Posting your rating...
Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum is a combination of pot-stilled and column-stilled Barbadian rums that are initially aged in the Caribbean in ex-bourbon casks for 12-20 years. They are then transported to France for a second 12-18 months aging in small French oak casks.

The first bottle of Plantation XO 20th Anniversary was created for the head of Cognac Ferrand Estate Alexandre Gabriel to honor his 20th year running the company. This special gift has resulted in the bottling we see today.

Rate Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1097 Plantation XO 20th Anniversary ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

Tasty, to sip and mix with. The bottle is also very stunning. (not the flat one, the other one) That said the so called "dosage" or in plain words - added sugar, takes down my rating.

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

Those who are against adding sugar to rum post-distillation will be the ones that don't fancy Plantation XO. If you appreciate when a distillery does so with good taste and finesse, then you will more than likely find this to be an exceptional tasting. Have it neat, with a little water or ice, or in an old-fashioned. Lots of tropical fruit notes and a rich, caramelized depth. Baja style taken under French influence for blending and bottling (they traditionally add sugar when they bottle cognac).

Posted over 2 years ago by RichP from Czech Republic with 11 ratings

When I first tasted this one, I was very tired after a long day and not really able to appreciate how good this rum is. Following the reviews, I decided to get a bottle anyway and what a great decision this has been!

This is different to any other rums I tried so far yet so nice. Coconut is really obvious in both, smell and taste. Very, smooth with a great finish and a pleasant aftertaste.

The bottle design makes it a great present and the content won't disappoint either.

Was considering a 10 but am keeping it for later as I haven't had a chance to try some of the top rated rums yet. This is nevertheless my new best alongside the Presidente 19Y.

Posted over 2 years ago by Niccolo' from Italy with 2 ratings

I like it, it has a good flavor and you can appreciate so much the sugar! it is one of my favorite Rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris L from United Kingdom with 78 ratings

Surprising harshness and burn for an XO rum, disappointing

Posted over 2 years ago by Craig from United States with 8 ratings

Nice caramel nose. Maybe a quick initial alcohol bite but quickly moves to a smooth mid and finishing taste. Light caramel vanilla flavor with varying degrees of coconut influence at different tastings. I can see where some would gravitate to it but I prefer the Diplomatico Reserva Oder it and feel both are outclassed by the Ron Centenario 25

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jrtorres from Puerto Rico with 33 ratings

wow exquisito, nuez moscada, canela,vainilla y clavo lleno de roble que es maravilloso,con un posgusto largo y delicado.recomendodo 100%

Posted almost 3 years ago by T. from Denmark with 1 rating

Maybe on the sweet side, but very smooth. One of my favorites. Loving it!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Change in bottle design but still the same great quality you would expect from the Plantation fine line of rums. Very flavorful and complex without the burn or syrupy cough medicine taste. Pleasing on the palate a sensational rum to enjoy neat!
Should not be without this rum in your collection!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

Sampled Plantation XO 20th anniversary Rum eventhough I knew it was a sweet Rum. It is definitely a nice sipping rum but it is simply too sweet for me, hence my rating of 4.

Posted almost 3 years ago by WeSt from Romania with 3 ratings

In my opinion this is the Perfect Rum! The color, the taste, the sweetness and the last feeling you remain after you swallow it are simply perfect. I compare all other rums to this smooth, yet full bodied spirit. Every rum enthusiast must try this beautiful Dyonisiac marvel at least once.

Posted about 3 years ago by Alex Birch from United States with 12 ratings

Complex, variable, and smooth. These are the words to describe this incredible rum. Each sip you taste is a different experience. Vanilla, fruits, caramel, and plenty other flavors to describe. The initial taste is simple, but let the palette take in all of the characters of the rum and it'll take you for a ride. Enjoy each sip as it is your last because this rum is top notch.

Posted about 3 years ago by StefanL from Slovakia with 3 ratings

Got it like week ago as present and it was a pleasure to drink with no after burn in throat.

Posted about 3 years ago by Harald from Germany with 37 ratings

Color:
Chestnut

Smell:
Sweet with vanilla aromas, Toffeefee, cream and strawbery flavored candy sticks.
Wow, it appears that there is a little bit of cocos as well.

