Posting your rating...
Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Caribbean | Aged

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary rum is a combination of pot-stilled and column-stilled Barbadian rums that are initially aged in the Caribbean in ex-bourbon casks for 12-20 years. They are then transported to France for a second 12-18 months aging in small French oak casks.

The first bottle of Plantation XO 20th Anniversary was created for the head of Cognac Ferrand Estate Alexandre Gabriel to honor his 20th year running the company. This special gift has resulted in the bottling we see today.

8.5/10
1376 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
4
12
44
118
338
638
216

Rate Plantation XO 20th Anniversary

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1376 Plantation XO 20th Anniversary ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by matus8683 from Slovakia with 9 ratings

Vynikajúci rum, ktorý prekoná aj omnoho drahších konkurentov. Vanilka, banány, kokos, mierne nasladnutý avšak nie prisladký.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by EW71 from Sweden with 8 ratings

Being quite new the world of rum (been drinkin Bacardi, Captain Morgan etc) and yet have a lot to discover I have to say this is the best so far (quality/price)
At about 40 euros on the Stena Line border shop it's a true bargain...i paid roughly 30 euros for the standard Plantation at the swedish monopoly. Highly recommended!

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 76 ratings

I just finished my first bottle of this; very nice.
When I drink it neat I notice vanilla first and coconut second.
When I drink it on the rocks, coconut seems to come out first then vanilla.
I am not a huge coconut fan but as a whole this is a very smooth, easy to drink rum.
Time to go out and purchase another!!

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Jeff Smith from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

absolutely fantastic rum. Not too sweet, but rich and with lots of complex character.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by stefbond from France with 7 ratings

Juste magnifique, un plaisir au nez ensuite dans la bouche quel délice! J'adore ce rhum !

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Tamas Szabo from Hungary with 3 ratings

In it's price range this is the clear winner for me. I prefer sweeter rums, this one is unbeatable. It carries the typical barbados scents banana, coconut and something fruity sweetness that I can't describe. However it also displays so much spiciness in the aftertaste. Everything in the most precise balance. I could just say wov when I first tried it. Super smooth experience in all aspection. It deserves a 9.9 on my own scale.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

A good all-rounder, presentation, flavours, nose... all top. I prefer darker heavier rums and it's the only reason I didn't give this rum a 10.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Matiozo from Slovakia with 11 ratings

Nádherné balenie a dizajn flaše, sýta farba a úžasná chuť. V tejto cenovej kategorii je podla mna najlepší, ak máte radšej sladšie rumy ako napr Diplomatico.
Beautifully packaging and bottle design, nice dark color and amazing flavor. At this price range it thinks is best, if you like sweet rums like Diplomatico.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by YvesW from Belgium with 21 ratings

Discovered the "Plantations" with the "Barbados 5 years" and this one follows the same path: quite sweet (but hot), lots of taste (mostly coconut)... almost a liquor.
More expensive than the "Barbados 5 years", but worth it.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

I have tried many, many rums in the last 6 years – and it will take me a long time to eventually rate and review them all. From Appleton to Zaya, aged and unaged, 3-year to 21-year, single barrel to blended, and (not quite) everything in between - but I have certainly enjoyed a lot of rums. At this point in time, my favorite of favorites is this Plantation offering. Again, I have to judge this based on rums that are generally, readily available – and reasonably affordable. Unfortunately, the $75 rums I have purchased have not been as tasty (to me) as some of the $40-ish premiums and $20-ish everyday rums I leave on my bar countertop.

Had to deduct a point knowing Plantation is one that adds sugars and flavors. That’s ok in my book, but in a head to head - it has to take a back seat.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Dan Ozga from United States with 4 ratings

To start the bottle is beautifully wrapped and the cork is wood. First sight shows a dark amber color. It smells like a caramel pipe tobacco. The taste cannot be defined. Go buy this bottle if you can.