Posting your rating...
Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum is a combination of pot-stilled and column-stilled Barbadian rums that are initially aged in the Caribbean in ex-bourbon casks for 12-20 years. They are then transported to France for a second 12-18 months aging in small French oak casks.

The first bottle of Plantation XO 20th Anniversary was created for the head of Cognac Ferrand Estate Alexandre Gabriel to honor his 20th year running the company. This special gift has resulted in the bottling we see today.

Rate Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1098 Plantation XO 20th Anniversary ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 1 year ago by Kaleva from Finland with 3 ratings

Nice sweet summer rum, light and pleasant, but a little bit too sweet as for me. Nice notes of coconut and tropical fruits beautifully combined with gentle oakiness. A good sipping choice.

Tasting notes:

Nose: Light, creamy, coconut notes, vanilla, fruitiness (apricots, lychees), toffee, white chocolate

Palate: Sweet, hint of ginger, vanilla butterscotch, apricots, melon, a bit of oak

Finish: Short, sweet, slightly nutty and oaky, orange zest, coconut water

Posted almost 4 years ago by mike from Canada with 28 ratings

Fantastic rum. Smooth with coconut taste. Expensive but worth it.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tom Stryhn from Denmark with 2 ratings

The smell is very appealing, a good strong warm rum, not to warm, a very good rum.

Posted about 4 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

Very cool packaging. Comes in a box and the bottle is very cool looking. My first sip left me disappointed, the after taste was a little strong. Next I tried it by adding one small ice cube and letting it melt. That made it perfect. Now this is one of my top five rums.

Posted about 4 years ago by Chris Ryley from Canada with 6 ratings

This is one of my favourite rums. Coconut, bananas, and not too sweet.

Posted about 4 years ago by Jan from Netherlands with 10 ratings

I describe this rum as pure gold that melts in your mouth. I have no other words for it.

Posted about 4 years ago by Oli973 from Switzerland with 24 ratings

Amongst the smoothest Rums I ever tried, it's very surprising how you swallow it without any burn, almost no alcool taste. Very sweet, typical sweet aged Rum taste. The nose is quite discrete...again a great Rum for all budgets...

Posted about 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

The best untill now, a very fine rum with a unique simple flavour.

Posted about 4 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

Caramel and sweet overtones. Ranks with the best.

Posted about 4 years ago by Marc from Netherlands with 30 ratings

Really enjoyed this rum.
Very smooth and great taste.
The price is not to high and the bottle is very nice adition in the cabinet.

Posted about 4 years ago by Dr. Brittlebone from Sweden with 17 ratings

Plantation XO 20 Anniversary 40% Barbados

Eye: Golden teak, thick and sticky

Nose: Watch out, it´s an arrack-attack! When the arrack explosion finally settles, pleasant layers of coconut butter, caramel toffee and vanilla appears. Then a full harmony of orange confit, cedar wood and ladies perfume. It is like an elegant version of the of Yankee Candle Vanilla Cupcake. Every whiff puts a childish smile on my face. The smell is so delicious, I am tempted not to even drink it. I could sit here all night. Pure “The Body Shop” Coco Body Butter. Very sensual. I think women should wear this on their necks as evening perfume.

Mouth: After that ridiculously wonderful nose you wouldn´t expect a rugged, unbalanced Brute with predominant tastes of ethanol and muscovado sugar in a sticky ball. The taste is artificial and manufactured, a chutney of orange marmalade, honey, eau de vie and coconut. The palate turns numb, the tongue is coated with embrowned butter and sugar and some strange alkaline metal is buzzing in the mouth which is far from pleasant. I smell it again. Heavenly! I wonder – how is this possible?

Reaction: What can I say? The smell is absolutely wonderful, well composed and infinitely beautiful. The taste however is brutal. It is difficult to rate this charming troll in a fair way as it shows two different personalities, but it do possess character (not necessarily an appealing one) and that is never a bad thing. So this one is from the hip.

