Posting your rating...
Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Caribbean | Aged

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum is a combination of pot-stilled and column-stilled Barbadian rums that are initially aged in the Caribbean in ex-bourbon casks for 12-20 years. They are then transported to France for a second 12-18 months aging in small French oak casks.

The first bottle of Plantation XO 20th Anniversary was created for the head of Cognac Ferrand Estate Alexandre Gabriel to honor his 20th year running the company. This special gift has resulted in the bottling we see today.

8.5/10 (1225 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
4
10
37
102
293
569
204

Rate Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1225 Plantation XO 20th Anniversary ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

Well,
Plantation has easily the most consciousness marketing department that existed. All the way from the box to the bottle no corners were cut. I could write a mile long summary on that alone but that's not why we are here. Opening the bottle and sniffing it gives you a bunch of wonderful hints, first the cask then some coconut, spices (maybe cinnamon) and a very nice sugar smell. In the glass its a very dark amber, tasting it neat is a very warming rum, extremely well balanced. The coconut is a unique surprise that i'm not used to in aged rums and it makes a very nice addition to the collection. Noting its balanced you get hints of chocolate (probably dark chocolate), oak cask, alcohol,the coconut and vanilla. The coconut after taste lingers for a long time. In cola its good but not as good as straight up. Since its balanced the cola kills some of its unique hints, still very good however. I can see this bottle being a mega hit at a holiday party.
8.5 on rum and .5 bonus points on packaging/bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Harry from South Africa with 40 ratings

Absolutely mind-blowing! My first experience and tasting of a classical 'sipping' rum! Enjoyed every single droplet and immediately went out and sourced some for myself! Started my journey with rum because of this exceptionally smooth vanilla toffee, fudge, caramel beauty!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ojkush from Netherlands with 9 ratings

Very smooth rum, exceptional well balanced.

The taste afterwards is a little bit boring still a splendid sipper!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Stadaik from Greece with 38 ratings

Balanced. For the price, the taste, the pleasure. Maybe i would like to see a better aftertaste. Something more spicy or fuity but nothing negative. Fair play. A must to try. Even i prefer more sweet rums. I will buy a bottle and get drunk with that and then i will come back to write about it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Daan from Netherlands with 56 ratings

Nice and sweet. Sirupy, taste lasts long time. Not an every day drink but only for special ocassions.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by RichPotter from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Sweet notes but gentle on the palate. Lovely sipping rum for a special occasion.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jdudah from Canada with 2 ratings

This one exceeded my expectations. It is exceptional well balanced and a medium sweetness. I immediately wanted another

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Birkved from Denmark with 6 ratings

Dark rum, not to sweet with taste of burned banana, vanilla and a little chocolate. This is a 12 year old rum added some older rum in this 20'th anniversary. Nice

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by MikeyA53 from Canada with 34 ratings

Wow, one of my new favourites, very smooth and sweet and fruity . Love the bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Folharth from Canada with 69 ratings

Love it with or without coke , great rum , good price

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by panki from Czech Republic with 12 ratings

Balení: jedno z nejhezčích provedení lahve.
Pro ty kdo mají rádi sladší rumy, je tohle opravdu bomba. Po nalití je potřeba nechat rum min. 10minut vydýchat, aby se plně rozvynula chuť a vůně. Pak ucítíte příjemný kokosový nádech, který ale nepřebíjí samotnnou chuť rumu. Rum je velmi jemný a za ty peníze to je super nákup. V této cenové kategorii zatím top.