Palate:
Molasses. Liquid caramel candy, toffee syrup, creamy and slightly oily.

Finish:
Long, sweet and sticky. Becomes slightly spicy with a somehow sour, bitter and astringent aftertaste.

Summary:
It appears that there is plenty of sugar added. For those who love it sweet ... ladies to the front! The palate reminds of a liqueur. For my tastebuds this is too much sweetness.

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

9.0

This is a standout choice. Almost an archetype of what Caribbean spiced rum should be.
Mouth:bananas, toasted coconuts, molasses.
Nose: warmth like a parents embrace.
This rum is exceptionally smooth, exceptionally tasty, exceptionally exceptional.
I gave this to a coworker who thought they only enjoyed nice whisky, and their eyes lit up. "I never knew rum could be smooth!" He's now a happy convert.

Posted about 3 years ago by Marcelo from United States with 10 ratings

Wow!
I mean, the initial smell hit me some floral sweet textures. My first sample of the rum within 30 seconds of the release from the bottle gave strong vanilla notes, with a mild, yet completely suitable burn. But patience is virtue. Waiting roughly 8-10 minutes for rum to breathe, the rum introduced cocoa, milk chocolate coupled with a cinnamon-like aftertaste. Reminded me of my aunt's rum flavored chocolates. The conclusion was a medium,long, delicate and mildly sweet aftertaste

Serve neat! Have Patience! Enjoy my friends

Posted about 3 years ago by Joseph Blossman from United States with 40 ratings

I purchased this bottle to celebrate the birth of my first daughter Layla. Everything about this bottle attracts me, and has been a challenging 5 months trying not to try it as the bottle sat in my liquor cabinet. The packaging was a nicely textured and sturdy cardboard box which protects the perfectly crafted bottle that's elegantly wrapped in palm leaves. Getting down to the good stuff, this rum is liquid gold and is perfection in a bottle. Smooth crisp flavors, that storm your pallet one after another with complexity that I was unable to distinguish from the 2 glasses that I had. I tip my hat to the Plantation Rum company for this one. Although, this isn't the best rum that I've ever tried; it is the best that I have had in a long time. The rum is aged to the point to hit the peak flavor for this rum, and the amount of traveling that these bottles have gone through is astonishing.

Posted over 3 years ago by Dean from United States with 53 ratings

Made by a cognac maker. Smells of vanilla and coconut. Sweet taste. Finish with dusty cocoa and cigar box.

Posted over 3 years ago by Nicolai Ryberg from Denmark with 31 ratings

Har noter af kokus og er rat sød og lædt, super god.

Posted over 3 years ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 117 ratings

First touch with ron is amazing.wonderful taste of vanilla and old barrel where aging has been done. Only something nice to smoke is missing. Great drinking minutes of tasting. :-)

Posted over 3 years ago by SP3000 from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

...because of the good reviews this rum gets despite it being comparatively low priced.
I thought maybe it's the upmarket design of the bottle which deceives people into thinking this is premium stuff.

Well I was wrong. This is hands down the best value for a spirit of this quality I've come across.
Do yourself a favour and get a bottle.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Ein ganz grosser aus dem Hause Ferrand
Mann kann Stunden an Ihm riechen
Herrlich im Gaumen, Marzipan, Trockenfrüchte, Karamell
Wunderbar im Abgang, seeeehr lang !
Ein Plantation halt

A very big one from Ferrand
You can smell hours of him
Gentle on the palate, marzipan, dried fruits, caramel
Wonderful in the finish, very long!
It's a plantation

Posted over 3 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

C est un rhum vraiment très bon. Il est dans mes préférés.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jon from Denmark with 16 ratings

Perfect sweetness in this one, my favorite rum so far.
Vanilla and a bit of orange.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jan from Germany with 9 ratings

Ein unfassbar toller Rum. Angenehm im Geruch mit Nuancen von Kokos, Vanille und Früchten.

Auf der Zunge samtweich, süßlich mit einem tollen Geschmack nach Kokosnuss. Verweilt der Rum länger auf der Zunge bekommt er eine angenehme würzig pfeffrige Note.