Posting your rating...
Origenes Don Pancho Reserva 8-Year rum

Origenes Don Pancho Reserva 8-Year

Panama | Aged

7.1/10
35 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
15
9
3

Rate Origenes Don Pancho Reserva 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

35 Origenes Don Pancho Reserva 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by John Poulsen from Denmark with 16 ratings

Denne rom er der gode smag af vanilje karamel m.m. men den topper ikke da den er for sprittet

Small jessica for rum ratings

Posted over 3 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 414 ratings

These bottles of rum are always placed on the shelves next to other tall bottles of Panamanian rum called Debonaire, so it has been easy for me to overlook for so long. However, after doing some research, I read about the lengthy career of Master Blender Don Pancho who was behind the best Cuban rums from Havana Club. He must have provided the ruling party with some of the finest rum while keeping the masses happy with the cheap rums, and then somehow moved to Panama in the early nineties.

What a truly beautiful bottle this is and in an art-deco style. It is crystal clear to show off the beautiful dark amber color of what is inside. It is aged for eight years in American white oak barrels. They state for tasting notes candied dates, figs, dried plums, and leather, but I never agree with stated ones that seldom have anything to do with the true origins of a spirit. It needs to breathe for at least thirty minutes to remove the mild alcohol vapors, then the palate is greeted by oak, vanilla, and mild sweetness. I would call this one as a semi-dry rum with very little burn going down. This is a really fine authentic Cuban style rum that is not complex enough to compete with it's older siblings, but can still be enjoyed as a sipping rum. At only $32 and readily available where I live, I would have no problems adding ice or using it to make authentic Cuban Daiquiri's or Cuba Libres. I am so glad that I pulled this jewel out from it's hiding place on the shelf of the liquor store.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Hesel from Denmark with 66 ratings

There is a aftertaste that is a bit awful. Many bad bananas? Something from rotten fruits.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted over 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 203 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 18-20 GPL.
Overall this is an okay rum as it does have some of the characteristics of the older 18 year Don Pancho. This rum has the vanilla, wood, caramel, and spices but those flavors can't hide the harshness of the alcohol taste and bite present in the blend.
I would skip this one and go for the 18 year old Don Pancho rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 99 ratings

Purchased for $39.99 in Delaware. Very nice bottle with a deep amber yellow color. Very nice nose. Not very leggy. An 8 year rum that tastes like it's older. Quite smooth, very tasty, with a slight burn going down. Very enjoyable.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by David Bliss from United States with 2 ratings

I've done a fair amount of experimenting and so far, this is my favorite rum. Not because it's particularly spectacular when compared to truly spectacular rums, but because it's particularly spectacular for the price. You have to spend $10-15 more on a bottle, to have something noticeably superior. Ratings seem to drop off sharply below this price point, so here's your Goldilocks rum. Not as delicate as a 12 or an 18, but plenty smooth enough. Only slightly warmer when mixed in my punch, but at a significant savings. Still no hangovers, headaches, sleep disturbances or other negative effects. Thank you Señor Pancho.

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 10 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 313 ratings

I was quite surprised how nice this rum is after only trying the 18. Nice dark aged rum at a fair priced smooth sweet no funky taste afterwards.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Midway from Sweden with 13 ratings

Bought it after reading about Don pancho, had high expectations. Was ok but there are better ones at this price range. Smell had a bit too much “perfume” in it

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kasper Meijer from Switzerland with 36 ratings

Anything made by Don Pancho is excellent. If you don't know who he is, find out! He makes the best rums in the world! This is so good for an 8 year old rum

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

A great looking bottle holds a very nice rum. Not a sipper, it burns on the tongue, but has a nice nose with several scents coming to the top.

Smooths our when mixed with vanilla, woods, just a hint of caramel making this a very nice entry level rum. Coke, ginger ale, 7-up all mix well with this making it a staple of your bar.

Looking forward to blending with this rum in the future; think it will add to several of my cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 365 ratings

This is a good rum for sweet rum lovers. Maestro did a good job. Everything is very well balanced.
Sweetness is in balance with spice, nothing dominates. It's still a little bit young and not very intensive at 40%. You get a warm burn at the finish.

I paid just 28.5€ for a bottle. This is cheap, if you see this bottles, buy one.

First flavor is the white oak in the nose followed by vanilla and honey sweetnes. This suggests a younger sweetened rum.
The nose is sweet. The taste starts also the same, but at the end it became dark with burned sugar (this is a nice transformation).
You can keep this rum easily very long in your mouth and and enjoy the flavors.
If you are new to the rum world, start with this one.

Smell: honeysweetness, white oak **, vanilla **, metal notes *, dry fruits, barrel
Taste, initial: vanilla, honey sweetness, white oak
Middle: apricot (not sure), sugar cane, oak
Finish: oak/earth, burnt sugar, spice

Sweetness: 3/5
Spice: 2/5
Fruits: 3/5
Mildness: 4/5
Value (28€): 4/5