Posting your rating...
Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Caribbean | Aged

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum is a combination of pot-stilled and column-stilled Barbadian rums that are initially aged in the Caribbean in ex-bourbon casks for 12-20 years. They are then transported to France for a second 12-18 months aging in small French oak casks.

The first bottle of Plantation XO 20th Anniversary was created for the head of Cognac Ferrand Estate Alexandre Gabriel to honor his 20th year running the company. This special gift has resulted in the bottling we see today.

8.5/10
1354 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
4
11
44
116
336
623
214

Rate Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1354 Plantation XO 20th Anniversary ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Mathias from Norway with 15 ratings

Taste of smoked pineapple, honey mango, banana, coconut. Brings back memories of the caribbean!
Very impressive looking bottle, yet tastefully designed without spiking the price. I can not think of a better value rum than this one.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rontsen from Germany with 4 ratings

I love Plantation Rums. And this one is by far the best one. It's smooth and sweet and it's so tasty. I could have one right now. I tried more expensive Rums, but they weren't as good as the XO.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

I waited a few months before testing it. I come from the world of cognac and my journey into the world of rum was to pass by Plantation.This XO 20th is for me the best rum I tasted yet. Very gentle with aromas of vanilla , coconut , caramel. Elegant with a beautiful maturity. This is an excellent assembly work . A long finish . Need to have it in your bar.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Erock from United States with 11 ratings

I own many of the rums rated here with a score of 8 or 9. This is the one that I hoard. My other top choices are Brugal 1888, El Dorado 15 and Zaya. I'm not sure why this bottle only sells for $40 in Miami. Very smooth, Sweet and delicious for alcohol. Get it while you can

Small a 18

Posted 4 years ago by Petr Gabriel from Czech Republic with 29 ratings

Best drink I have ever drunk. Also It has the softest taste of rum I have experienced. Very balanced taste of sweetness (fruits, caramel) and typical rum taste of wood and sugar. Not sharp at all. It has very nice and smooth coconut finish.
I recommend this rum to all rum gurus.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Zakeus from Sweden with 3 ratings

The one rhum to rule them all. Well balanced, sweet, fruity makes you feel like you are at a palm beach in the tropics. A bit smokey feel, a stinging sensation that doesnt overdo it, but leaves you longing for the next sip.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Spud from Canada with 8 ratings

Even though this has obviously added sugar and flavours, it's expertly balanced, and it's base quality is not hidden by those additives. The subtle notes of coconut on the finish are pretty refined, and as far as rums with additives go, this is my favourite.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2727 ratings

Well over 2,700 aged dark rums enjoyed and Plantation XO 20th Anniversary is easily on my Top 30 list after 15 years. It is sublime, super smooth, no burn at all and contains plenty of amazing flavors. If you haven't tried yet Plantation XO 20th Anniversary, go quickly and get a bottle since it will set a brand new benchmark for your personal rum list. It's a very sweet rum, be warned.

Nose: Hints of spicy oak on the nose with guava, plenty of coconut and dried banana.
Palate: Spiced, creamy palate entry, with sweet vanilla notes and a lot of caramel.
Finish: Caramel. Toasted oak. Caramel.

Ffffff

Posted at The Rum Bar KL over 3 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Dark side of sugar, dried fruits coated with caramel and dark chocolate, intensely sweet, custard, coconut candy with raisin. Yes, the layer of cognac fragrant is there before swamp by the arising sugar syrup. (17/25)

P- Thin scent of cognac, cooked exotic fruit caramel, dulce de leche, jackfruits jelly. Syrupy. Cloyingly sweet on 2nd sips. A dessert on its own. (16/25)

F- Short, sweet dominates, sticky, some chocolate and vanilla with spirit-y heats. (16/25)

Balanced- Abundance of sugar for those with sweet tooth, probably not for someone with diabetes dietary. Beautiful packaging indeed. (16/25)

Weighted Rate:- 65pt

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Markus Lehto from Finland with 35 ratings

Whoa, very nice aroma of something tropical, fudge and soft toffee. Thick and super soft mouthfeel. Very nice indeed!

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 4 ratings

The best untill now, a very fine rum with a unique simple flavour.