Posting your rating...
Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum is a combination of pot-stilled and column-stilled Barbadian rums that are initially aged in the Caribbean in ex-bourbon casks for 12-20 years. They are then transported to France for a second 12-18 months aging in small French oak casks.

The first bottle of Plantation XO 20th Anniversary was created for the head of Cognac Ferrand Estate Alexandre Gabriel to honor his 20th year running the company. This special gift has resulted in the bottling we see today.

Rate Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1090 Plantation XO 20th Anniversary ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Ryan W from United States with 8 ratings

Had for the first time and very smooth. Especially get the vanilla. Definitely worthy of a spot in the liquor cabinet.

Posted over 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Golden brown goodness in a sexy bottle! Out of the numerous rums I've been able to sample, Plantation XO is holding strong as one of my favorites. Sweet and clean with a touch of coconut flavor. That subtle taste is comparable to coconut water. Drinking it neat is the way to go. The afterburn lingers a touch but is pleasant. After drinking PXO, you can see how complexity in flavor makes certain rums shine when compared to others. A bottle will set you back around $40 USD (01/2016). If you only have $35 to your name, borrow $5 from somebody and go get some.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Søren Ladegaard from Denmark with 8 ratings

A first sniff gives away some vanilla and cask aromas.
Very ballanced and pleasent nose.
Actually this is one of the least sweet in my cabinet, but it does have some sweetness.
The taste buds is meet with the initial sweetness followed with some vanilla and a bit of cask notes.
The warmth hits relatively hard but not unpleasant.
This is a well ballanced rum that you should try yourself.
BTW. I had to use a wine glass because im on Tenerife and it was the closest to a proper glas I could get :-)

Posted over 3 years ago by Olli from Germany with 7 ratings

It is so easy to write about a product with exceptional value.
It is smooth, it has character and it is an explosion of themes. Most prominent vanilla, leather, caramel, coconut and cocoa. It stays and seems to change the theme every once in a while. It is just mesmerizing ....
To make a perfect product even better - ther is the bottle. It is extremely heavy, has a nice straw-binding and a beautiful wooden cap. Just by looking at the bottle you see the difference between high quality and the results even more expensive products can not reach.

So all in all THE perfect combination of taste, quality, and price.

There might be products out there with triple digits price tags, which might match or even surpass the taste of this splendid rum. But I don´t think there is anything out there that can touch this price-quality ratio.

Posted over 5 years ago by Dave from United States with 36 ratings

Bought this on recommendation of Mario from the United States who is a member on here.

Very smooth sipper with no throat burn. Very long lasting after taste.

Gave it a 9 only cause it's just not as great as El Dorado 21 or Diplomatico 2000 Single Vintage.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I just got the hat trick for today. I purchased three different bottles of rum and all three drew 9's in my book. One of which I declared to be, at that time, to be my first and only sipping rum (Vizcaya VXOP). I mentioned I reserved the right to change my mind and add to the list. Well, this one is my SECOND sipping rum. As with the Vizcaya VXOP it would be a crime to use this in Coke Zero (which is my custom) or in mixed drinks. Almost everything about this rum is absolute awesomeness (apologies to Po, the Dragon Warrior). The aroma is quite delightful. Definitely an oak odor. Nice! The flavor is equally as good. Not overly sweet but a nice balance. I seemed to detect some orange and vanilla and some caramel to it. Good strong but not overpowering burn which fades quickly. The bottle oozes coolness, too. Nice simulated gold leaf lettering and design with a label on the bottom third of the bottle reminding me of engravings on old stocks and bonds. The bottle cap appears to be wood with an embossed metal disc embedded in the top. With all that said, why a cheap imitation cork? They couldn't have used a good quality real cork? Okay...a minor, minor quibble.

Again, this is another rum that is so close to a perfect 10. Definitely one to have in your cabinet.

Posted over 4 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

Rum Plantation 20th Anniversary Extra Old comes in a very nice bottle. The rum is delivered in a simple carton (picture).

