Posting your rating...
Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Caribbean | Aged

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum is a combination of pot-stilled and column-stilled Barbadian rums that are initially aged in the Caribbean in ex-bourbon casks for 12-20 years. They are then transported to France for a second 12-18 months aging in small French oak casks.

The first bottle of Plantation XO 20th Anniversary was created for the head of Cognac Ferrand Estate Alexandre Gabriel to honor his 20th year running the company. This special gift has resulted in the bottling we see today.

8.6/10 (1148 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
4
8
36
98
271
529
196

Rate Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1148 Plantation XO 20th Anniversary ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

1ed1a975c028d0d110cd4fa2020346ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

Well,
Plantation has easily the most consciousness marketing department that existed. All the way from the box to the bottle no corners were cut. I could write a mile long summary on that alone but that's not why we are here. Opening the bottle and sniffing it gives you a bunch of wonderful hints, first the cask then some coconut, spices (maybe cinnamon) and a very nice sugar smell. In the glass its a very dark amber, tasting it neat is a very warming rum, extremely well balanced. The coconut is a unique surprise that i'm not used to in aged rums and it makes a very nice addition to the collection. Noting its balanced you get hints of chocolate (probably dark chocolate), oak cask, alcohol,the coconut and vanilla. The coconut after taste lingers for a long time. In cola its good but not as good as straight up. Since its balanced the cola kills some of its unique hints, still very good however. I can see this bottle being a mega hit at a holiday party.
8.5 on rum and .5 bonus points on packaging/bottle.

Deb2887cce791afb5e4bda11ea5f48b7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by Alexandra from Czech Republic with 6 ratings

Very fancy bottle with huge cap on top. Super balanced flavor in every aspect. Excellent price/performance ratio.

0b2852660fe81cd85437e99adc456ad5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by Kabi4 from Czech Republic with 14 ratings

Wow... unbelievable taste.... currently my No1.👍
Its like caress...
nice bottle is just add. cherry on the top
Thank you for this rum !

7d13c3c61e9f8efe00deae69f130c064.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 47 ratings

This rum is ridiculously smooth. It’s smoother than drinking water. It has a very velvety sensation and perfectly balanced aromas. The first time I tried it it blew me away.

Nose: 9
Palate: 10
Aftertaste: 10
Smoothness: 10
Versatility: 9
Price: 9

Total: 9.5

15faa926b0c0dcc4f98382de4c581dd0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by JGulla from United States with 7 ratings

This is close to perfection. A perfect marriage of a touch of sweetness with wonderful complexity and unique character. The color? Deserving of a place in the best Caribbean island sunsets. The aroma? Enticing in all the right ways.

The taste? It opens up with everything you expect from a premium sipping rum, and then goes on to top that by giving a light and pleasant toasted coconut flavor for miles and miles on the finish. This rum has the most finish and best mouthfeel I’ve had the pleasure of sipping this far.

While I have yet to find anything that is this delicious and unique yet, I gave it a 9 with hope that some of the really premium stuff out there I have not yet tried may still be better yet. Hard to imagine though.
This is tops and should be in every rum lovers collection. Hell, even if the rum was average, that bottle screams out pure rum awesomeness.

04be2830b34033e248c275dda5d55558.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Michael David from United States with 10 ratings

A smooth, sipping rum with a flavor that is more coconut forward than most. Still, sweet, delicious, and a great value!

Bcc23eccfa1b56208591b7a968c1f668.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Jason from United States with 2 ratings

Plantation has a few really good bottles, but in my opinion this isn't one of them. As is the Plantation way, they have taken a rum, this time from Barbados, and added a lot of sugar. At the $40-$50 price, there are just far better rums ... Especially Barbados rums.

5e9e0d05bc3b34a571adf538c4d30143.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Blasphemous Maximus from Canada with 2 ratings

Damn near perfect. One of the finest rums I've ever had the pleasure of enjoying, fantastic sipper. A wonderfully balanced rum with just the right amount of sweetness and thick caramel finish.

2b56af3a6f1de25a2c87c65a8b3cb6a7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by rhumjesus from Canada with 31 ratings

So it's sweet vanilla banana with toasted coconut. That's what's up. And cane sugar 🤔
Way better than expected for some one who genert finds Barbados rumb bit dull.

9958b67cf44db04379da508f2f5aff2d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Bart from Netherlands with 6 ratings

Tones of amandel and anijs. Sweet and fresh. Real tastebomb. Love it

2edae653dd1a05d900b138cb53241a5f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Angel Sanchez from United States with 12 ratings

I wrote a much longer description but it kicked me off before I could submit it. Not doing that again. I will just say this... this is my new favorite rum and it will be hard to top for me. The perfect combination of complexity and hint of sweetness.