Posting your rating...
Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Caribbean | Aged

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum is a combination of pot-stilled and column-stilled Barbadian rums that are initially aged in the Caribbean in ex-bourbon casks for 12-20 years. They are then transported to France for a second 12-18 months aging in small French oak casks.

The first bottle of Plantation XO 20th Anniversary was created for the head of Cognac Ferrand Estate Alexandre Gabriel to honor his 20th year running the company. This special gift has resulted in the bottling we see today.

8.5/10
1354 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
4
11
44
116
336
623
214

Rate Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1354 Plantation XO 20th Anniversary ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Shipmonster from French Polynesia with 13 ratings

Soft on the nose with a great pallet of coconut, toffee, and a buttery finish.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Lelly72 from United Kingdom with 27 ratings

I bought this rum for a smidge under £50, and I think it’s impeccable. Now some people may argue, “I should bloody well think so for that price!” And you know what, I completely agree. If you are going to spend that sort of money on a rum, you should at the very least expect that it’s going to be far more superior, than all the generic rums currently being sold at the moment. Well this Plantation XO 20th Anniversary Rum certainly lives up to its price tag. This is a prime example of, ‘you get what you pay for!’ It smells like a cross between Rum and Brandy. And considering this rum spent its final years aged in a Cognac barrel, I may not be far from the mark with my nose skills. Neat, this is spot on as a sipping rum. In the mouth it’s sweet, and goes down smooth with no gruff alcohol after burn. If you don’t believe me, compare this with a cheap rum and you will be left in to no doubt why Plantation is relatively so expensive. But for me, adding Coca-Cola and turning this into a long drink, sent me to rum heaven! It’s faultless. Every mouthful made me feel like a millionaire! Even with the coke, it doesn’t become sickly sweet like some rums. And with absolutely no grim unpleasant aftertaste, it’s no wonder I have nothing but adulation for this rum. My only reservation is this. If you are going to spend £50 on a rum, then mix it with Coca-Cola, is it worth it? Well if I may be bold as to answer my own question, everything is relative, so if you can afford to do so, then ABSOLUTELY DEFINITELY.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Greengator25 from United States with 15 ratings

Got this off some internet list of best rums.... Saw it in Total Wine on sale and I was pleasantly surprised, I like the sweet finish. Smooth. I think this will be my got to sipper!

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Rumbullion from Canada with 4 ratings

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary. Offered @ $60-70 CAD.

The robe is light amber, clean legs/tears forming post swirling. 8/10

The nose is sweet, brown sugar, toffee, caramel, buttery with a hint of fruits and citrus in the background. 17/20

The palate is buttery smooth, sweet, caramel, molasses, toffee, tons of fruity flavors, banana, orange peel, citrus and cinnamon tannin all present and very noticeable, followed by a very light new oak cask ending. Definitely taste the Cognac casks it was finished in, beautifully crafted. 36/40

The afterburn is mellow and again buttery smooth, some sweetness still present in the throat, tingling cinnamon and sweet fruits (banana with a tad of orange) still very present in the back of the mouth. 25/30

Total score combined 86/100

Detailed score:

Robe & Colour out of 10/100: 8
Nose & Aromas out of 20/100: 17
Palate & Mouthfeel out of 40/100: 36
Afterburn & Finish out of 30/100: 25

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Kevin from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Plantation XO is a smooth, sweet and silky rum, served in an excellent bottle. Balanced taste, full of fruit, vanilla and caramel, with little burn but lots of after taste. I would definitely have a place for it on my shelf, but it is just a little too expensive for me.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Rumgoesh from United States with 2 ratings

Was giving this rum as a gift for my wedding and is one of my favorites

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Pmrp from United States with 10 ratings

After much hype, I finally acquired a bottle to pit against my other sweet sippers from Venezuela and Guyana. This Barbados meets France base skips the more typical caramel and molasses flavors in favor of a lighter, more tropical take—bananas, chocolate, vanilla, and coconut. The mouth feel is lovely—oily, yet somehow light-bodied as well. This stuff is just pleasant from start to finish—an enticing fruity nose, a decadent sweet palette, and a subtle lingering burn that encourages you to immediately do it all over again. My favorite, crave-worthy sipper to date.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Limike from Czech Republic with 23 ratings

Byl to úplně první prémiový rum, který jsem ochutnal. A musím říct, že to nebyla pro naprostého začátečníka úplně správná volba. Jedná se v chuti a vůni o dost specifický rum. Zarazila mě výrazná chuť a vůně sušenek alias kokosu.Je to velmi dobrý rum v přenádherné láhvy, která ozdobí jakoukoliv poličku. Nováčkům bych ale doporučil spíše sladší Diplomatico reserve.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Bishopjustice from United States with 2 ratings

This rum is just sweet enough with a straight ahead and complex flavor and aroma. I find myself
Craving this rum over all others though sometimes it can be a little overly sweet straight up. The oak and vanilla aromas really bring something special to this rum and the beautiful bottle takes the experience to the next level. Love it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mujuru from United States with 71 ratings

This rum is ridiculously smooth. It’s smoother than drinking water. It has a very velvety sensation and perfectly balanced aromas. The first time I tried it it blew me away.

01/2021 After over 60 rums one had to get dropped down and as great as this is it just doesn’t compete with the other tens anymore

Nose: 8
Palate: 9
Aftertaste: 9
Smoothness: 10
Versatility: 9
Price: 8

Total: 8.8

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 146 ratings

In this crazy world of rum it is easy to be misguided by the number printed on some of these bottles, so let this be said. This rum is not 20 years old, but that doesn´t mean that it is bad.

Nose: Caramel, vanilla and a hint of fried bananas
Taste: Thick and sweet with caramel, vanilla and a hint of orange peel. Short and thin aftertaste
Overall: This rum is on the sweeter side, but it still holds up well against other rums in that category. It fills the mouth, but leaves soon after swallowing, which hurts the rating a bit