In the glass you first smell some sticky alcohol but after a while you sense vanilla and caramel. This rum needs to rest in the glass for a few minutes.

In the mouth you get a sweet taste of caramel, vanilla and spices. A little hint of cask is there too.

The aftertaste is long with som sweetness and spices. This is a nice sipper to a decent price.

Posted over 6 years ago by Sakulnikov from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Bottle: I like its shape and with the engraving it is just beautiful 1/1
Colour: Dark amber
Aroma: Very rich. A lot of vanilla and chocolate with coconut and little bit fruity. 2/2
Taste: It is not very sweet, just like dark chocolate should be. Chocolate flavour is the most distinguishable there, with some nuts and hints of oak . If I take into account aroma, taste and aftertaste it is really complex rum and just plain perfection. 5/5
Aftertaste: Smooth, sweet and little bit woody. There is not anything bad in it. 2/2
Generally it is the best of the best for me, I have not ever tasted something bettter and I always have bottle of this one in my cabinet, or rather two.

Posted over 6 years ago by Steven James from United Kingdom with 33 ratings

Not an accurate representation of Bajan Rum. Sugared nonsense

Posted over 3 years ago by Ju from France with 2 ratings

This is my favourite rum so far.
Not too strong on the nose, really smooth to sip. Sweet but not too much, really well balanced.
A vanilla aroma, a bit of coco, the fruit. I love it.
And mainly, this is not an extra-expensive rum. For me the best value for money I've seen until now.

Posted over 3 years ago by Christopher Church from Canada with 4 ratings

I tried this rum the other day and was blown away. When I first took a sip it was like silk in your mouth. Very smooth. This rum isn't as sweet as Ron zacapa 23 solero but sweeter than Flor de Caña 18. This is my new favourite rum as I continue my quest for the perfect rum at a decent price. This rum is beautiful, buy some you won't be disappointed.

Posted about 4 years ago by Rontsen from Germany with 4 ratings

I love Plantation Rums. And this one is by far the best one. It's smooth and sweet and it's so tasty. I could have one right now. I tried more expensive Rums, but they weren't as good as the XO.

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

I waited a few months before testing it. I come from the world of cognac and my journey into the world of rum was to pass by Plantation.This XO 20th is for me the best rum I tasted yet. Very gentle with aromas of vanilla , coconut , caramel. Elegant with a beautiful maturity. This is an excellent assembly work . A long finish . Need to have it in your bar.

Posted over 4 years ago by Erock from United States with 11 ratings

I own many of the rums rated here with a score of 8 or 9. This is the one that I hoard. My other top choices are Brugal 1888, El Dorado 15 and Zaya. I'm not sure why this bottle only sells for $40 in Miami. Very smooth, Sweet and delicious for alcohol. Get it while you can

Posted about 3 years ago by Petr Gabriel from Czech Republic with 24 ratings

Best drink I have ever drunk. Also It has the softest taste of rum I have experienced. Very balanced taste of sweetness (fruits, caramel) and typical rum taste of wood and sugar. Not sharp at all. It has very nice and smooth coconut finish.
I recommend this rum to all rum gurus.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Zakeus from Sweden with 2 ratings

The one rhum to rule them all. Well balanced, sweet, fruity makes you feel like you are at a palm beach in the tropics. A bit smokey feel, a stinging sensation that doesnt overdo it, but leaves you longing for the next sip.

Posted at The Rum Bar KL over 2 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Dark side of sugar, dried fruits coated with caramel and dark chocolate, intensely sweet, custard, coconut candy with raisin. Yes, the layer of cognac fragrant is there before swamp by the arising sugar syrup. (17/25)

P- Thin scent of cognac, cooked exotic fruit caramel, dulce de leche, jackfruits jelly. Syrupy. Cloyingly sweet on 2nd sips. A dessert on its own. (16/25)

F- Short, sweet dominates, sticky, some chocolate and vanilla with spirit-y heats. (16/25)

Balanced- Abundance of sugar for those with sweet tooth, probably not for someone with diabetes dietary. Beautiful packaging indeed. (16/25)

Weighted Rate:- 65pt

Posted over 3 years ago by Markus Lehto from Finland with 32 ratings

Whoa, very nice aroma of something tropical, fudge and soft toffee. Thick and super soft mouthfeel. Very nice indeed!

