Posting your rating...
Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Caribbean | Aged

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum is a combination of pot-stilled and column-stilled Barbadian rums that are initially aged in the Caribbean in ex-bourbon casks for 12-20 years. They are then transported to France for a second 12-18 months aging in small French oak casks.

The first bottle of Plantation XO 20th Anniversary was created for the head of Cognac Ferrand Estate Alexandre Gabriel to honor his 20th year running the company. This special gift has resulted in the bottling we see today.

8.5/10 (1292 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
4
10
42
107
310
606
207

Rate Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1292 Plantation XO 20th Anniversary ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

Well,
Plantation has easily the most consciousness marketing department that existed. All the way from the box to the bottle no corners were cut. I could write a mile long summary on that alone but that's not why we are here. Opening the bottle and sniffing it gives you a bunch of wonderful hints, first the cask then some coconut, spices (maybe cinnamon) and a very nice sugar smell. In the glass its a very dark amber, tasting it neat is a very warming rum, extremely well balanced. The coconut is a unique surprise that i'm not used to in aged rums and it makes a very nice addition to the collection. Noting its balanced you get hints of chocolate (probably dark chocolate), oak cask, alcohol,the coconut and vanilla. The coconut after taste lingers for a long time. In cola its good but not as good as straight up. Since its balanced the cola kills some of its unique hints, still very good however. I can see this bottle being a mega hit at a holiday party.
8.5 on rum and .5 bonus points on packaging/bottle.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by DonRon from Germany with 13 ratings

Plantation XO is a very sweet and silky rum. It feels almost like a smooth liqueur.

It has some really amazing notes you won't necessesarily find in the world of rum. Especially the smooth taste of coconuts is very unique to this Plantation as it is not a spiced rum. This is accompanied by lots of tropic fruits and pure Caribean feeling to take a few minutes off.

It is an ideal sipping rum for those who want to add some variety to their cabinet and to surprise your guests and other rum enthusiastics.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Cowboy Neal from United States with 16 ratings

It is fairly mild overall, but good neat. Super smooth, and very enjoyable

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Bramski from Netherlands with 14 ratings

Soft fruity and vanilla smell. Taste is quite sweet and there are some different flavours in there to encounter. Most notable to us was the citrus fruit flavour. The afterburn is really soft, present but not too present, just enjoyable. It makes the rum really easy drinkable. Every sip is a pleasant and interesting experience, but the sweetness and lack of real complexity results in a rum that is not memorable for me.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Stéphane from Canada with 2 ratings

Starting my “serious” rum exploration (don’t ask about the previous ones) I relied on this site, your comments and ratings to select my first high rated bottle...
...Honestly ? What am I going to try next ?
Really out of words. Could be the sipper of sippers. Dangerously Suave !
OK calm down! Let say the bases were not loaded, maybe there’s still room for a grand slam...but what do you suggest?
Thank you.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Veľká, mohutná, ťažká fľaša poctivého a dobre vyváženého rumu. Pochádza z Barbadosu a je namiešaný zo zmesí rumov starých 12-20 rokov. V pohári zlatistá až mahagónová farba, po pár minútach sa rozvinú tóny kakaa, vanilky, pomarančov, medovice. Veľmi vyvážená voňa, každý si v nej nájde niečo svoje, či už sladšie, alebo korenistejšie. Jedna z najlepších rumových aróm. U mňa za vôňu 9,5 boda. Chuť je tak isto komplexná, veľmi hladký rum s kratším chvostom. Pri prvom kontakte na jazyku zacítite jeho sladkosť, potom sa rozvinú korenistejšie chute a na záver môžete zacítiť aj dubový súdok. Takto by mal podľa mňa chutiť dobrý aged rum a podľa neho by sa mohli porovnávať kvality ostatných rumov. Výborná voľba. Prudko odporúčam.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mark from United States with 1 rating

Deep caramel color, with the 20 predominately displayed.. not a 20 year old rum. The taste was very enjoyable however a little syrupy for my liking.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Arnaud from France with 14 ratings

Plantation 20th Anniversary est un assemblage de plusieurs rums des Barbades, vieillis et sélectionnés par Alexandre Gabriel pour célébrer ses 20 ans passés à la tête de la société Pierre Ferrand. Affiné dans des petits fûts de Cognac au Château de Bonbonnet, ce rhum particulièrement épicé se révèle en bouche d’une gourmandise à laquelle il est difficile de résister.
Profil : fin, précis. Crémeux et vanillé. Empyreumatique (cèdre, bois brûlé). Epices fortes (graine de moutarde, muscade). Capiteux. Poudre de cacao et noix fraîche. Vétiver.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by IvoK from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

Maybe just too strong on the nose, but well balanced with the taste! One of the best Ive ever had. Also the bottle is fantastic. Very good choice!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 463 ratings

This is a slightly flavored rum, as it has hints of coconut and vanilla. But the main flavor is the aged rum, and the hints of added flavor complement the aged rum perfectly, without overpowering it. It tastes wonderful. A good rum value; at only $64.99 from BevMo! (2015), it's better than a great number of more expensive rums I've tried. One of the best rums I've had, period!

Ffffff

Posted 23 days ago by Craiglee from Netherlands with 41 ratings

Got this in a fantastic gift-wrapped set. The packaging and bottle blow your mind, sadly the rum less so. As with the diplomatico reserva, this is endorsed all over the web, lavishly praised by drinkers worldwide. To me it just tasted overly sweet. I've tried quite a number of plantation rums, most of them half the price of the XO and I prefer every single one of them to this, the big daddy. Maybe it says more about my taste buds than it says about the rum, but I'm not buying this again.