Posting your rating...
Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Caribbean | Aged

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum is a combination of pot-stilled and column-stilled Barbadian rums that are initially aged in the Caribbean in ex-bourbon casks for 12-20 years. They are then transported to France for a second 12-18 months aging in small French oak casks.

The first bottle of Plantation XO 20th Anniversary was created for the head of Cognac Ferrand Estate Alexandre Gabriel to honor his 20th year running the company. This special gift has resulted in the bottling we see today.

8.6/10 (1179 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
4
9
37
96
280
547
200

Rate Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1179 Plantation XO 20th Anniversary ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kaleva from Finland with 3 ratings

Nice sweet summer rum, light and pleasant, but a little bit too sweet as for me. Nice notes of coconut and tropical fruits beautifully combined with gentle oakiness. A good sipping choice.

Tasting notes:

Nose: Light, creamy, coconut notes, vanilla, fruitiness (apricots, lychees), toffee, white chocolate

Palate: Sweet, hint of ginger, vanilla butterscotch, apricots, melon, a bit of oak

Finish: Short, sweet, slightly nutty and oaky, orange zest, coconut water

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Well over 1,900 aged dark rums enjoyed and Plantation XO 20th Anniversary is easily on my Top 5 list after 15 years. It is sublime, super smooth, no burn at all and contains plenty of amazing flavors. If you haven't tried yet Plantation XO 20th Anniversary, go quickly and get a bottle since it will set a brand new benchmark for your personal rum list.

Nose: Hints of spicy oak on the nose with guava, plenty of coconut and dried banana.
Palate: Spiced, creamy palate entry, with sweet vanilla notes and a lot of caramel.
Finish: Caramel. Toasted oak. Caramel.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Stéphane from Canada with 2 ratings

Starting my “serious” rum exploration (don’t ask about the previous ones) I relied on this site, your comments and ratings to select my first high rated bottle...
...Honestly ? What am I going to try next ?
Really out of words. Could be the sipper of sippers. Dangerously Suave !
OK calm down! Let say the bases were not loaded, maybe there’s still room for a grand slam...but what do you suggest?
Thank you.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Veľká, mohutná, ťažká fľaša poctivého a dobre vyváženého rumu. Pochádza z Barbadosu a je namiešaný zo zmesí rumov starých 12-20 rokov. V pohári zlatistá až mahagónová farba, po pár minútach sa rozvinú tóny kakaa, vanilky, pomarančov, medovice. Veľmi vyvážená voňa, každý si v nej nájde niečo svoje, či už sladšie, alebo korenistejšie. Jedna z najlepších rumových aróm. U mňa za vôňu 9,5 boda. Chuť je tak isto komplexná, veľmi hladký rum s kratším chvostom. Pri prvom kontakte na jazyku zacítite jeho sladkosť, potom sa rozvinú korenistejšie chute a na záver môžete zacítiť aj dubový súdok. Takto by mal podľa mňa chutiť dobrý aged rum a podľa neho by sa mohli porovnávať kvality ostatných rumov. Výborná voľba. Prudko odporúčam.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mark from United States with 1 rating

Deep caramel color, with the 20 predominately displayed.. not a 20 year old rum. The taste was very enjoyable however a little syrupy for my liking.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Arnaud from France with 14 ratings

Plantation 20th Anniversary est un assemblage de plusieurs rums des Barbades, vieillis et sélectionnés par Alexandre Gabriel pour célébrer ses 20 ans passés à la tête de la société Pierre Ferrand. Affiné dans des petits fûts de Cognac au Château de Bonbonnet, ce rhum particulièrement épicé se révèle en bouche d’une gourmandise à laquelle il est difficile de résister.
Profil : fin, précis. Crémeux et vanillé. Empyreumatique (cèdre, bois brûlé). Epices fortes (graine de moutarde, muscade). Capiteux. Poudre de cacao et noix fraîche. Vétiver.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by IvoK from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

Maybe just too strong on the nose, but well balanced with the taste! One of the best Ive ever had. Also the bottle is fantastic. Very good choice!

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This is a slightly flavored rum, as it has hints of coconut and vanilla. But the main flavor is the aged rum, and the hints of added flavor complement the aged rum perfectly, without overpowering it. It tastes wonderful. A good rum value; at only $64.99 from BevMo! (2015), it's better than a great number of more expensive rums I've tried. One of the best rums I've had, period!

Ffffff

Posted 4 days ago by Kevin from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Plantation XO is a smooth, sweet and silky rum, served in an excellent bottle. Balanced taste, full of fruit, vanilla and caramel, with little burn but lots of after taste. I would definitely have a place for it on my shelf, but it is just a little too expensive for me.

Ffffff

Posted 10 days ago by Rumgoesh from United States with 2 ratings

Was giving this rum as a gift for my wedding and is one of my favorites

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Pmrp from United States with 8 ratings

After much hype, I finally acquired a bottle to pit against my other sweet sippers from Venezuela and Guyana. This Barbados meets France base skips the more typical caramel and molasses flavors in favor of a lighter, more tropical take—bananas, chocolate, vanilla, and coconut. The mouth feel is lovely—oily, yet somehow light-bodied as well. This stuff is just pleasant from start to finish—an enticing fruity nose, a decadent sweet palette, and a subtle lingering burn that encourages you to immediately do it all over again. My favorite, crave-worthy sipper to date.