate Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1188 Plantation XO 20th Anniversary ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Dr. Brittlebone from Sweden with 17 ratings

Plantation XO 20 Anniversary 40% Barbados

Eye: Golden teak, thick and sticky

Nose: Watch out, it´s an arrack-attack! When the arrack explosion finally settles, pleasant layers of coconut butter, caramel toffee and vanilla appears. Then a full harmony of orange confit, cedar wood and ladies perfume. It is like an elegant version of the of Yankee Candle Vanilla Cupcake. Every whiff puts a childish smile on my face. The smell is so delicious, I am tempted not to even drink it. I could sit here all night. Pure “The Body Shop” Coco Body Butter. Very sensual. I think women should wear this on their necks as evening perfume.

Mouth: After that ridiculously wonderful nose you wouldn´t expect a rugged, unbalanced Brute with predominant tastes of ethanol and muscovado sugar in a sticky ball. The taste is artificial and manufactured, a chutney of orange marmalade, honey, eau de vie and coconut. The palate turns numb, the tongue is coated with embrowned butter and sugar and some strange alkaline metal is buzzing in the mouth which is far from pleasant. I smell it again. Heavenly! I wonder – how is this possible?

Reaction: What can I say? The smell is absolutely wonderful, well composed and infinitely beautiful. The taste however is brutal. It is difficult to rate this charming troll in a fair way as it shows two different personalities, but it do possess character (not necessarily an appealing one) and that is never a bad thing. So this one is from the hip.

84p (the smell is worth 97 alone)

Price: 509 SEK
Tasted: 2016, in a Riedel Sommelier Cognac XO glass at room temperature.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Golden brown goodness in a sexy bottle! Out of the numerous rums I've been able to sample, Plantation XO is holding strong as one of my favorites. Sweet and clean with a touch of coconut flavor. That subtle taste is comparable to coconut water. Drinking it neat is the way to go. The afterburn lingers a touch but is pleasant. After drinking PXO, you can see how complexity in flavor makes certain rums shine when compared to others. A bottle will set you back around $40 USD (01/2016). If you only have $35 to your name, borrow $5 from somebody and go get some.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Søren Ladegaard from Denmark with 8 ratings

A first sniff gives away some vanilla and cask aromas.
Very ballanced and pleasent nose.
Actually this is one of the least sweet in my cabinet, but it does have some sweetness.
The taste buds is meet with the initial sweetness followed with some vanilla and a bit of cask notes.
The warmth hits relatively hard but not unpleasant.
This is a well ballanced rum that you should try yourself.
BTW. I had to use a wine glass because im on Tenerife and it was the closest to a proper glas I could get :-)

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Olli from Germany with 7 ratings

It is so easy to write about a product with exceptional value.
It is smooth, it has character and it is an explosion of themes. Most prominent vanilla, leather, caramel, coconut and cocoa. It stays and seems to change the theme every once in a while. It is just mesmerizing ....
To make a perfect product even better - ther is the bottle. It is extremely heavy, has a nice straw-binding and a beautiful wooden cap. Just by looking at the bottle you see the difference between high quality and the results even more expensive products can not reach.

So all in all THE perfect combination of taste, quality, and price.

There might be products out there with triple digits price tags, which might match or even surpass the taste of this splendid rum. But I don´t think there is anything out there that can touch this price-quality ratio.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Dave from United States with 36 ratings

Bought this on recommendation of Mario from the United States who is a member on here.

Very smooth sipper with no throat burn. Very long lasting after taste.

Gave it a 9 only cause it's just not as great as El Dorado 21 or Diplomatico 2000 Single Vintage.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I just got the hat trick for today. I purchased three different bottles of rum and all three drew 9's in my book. One of which I declared to be, at that time, to be my first and only sipping rum (Vizcaya VXOP). I mentioned I reserved the right to change my mind and add to the list. Well, this one is my SECOND sipping rum. As with the Vizcaya VXOP it would be a crime to use this in Coke Zero (which is my custom) or in mixed drinks. Almost everything about this rum is absolute awesomeness (apologies to Po, the Dragon Warrior). The aroma is quite delightful. Definitely an oak odor. Nice! The flavor is equally as good. Not overly sweet but a nice balance. I seemed to detect some orange and vanilla and some caramel to it. Good strong but not overpowering burn which fades quickly. The bottle oozes coolness, too. Nice simulated gold leaf lettering and design with a label on the bottom third of the bottle reminding me of engravings on old stocks and bonds. The bottle cap appears to be wood with an embossed metal disc embedded in the top. With all that said, why a cheap imitation cork? They couldn't have used a good quality real cork? Okay...a minor, minor quibble.

Again, this is another rum that is so close to a perfect 10. Definitely one to have in your cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

Rum Plantation 20th Anniversary Extra Old comes in a very nice bottle. The rum is delivered in a simple carton (picture).

In the glass you first smell some sticky alcohol but after a while you sense vanilla and caramel. This rum needs to rest in the glass for a few minutes.

In the mouth you get a sweet taste of caramel, vanilla and spices. A little hint of cask is there too.

The aftertaste is long with som sweetness and spices. This is a nice sipper to a decent price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Sakulnikov from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Bottle: I like its shape and with the engraving it is just beautiful 1/1
Colour: Dark amber
Aroma: Very rich. A lot of vanilla and chocolate with coconut and little bit fruity. 2/2
Taste: It is not very sweet, just like dark chocolate should be. Chocolate flavour is the most distinguishable there, with some nuts and hints of oak . If I take into account aroma, taste and aftertaste it is really complex rum and just plain perfection. 5/5
Aftertaste: Smooth, sweet and little bit woody. There is not anything bad in it. 2/2
Generally it is the best of the best for me, I have not ever tasted something bettter and I always have bottle of this one in my cabinet, or rather two.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Steven James from United Kingdom with 33 ratings

Not an accurate representation of Bajan Rum. Sugared nonsense

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Ju from France with 2 ratings

This is my favourite rum so far.
Not too strong on the nose, really smooth to sip. Sweet but not too much, really well balanced.
A vanilla aroma, a bit of coco, the fruit. I love it.
And mainly, this is not an extra-expensive rum. For me the best value for money I've seen until now.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Christopher Church from Canada with 4 ratings

I tried this rum the other day and was blown away. When I first took a sip it was like silk in your mouth. Very smooth. This rum isn't as sweet as Ron zacapa 23 solero but sweeter than Flor de Caña 18. This is my new favourite rum as I continue my quest for the perfect rum at a decent price. This rum is beautiful, buy some you won't be disappointed.