Posting your rating...
Admiral Rodney HMS Formidable rum

Admiral Rodney HMS Formidable

Saint Lucia | Aged

7.4/10
20 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
7
3

Rate Admiral Rodney HMS Formidable

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

20 Admiral Rodney HMS Formidable ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 3136f450 fba0 49d6 b236 49db4cd74120

Posted 3 months ago by RumGuy1 from United States with 44 ratings

Tasting notes: dark chocolate, ginger, clove, oak' and vanilla
Nose: toffee, medicinal quality, leather, chocolate

Well balanced. If this rum had a higher cask strength, it would be a 10.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by mmciesielski from United States with 22 ratings

Had at distillery. Smoother than the normal Admiral Rodney, now called the Royal Oak, and superior to the Princessa. Nice balance, good on ice or neat.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Chet from United States with 193 ratings

Great rum, solid flavors, nice from start to finish. Worth the money spent..

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 327 ratings

This rum needs some more time in the glas. I recommend at least 20min.
Quite itensive smell for 40% with dark and bright flavors like molasses, vanilla, young wood.
The nose suggests a quite intensive taste.
But then I got surprised of the weak intensity on the palet. It starts watery with bright and fresh aromas. The dilution was too high, it lost the most of it's intensity. The flavors are still there but it's not enough for a good rating.

It's almost an 8, but because of the impresion of watery taste I must give it a 7.
If it had at least 46% we could speak about a rating between 8 and 9 I think.

Smell: vanilla, young wood, dry fruits (plum), fruit (like orange), some molasses, caramel, chocolate
Taste: the start is a little bit watery, light sweetness with cocoa, fresh wood, vanilla, fruits are on the palate (pear), followed by spice
Finish: middle long, with spice, followed by some orange and apples (very nice)

Sweetness: 2/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruit: 2.5/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Value (55€): 2.5/5

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 50 ratings

Well rounded. Good barrel notes. Very nice age with lots of vanilla and macerated berries. I think the rum guys have been hiring whiskey master distillers... This is as nice as a lot of recent bourbons. Very very nice rum. Lovely bottle too.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Stacks up well against the XO. Beautiful bottle with a wood stopper. On the nose it’s dried fruit, it’s a Christmas cake in a glass. On the palate it’s wood, spice, fruit and sweetness. A very quick burn then more fruit when swallowed. A very very good rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 325 ratings

40% ABV (so we are setting our expectations low). 9–12 years ex-bourbon. More oak (than the others in the lineup), but also more cherry. A bit like cough syrup. I feel like they took their worst aged barrels and used them in the oldest blend of this lineup (and saved the best barrels for, say, the 1979) so people would have the perception of quality and they’d turn a nice profit. Probably not, but at least it’s not at all to my liking. 6+

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2732 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Admiral Rodney HMS Formidable while in London. Bottle and label design are very nice and high end. Golden color. Vanilla extract and oak to your nose and palate. Whisky like burn at the end. Whisky lovers can easily add 2 points to the score. Way too much vanilla for my taste buds.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Giovanni Bomoll from Italy with 37 ratings

honey, cinnamon and vanilla, chocolate, tobacco, oak and a sweet caramel.
-
Aged in American white oak ex-bourbon casks
adds that particularly rich, sweet and fragrant flavor.
Very Good Rum

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Purchased a bottle of this after sampling the Admiral Rodney original so far I have only had one sip and realised how oaky this one is I find it slightly overpowering to be honest. The nose is wonderful and inviting, the palate is heavy with oak there are other flavours pushing through drowned in a sea of oak! I will have to update this review after finishing the bottle my opinion may be different. But until then I am rather disappointed with this expression and was expecting more

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 423 ratings

Made using a 45-plate Coffey still and aged in American white oak ex-bourbon casks, this really rather scrumptious molasses-based rum contains liquid aged for between nine and 12 years. The Rodney chap in question is in fact a famous admiral hailing from the 18th century – we’ll happily toast his seafaring successes with a drop of this.
Nose: Oaky and resinous with dark chocolate, honey, nutmeg and walnut notes.

Palate: More honey comes through, before cinnamon and vanilla pods catch up. More chocolate follows, this time in nib form, before leaf tobacco, oak and a sweet caramel add depth.

Finish: This is where those sweet spices come into their own. Delicious.

Overall: An oaky, dry rum bursting with flavour. One to sip and savour.