Posting your rating...
Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Caribbean | Aged

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum is a combination of pot-stilled and column-stilled Barbadian rums that are initially aged in the Caribbean in ex-bourbon casks for 12-20 years. They are then transported to France for a second 12-18 months aging in small French oak casks.

The first bottle of Plantation XO 20th Anniversary was created for the head of Cognac Ferrand Estate Alexandre Gabriel to honor his 20th year running the company. This special gift has resulted in the bottling we see today.

8.6/10 (1180 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
4
9
37
97
280
547
200

Rate Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1180 Plantation XO 20th Anniversary ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Sam W from United States with 6 ratings

Incredible high end rum without the high end $
I prefer this with a small ice cube, allowing it chill for 5 minutes.
Your senses are greeted with vanilla a hint of banana, sugar cane and coconut. The flavor remains like an old friend with no burn.
Pure bliss!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kasper Meijer from Switzerland with 30 ratings

Color, aroma, taste, sweetness. It all works very well. The new bottle is cool, not as cool as the old one... But I'm nostalgic. Bought another one already!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by DonRON from Canada with 11 ratings

Definitely fruity... spicy and sweet... little bit to fruity for me but still really good. You can definitely taste vanilla, banana, coconut.... cinnamon....and other good flavors.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Gravy from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

This was the second of Plantation's range I have tried, and I really like them both.
The nose and initial taste is all about coconut, lightly toasted. There's a smidge of vanilla, sofk oak, honey and caramel. It feels a little burny, but meh ... that doesn't really bother me too much unless I'm swirling it around in my mouth for so long that I forget I have rum in there and breathe-in.
Top-tip ... do not inhale your rum. It will make you cough and possibly cry a bit.
I originally scored this an 8, but I found that once the bottle has been opened for a couple of weeks, a lot of the coconut and honey elements have faded.
The first taste was bloody lovely, though!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 142 ratings

Внушительная бутылка толстого стекла с помпезной пробкой. Дёшево выглядящая соломенная оплётка не сочетается с золотыми буквами и логотипом. Аромат французы умеют делать: изысканные духи, кожа, лак, мёд, дубовая бочка. Во вкусе сладость, даже приторность, маслянистость, горечь, терпкость и много чего ещё. Восторг вызывает, но усиленный кислотами и замаскированный сахарами алкоголь непременно обжигает нёбо и тяжело заходит в желудок. Гастрономически может сочетаться с чем угодно, это плюс. Такой праздничный, карнавальный ром, не элитный.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 92 ratings

Grossartiger Duft in der Nase.
Feine Aromenvielfalt leider schon etwas zu süss.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Reino Tilkki from Estonia with 10 ratings

Epic, tasty, spicy, amazing, juicy, flavorful and most importantly very well priced. Definitely a strong 10.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by lonefalcon from United States with 18 ratings

Great rum, very smooth fruity start, longer burn in the aftertaste. Sweet smelling in the glass; after sitting for a while smells floral and almost of a sweet carrot cake.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jaybird from United States with 48 ratings

To me this is a true sipping rum. Soft, sweet aroma of graham crackers and cinammon. Hints of vanilla and caramel. Complex yet very soft aroma. It's full medium sweet upfront and warming. Graham cracker carries through in the flavor as do the hints of vanilla. Oak is apparent but smooth. Warming but not at all hot. Nice finish, drying and warm. A really great sipping rum! Purists may not like this one but judge it for what it is. It's good! I'll be keeping a spare bottle of this at all times!

Sept. 2019 - Revisited this rum recently and still find it highly enjoyable. Although I find myself gravitating towards less sweet rums recently I still found this an excellent drink, well balanced and complex. Smooth and easy sipping. I would possibly rate this 1 point lower if trying for the first time but I leave my rating unchanged as I still think it's very worthy. Again this is not a rum for dry rum drinkers or purists but as I said before, it is what it is and I think it's well deserving of it's high rating.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 140 ratings

This is my favorite rum.
Vanilla and coconut flavors are make me relax.
Very good balance of sweetness and richness.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rob from Netherlands with 11 ratings

Mijn eerste rum waar ik meer als 50 euro voor heb uitgegeven. Het is ook de beste die ik tot nu toe heb gedronken. Zeer lekker!