Posting your rating...
Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Caribbean | Aged

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum is a combination of pot-stilled and column-stilled Barbadian rums that are initially aged in the Caribbean in ex-bourbon casks for 12-20 years. They are then transported to France for a second 12-18 months aging in small French oak casks.

The first bottle of Plantation XO 20th Anniversary was created for the head of Cognac Ferrand Estate Alexandre Gabriel to honor his 20th year running the company. This special gift has resulted in the bottling we see today.

8.5/10 (1281 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
4
10
41
105
310
599
206

Rate Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1281 Plantation XO 20th Anniversary ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

Well,
Plantation has easily the most consciousness marketing department that existed. All the way from the box to the bottle no corners were cut. I could write a mile long summary on that alone but that's not why we are here. Opening the bottle and sniffing it gives you a bunch of wonderful hints, first the cask then some coconut, spices (maybe cinnamon) and a very nice sugar smell. In the glass its a very dark amber, tasting it neat is a very warming rum, extremely well balanced. The coconut is a unique surprise that i'm not used to in aged rums and it makes a very nice addition to the collection. Noting its balanced you get hints of chocolate (probably dark chocolate), oak cask, alcohol,the coconut and vanilla. The coconut after taste lingers for a long time. In cola its good but not as good as straight up. Since its balanced the cola kills some of its unique hints, still very good however. I can see this bottle being a mega hit at a holiday party.
8.5 on rum and .5 bonus points on packaging/bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Juan1978 from Colombia with 11 ratings

No words if you like Rum you most try this...
The real deal

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by JT from Norway with 34 ratings

Den beste Rom jeg har smakt, soleklar favoritt. En deilig lukt av vanilje og karamell. Ettersmaken er behagelig og varm og ikke noe dårlig ettersmak.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by One808 (PREMIUM) from Canada with 11 ratings

For me, this rum has a similar character to the "regular" Plantation Dark, but it's deeper, richer, and more refined. Definitely a rum I'll be giving to new inductees to the art of drinking rum.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Smovens from United States with 94 ratings

I didn’t think this was exceptional or anything. Sweet, coconut taste, typical plantation finish

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by chris167 from United States with 14 ratings

A touch of everything. It has some sweetness, some bite, an old world flavor, and covers what one may expect. I had EXTREMELY high hopes for this bottle, and was left with "well shit, that's not bad". A great bottle. Its available, fairly priced, and a good product with a touch of smoke and oak.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Vlad from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Really enjoyed its smooth flavor, smell and also decent bottle design

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Akshjps from Netherlands with 5 ratings

Bought this bottle along with some others I have to try, and I am glad I started with this one.
Packaging is pretty simple, no fancy stuff like zacapa xo or flor de cana, bottle looks nice, but in the end it’s the inside that matters.

Very smooth taste, no throat-burn whatsoever, and the flavors just explode once you take a sip.

Great tasting rum at a great price. Definitely a keeper.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by JT from Germany with 21 ratings

Ein wirklich schöner Rum. Weich und der Hauch von Kokos gefällt mir schon ziemlich gut.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by maraczizsolt from Hungary with 37 ratings

Best what I have tried. No alcohol flavour, creamy, consumable on its own, on ice.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Robin Wouters from Belgium with 15 ratings

First time I tasted it I tought it wasn't realy my kind of rum. But i was wrong. Now I Like to have a bottle of this one. It's sweet, but not to much, it has a realy Nice finish. It smells realy soft. It's easy to drink. Realy Nice in the evening.