Posting your rating...
Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Caribbean | Aged

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum is a combination of pot-stilled and column-stilled Barbadian rums that are initially aged in the Caribbean in ex-bourbon casks for 12-20 years. They are then transported to France for a second 12-18 months aging in small French oak casks.

The first bottle of Plantation XO 20th Anniversary was created for the head of Cognac Ferrand Estate Alexandre Gabriel to honor his 20th year running the company. This special gift has resulted in the bottling we see today.

8.5/10 (1285 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
4
10
41
106
308
603
207

Rate Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1285 Plantation XO 20th Anniversary ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

Well,
Plantation has easily the most consciousness marketing department that existed. All the way from the box to the bottle no corners were cut. I could write a mile long summary on that alone but that's not why we are here. Opening the bottle and sniffing it gives you a bunch of wonderful hints, first the cask then some coconut, spices (maybe cinnamon) and a very nice sugar smell. In the glass its a very dark amber, tasting it neat is a very warming rum, extremely well balanced. The coconut is a unique surprise that i'm not used to in aged rums and it makes a very nice addition to the collection. Noting its balanced you get hints of chocolate (probably dark chocolate), oak cask, alcohol,the coconut and vanilla. The coconut after taste lingers for a long time. In cola its good but not as good as straight up. Since its balanced the cola kills some of its unique hints, still very good however. I can see this bottle being a mega hit at a holiday party.
8.5 on rum and .5 bonus points on packaging/bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by indigo from Czech Republic with 7 ratings

This is popular TOP rum, but i dont like. I know better rums.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Alkin from Latvia with 43 ratings

Excellent taste, a lot of aroma and flavors for adequate price.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Lebowski from Canada with 6 ratings

Oh my god, this is so good. So smooth, just awesome.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Bacox1 from Netherlands with 1 rating

Its the perfect rum realy smooth and not to sweet.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Werner from Netherlands with 4 ratings

Nice package, good looking bottle, it all starts with the first impression! The smell is sweet, I can't distinguish all the different smells, bad nose, but for what it's worth! The taste is great it's not to sweet/smooth, it has it's own unique flavour and the after taste, which is something I really focus on is really nice. For the price it comes, I payed 38 euro, this is far out the best run I had in this category (around 40 euro)

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by tomisjiri1 from Czech Republic with 3 ratings

Amer colou, taste sweet, sometimes like coconut. Enjoyed it!!!

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Ed O'Herlihy from Canada with 7 ratings

I often find myself standing in a lineup waiting to pay, look down at my most recent $150+ experiment in my hand, and ask myself, "why are you not just buying some Plantation XO?" You know you would probably enjoy it more! For many years I have been chasing a bottle I enjoy more than this one and yet the struggle continues.

I have converted many "I don't like rum" people into rum enthusiasts who actually buy premium bottles themselves. Almost always, Plantation XO 20th is the reason why. It is my go-to for people who need to experience what rum should really be all about. A true crowd-pleaser! A mandatory addition to anyone's collection as it is quite easy to find in most countries.

This is quite possibly my all time champion until I die. The smoothness along with that right touch of vanilla, and caramel is just perfect. I have bought many bottles at far higher prices and still come back to this one as my personal favorite.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by apaniagua from Spain with 42 ratings

Una maravilla.
Los sabores de Plantation elevados a la máxima expresión.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Isegal from Germany with 79 ratings

My first real rum it feels like, with great flavor and an absolutly fair price.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Domstadtkerl from Germany with 39 ratings

Simply amazing Rum. Also very good for introducing new people to the wonderful taste of carribean Rums.