Posting your rating...
Admiral Rodney HMS Formidable rum

Rate Admiral Rodney HMS Formidable

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


11 Admiral Rodney HMS Formidable ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 12 days ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

It is a good rum, but nothing special. The other 2 are better than this one. I rate it a 6,5 cause it isn't that bad either.

Posted 3 months ago by mmciesielski from United States with 22 ratings

Had at distillery. Smoother than the normal Admiral Rodney, now called the Royal Oak, and superior to the Princessa. Nice balance, good on ice or neat.

Posted 4 months ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Great rum, solid flavors, nice from start to finish. Worth the money spent..

Posted 5 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

This rum needs some more time in the glas. I recommend at least 20min.
Quite itensive smell, I would expect more itensive taste.
It's almost an 8, but because of the impresion of watery taste I must give it a 7.

Smell: vanilla, young wood, fruit (like orange), some molasses, caramel
Taste: the start is a little bit watery, light sweetness with fresh wood, vanilla, fruits are on the palate, followed by slight bitterness, spice
Finish: middle long, with spice, followed by some orange and apple

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruit: 2.5/5
Mildness: 3/5

Posted 5 months ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

Well rounded. Good barrel notes. Very nice age with lots of vanilla and macerated berries. I think the rum guys have been hiring whiskey master distillers... This is as nice as a lot of recent bourbons. Very very nice rum. Lovely bottle too.

Posted 7 months ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Stacks up well against the XO. Beautiful bottle with a wood stopper. On the nose it’s dried fruit, it’s a Christmas cake in a glass. On the palate it’s wood, spice, fruit and sweetness. A very quick burn then more fruit when swallowed. A very very good rum.

Posted about 1 year ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

40% ABV (so we are setting our expectations low). 9–12 years ex-bourbon. More oak (than the others in the lineup), but also more cherry. A bit like cough syrup. I feel like they took their worst aged barrels and used them in the oldest blend of this lineup (and saved the best barrels for, say, the 1979) so people would have the perception of quality and they’d turn a nice profit. Probably not, but at least it’s not at all to my liking. 6+

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Admiral Rodney HMS Formidable while in London. Bottle and label design are very nice and high end. Golden color. Vanilla extract and oak to your nose and palate. Whisky like burn at the end. Whisky lovers can easily add 2 points to the score. Way too much vanilla for my taste buds.

Posted over 1 year ago by Giovanni Bomoll from Italy with 37 ratings

honey, cinnamon and vanilla, chocolate, tobacco, oak and a sweet caramel.
-
Aged in American white oak ex-bourbon casks
adds that particularly rich, sweet and fragrant flavor.
Very Good Rum

Posted over 1 year ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Purchased a bottle of this after sampling the Admiral Rodney original so far I have only had one sip and realised how oaky this one is I find it slightly overpowering to be honest. The nose is wonderful and inviting, the palate is heavy with oak there are other flavours pushing through drowned in a sea of oak! I will have to update this review after finishing the bottle my opinion may be different. But until then I am rather disappointed with this expression and was expecting more

Posted over 1 year ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

Made using a 45-plate Coffey still and aged in American white oak ex-bourbon casks, this really rather scrumptious molasses-based rum contains liquid aged for between nine and 12 years. The Rodney chap in question is in fact a famous admiral hailing from the 18th century – we’ll happily toast his seafaring successes with a drop of this.
Nose: Oaky and resinous with dark chocolate, honey, nutmeg and walnut notes.

Palate: More honey comes through, before cinnamon and vanilla pods catch up. More chocolate follows, this time in nib form, before leaf tobacco, oak and a sweet caramel add depth.

Finish: This is where those sweet spices come into their own. Delicious.

Overall: An oaky, dry rum bursting with flavour. One to sip and savour.