84p (the smell is worth 97 alone)

Price: 509 SEK
Tasted: 2016, in a Riedel Sommelier Cognac XO glass at room temperature.

Posted about 4 years ago by Mark from Canada with 2 ratings

I usually drink rum with cola - but this one I would never punish that way. This may be the best rum I've ever had.

Posted about 4 years ago by Karolis from Lithuania with 19 ratings

I work with this rum and it's an excellent rum to get people started with rum the pleasant sweetness rum is even liked by most even if they are not in to spirit drinks. Caramel and sugar amount is perfect for this French oak aged rum. Highly recommended.

Posted about 4 years ago by flund from Germany with 9 ratings

Muss einige Minuten im Glas stehen. Man riecht deutlich dass er in Cognac Fässern gelagert wurde. Komplexe Aromen, recht süß.

Posted about 4 years ago by Ingela from Sweden with 12 ratings

This is a good rum. Its not that sweet. A light color.

Posted about 4 years ago by Razvan from Denmark with 30 ratings

I love the hidden notes of coconut. The bottle cork is impressive, one of the best I have seen in my short rum experience.

Posted about 4 years ago by DonDanD from Switzerland with 69 ratings

..........................................................................

Posted about 4 years ago by Rumpelstiltskin from United States with 33 ratings

Delicious traditional-style rum. My palate's not that good so I'm not going to go there. Definitely complex and almost pulp-like taste, probably what I can assume most plantation style runs will taste like. Still a bit harsh but again probably apart of the process. A bit disappointed though from all the hype around this guy but again, probably a style more than a quality attribute.

Posted about 4 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

According to their website it is a blend of their oldest reserve rum. The plantation brand by cognac Ferrand is interesting with their double maturation with its first in the hot Caribbean and their second maturation in the cooler climate of France in ex cognac cask. The result is a smooth and complex rum.

It's presented in a very bottle but I wish I had the older style bottle as prefer the look of that one.

Deep mahogany in colour with copper hues. Really nice smell with hints of vanilla, caramel sweetness, some banana, chocolate and some cognac notes throughout.

It has a creamy taste, caramel sweetness with a little spice and some oak dryness throughout which is not overpowering moving into a nice long finish.

Even though it has added sugar and I believe caramel colouring its a very nice complex rum and pretty good value in the UK.

Love it.

Posted about 4 years ago by Karsten Thygesen from Denmark with 2 ratings

A very nice rum with a complex, but great, taste. Really an experience!

Posted about 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

Words are useless.It is miraculous. Smooth and fresh.
Definitely is a premium rum. One more word; Fabulous!

Posted about 4 years ago by gilel from France with 29 ratings

Que dire sinon que cette bouteille a tous les atouts d'un très grand rhum :
- un nez riche et complexe
- une bouche fruitée, épicée, complexe, faite de multiples saveurs qui font qu'on le redécouvre à chaque gorgée
- une onctuosité balancée par une belle fraîcheur en bouche
- sucré et sec à la fois !
- une longueur en bouche exceptionnelle
Un très grand rhum. En tout cas mon favoris à un prix très accessible...

Posted about 4 years ago by Luffsman from Sweden with 26 ratings

This is a sweet and soft kind of rum, a kind of rum I myself really like, despite the strong taste of coconut... It is a marvelous entrance to a whole new world of fine and good rum!

Posted about 4 years ago by Jonatan Thomasson from Sweden with 10 ratings

For me, this blend between banana, vanilla, roasted coconut and wood is the perfect taste. The only reason I don't give it 10/10 is because I hop that something out there can top this.
Perfect on the rocks with a cuban cigar.

Posted about 4 years ago by charlie from Canada with 1 rating

Un rhum qui au nez , dégage des aromes de noix de coco et ensuite de pelure de banana, meilleur que le dos maderas selon mes gout personnelle.