Posted about 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 4 ratings

The best untill now, a very fine rum with a unique simple flavour.

Posted about 7 years ago by DonRon from Germany with 13 ratings

Plantation XO is a very sweet and silky rum. It feels almost like a smooth liqueur.

It has some really amazing notes you won't necessesarily find in the world of rum. Especially the smooth taste of coconuts is very unique to this Plantation as it is not a spiced rum. This is accompanied by lots of tropic fruits and pure Caribean feeling to take a few minutes off.

It is an ideal sipping rum for those who want to add some variety to their cabinet and to surprise your guests and other rum enthusiastics.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Well over 1,900 aged dark rums enjoyed and Plantation XO 20th Anniversary is easily on my Top 5 list after 15 years. It is sublime, super smooth, no burn at all and contains plenty of amazing flavors. If you haven't tried yet Plantation XO 20th Anniversary, go quickly and get a bottle since it will set a brand new benchmark for your personal rum list.

Nose: Hints of spicy oak on the nose with guava, plenty of coconut and dried banana.
Palate: Spiced, creamy palate entry, with sweet vanilla notes and a lot of caramel.
Finish: Caramel. Toasted oak. Caramel.

Posted over 2 years ago by Stéphane from Canada with 2 ratings

Starting my “serious” rum exploration (don’t ask about the previous ones) I relied on this site, your comments and ratings to select my first high rated bottle...
...Honestly ? What am I going to try next ?
Really out of words. Could be the sipper of sippers. Dangerously Suave !
OK calm down! Let say the bases were not loaded, maybe there’s still room for a grand slam...but what do you suggest?
Thank you.

Posted over 2 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Veľká, mohutná, ťažká fľaša poctivého a dobre vyváženého rumu. Pochádza z Barbadosu a je namiešaný zo zmesí rumov starých 12-20 rokov. V pohári zlatistá až mahagónová farba, po pár minútach sa rozvinú tóny kakaa, vanilky, pomarančov, medovice. Veľmi vyvážená voňa, každý si v nej nájde niečo svoje, či už sladšie, alebo korenistejšie. Jedna z najlepších rumových aróm. U mňa za vôňu 9,5 boda. Chuť je tak isto komplexná, veľmi hladký rum s kratším chvostom. Pri prvom kontakte na jazyku zacítite jeho sladkosť, potom sa rozvinú korenistejšie chute a na záver môžete zacítiť aj dubový súdok. Takto by mal podľa mňa chutiť dobrý aged rum a podľa neho by sa mohli porovnávať kvality ostatných rumov. Výborná voľba. Prudko odporúčam.

Posted about 3 years ago by Mark from United States with 1 rating

Deep caramel color, with the 20 predominately displayed.. not a 20 year old rum. The taste was very enjoyable however a little syrupy for my liking.

Posted about 4 years ago by Arnaud from France with 14 ratings

Plantation 20th Anniversary est un assemblage de plusieurs rums des Barbades, vieillis et sélectionnés par Alexandre Gabriel pour célébrer ses 20 ans passés à la tête de la société Pierre Ferrand. Affiné dans des petits fûts de Cognac au Château de Bonbonnet, ce rhum particulièrement épicé se révèle en bouche d’une gourmandise à laquelle il est difficile de résister.
Profil : fin, précis. Crémeux et vanillé. Empyreumatique (cèdre, bois brûlé). Epices fortes (graine de moutarde, muscade). Capiteux. Poudre de cacao et noix fraîche. Vétiver.




#