Posting your rating...
Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum is a combination of pot-stilled and column-stilled Barbadian rums that are initially aged in the Caribbean in ex-bourbon casks for 12-20 years. They are then transported to France for a second 12-18 months aging in small French oak casks.

The first bottle of Plantation XO 20th Anniversary was created for the head of Cognac Ferrand Estate Alexandre Gabriel to honor his 20th year running the company. This special gift has resulted in the bottling we see today.

Rate Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1095 Plantation XO 20th Anniversary ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 87 ratings

Poured neat, it's very light on the nose with just a hint of buttery toffee and caramel. The first sip has a heavy mouthfeel with a warm flavor that travels from the middle of the tongue to the back of the throat. It leaves behind just a little heat, and flavors of rum and caramel apple. I like it best with just one ice cube with brings out a bit more of that caramel apple flavor that I could drink all night. This is a great sipper!

Posted over 3 years ago by Totte from Sweden with 27 ratings

Mycket lovande inledning, väldigt mycket vaniljkola, på vippen till för söt men väl avvägd
Ganska stark spritighet som dämpar sötman snabbt men som tyvärr också lite tar bort eftersmaken.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jirka from Czech Republic with 20 ratings

For me..this is the rum for any occasion. Didn't let me down. Love this one-- perfectly ballanced.

Posted over 3 years ago by Klaus from Germany with 61 ratings

Sehr schöner Geschmack nach Karamell, Schokolade, Banane, Vanille, Früchten. Süß, weich, ausgewogen. Insgesamt super.

Posted over 3 years ago by Thomas Bucco from Switzerland with 8 ratings

Ein typischer Vertreter der Süssen Rums. Er ist sehr rund und ausgewogen. Ein every bodies darling.

Posted over 3 years ago by Magnus from Sweden with 11 ratings

har inga klagomål på den den är god men lite tråkig

Posted over 3 years ago by Peter from Slovakia with 2 ratings

I believe this rum appeals to so many because its truly smooth and very simple. I am not an expert, but 2 most prominent things i can taste here are the oak and coconut. Reminds me christmas. This rum is not complex at all, but its simplicity, what makes it outstanding. Very unique, hard to mistaken it. A must try for a rum lovers.

It would be sin to not drink this straight. Maybe bit more sweet than i would like, with almost no aftertaste. But still one of best rums i had chance to taste.

Posted over 3 years ago by inupiko from France with 15 ratings

A unique rum with vanilla taste pronounced. It's very pleasant high range.

Posted over 3 years ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 251 ratings

Sweet suggar and vanila taste. Little bit burning in mouth, smooth end.
One of the very good ones, but I still prefer Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva 12yo.

Posted over 3 years ago by Morannis from Norway with 5 ratings

This is a good rum and i enjoy sipping it neat, but there are definitely better ones out there.

Posted over 3 years ago by Stefan from Sweden with 4 ratings

My first Rom and my entry level of the Rom-world. I hope to learn more and climbed the Rom-ladder of knowledge over time

Posted over 3 years ago by Kevin Rosfort from Denmark with 39 ratings

Lækker god rom for billig penge. Fantastisk til gave til personer som vil prøve rom verden

Posted over 3 years ago by Mike from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

I purchased this online after reading it had been declared 'spirit of the year' by the whisky exchange. It arrived today and it's everything I hoped it would be. Perfect for sipping with definite vanilla, oak and spice notes. There's no nasty alcohol burn either..... I think I might just grab nother bottle or two as this one won't last long.

Posted over 3 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

Barbados rum, one of the best! An absolute delight!

Posted over 3 years ago by Blue_Dog_Man from United States with 34 ratings

Excellent aroma of cocoa, vanilla, fruit and coffee. It has a toffee taste with a very nice warm tobacco flavor and a hint of cocoa. Highly recommend. Enjoy it in a rocks glass with 1 ice cube to really open the flavors.

Posted over 3 years ago by java from Czech Republic with 11 ratings

Zatím nejlepší rum co jsem měl. Je trošku sladší, v chuti jde cítit především kokos a vanilka. Díky tomu, že není úplně do sucha se opravdu velmi příjemně pije. Prezentace v láhvi je naprosto ohromující.

Posted over 3 years ago by Peete from Czech Republic with 44 ratings

Elegantne baleny rum. Zajimavy zpusob vyroby s finalizaci ve Francii. Ovocna vanilkova vube, jemna chut. Vyborna zalezitost, ten nemam naposledy ;)

Posted over 3 years ago by Peter from Germany with 2 ratings

Of all "affordable" rums (around 50 Euros) this is THE one. Even in the range till 100 Euros it's hard to find a smoother and better tasting rum than the Plantation XO 20th Anniversary.

Posted over 3 years ago by Russ from United States with 70 ratings

After reading so many great things about the Plantation XO I was a little worried that I was going in with too high of exceptions and would be let down. I'm happy to say those worries were not only unfounded but my initial hope that it would be a nice rum were surpassed. It starts off with a very nice but subtle nose smelling of vanilla and fruit. The first taste is sweet but it's not an overpowering sweetness that pushes it over the edge to a diabetic shock like so many other rums (Zaya, Diplomatico, etc.). Finally, your left with a very pleasant and satisfying after taste that wants you wanting more. I only wish they didn't add sugar to it and let it stand on its own.

Posted over 3 years ago by gatch from France with 1 rating

Rhum vraiment bon. Il me laisse un gout de coco grillé léger.
Pas déçu de mon achat.

Posted over 3 years ago by David Robertson from Australia with 2 ratings

This is a really nice run from Plantation. Great for sipping on.

Posted over 3 years ago by Keith Brockmiller from United States with 26 ratings

After reading everyone else's reviews I had to try this. I was not disappointed. This is a smooth, semi sweet rum with a complex dance of vanilla, coconut, oak, and a variety of fruits. And that's just the nose. Make sure you use a good glass, because this deserves it. I used the one that came with my Zaya, and it directs the "fumage" directly where it belongs. In my nose. The flavor is so complex I have trouble picking out the individual components.
Normally I don't spend this much on spirits, but I'm this case I am glad I did. I had to cash in an "early birthday gift" to get it. Once again, I have this a 9, not a 10, because I feel I haven't had the experience to know a 10 when I see/taste it. Pretty darn close

Posted almost 4 years ago by Enzo from Italy with 5 ratings

Characterized by hints of vanilla on the nose and on the tongue. Good alcohol level, not too intrusive. At times reminiscent of the flavors of ice cream and zabaglione.
It should be drunk slowly to appreciate the evolutions in contact with oxygen

Posted almost 4 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

Beautiful bottle and engraving 10/10 for presentation. Wonderful aroma , let it rest for 5 minutes or so , smells of oak , vanilla , coconut and spices. If you use one ice cube then it bring out fruits like mango and banana...
I have never drank a rum with such a busy taste profile , so many different taste sensations and a good warm finish , if there is a slight fault then maybe the finish could be a bit longer but overall fantastic stuff !! Its a pleasant change that rum can taste this special without too much caramel and sugar and extra additives masking an average product , Cheers !!

Posted almost 4 years ago by Blacky from Austria with 79 ratings

It`s the favorite rum of my Latvian friend Dace, i drunk it with her on easter time