Posting your rating...
Admiral Rodney HMS Royal Oak rum

Admiral Rodney HMS Royal Oak

Saint Lucia | Aged

8.3/10
20 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
9
8

Rate Admiral Rodney HMS Royal Oak

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

20 Admiral Rodney HMS Royal Oak ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 200 ratings

This is outstanding. Deep and complex. Thick and chewy. Flawlessly smooth. I have tried 3 ships in the Admiral Rodney fleet. All were impressive. This one is awesome and stands slightly above the rest. Balance is perfect. Not sweet. Great bite but you hardly notice it. Fantastic sipper. Better neat than on ice but GREAT either way. Lovely tobacco, coffee and plum notes. Finish is long and subtle. Very smooth and memorable. So good I am going to have to buy the officers release. Well done AGAIN by St Lucia distillers.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 247 ratings

Most of the st. lucian rum finds a warm place in my heart, and the royal oak is no exception. On paper it's a pretty straight forward 40% vol. blend, aged in bourbon casks between 7-12 years, but it's wonderfully balanced.
The nose treats you nicely with raisin, brown sugar, chewy caramel, oak and hints of mint.
The taste is medium bodied and strikes a good balance between the rounded, fat sweeter notes and the subtle dry, spices.
First up I get the chewy caramel and sweet tobacco. The midpalate fades into mint, oily leather and slightly bitter oak cask, keeping the rum complex and interesting. The finish offers a tiny bit of dry tannins and subtle baking spices like ginger, cloves and perhaps a smidge of cinnamon.
This is almost as drinkable as the great, classic "extra old 12 year" and offering a bit more complexity I would say. The choice between the two, would depend on my mood on the given day (8,6)

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

Beautiful rum. Smooth, packed with flavour, complex finish. Love it.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Bramski from Netherlands with 14 ratings

Lets start off with the design: it looks amazing! Nice bottle, interesting backstory and great colour of the drink itself.

The smell is not very prominent but there are some fruity elements in there to discover. Then the taste: again not very outspoken from the start but very, very smooth, without any too predominant sweetness or alcohol taste. Realy elegant and enjoyable. The aftertaste is spicy and has a nice duration. Remote but present burn, just the way I like it. Watch out, because this will be flying out of your glass! Cheers!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Robert from Slovakia with 44 ratings

I got this as bday gift and was looking forward to taste it as the low local availability and price tag implied that this should be some extra ordinary stuff. I must honestly say it isnt. Dont get me wrong, its a great rum, nice sipper, smells fruity, vanilla like with just a little alcohol. However, the taste is too much liquor-ish with lots of orange flavors. Reminds me from far far away of Don Papa and Pyrat (although different in general but rum tasters will get me for sure). Quite a lot alcohol and afterburn. I had few glasses, one also with chocolate, one with cigar, and although it was a nice experience I am not planning on buying this one. Maybe I try it in the future, I am quite interested in others in HMS family

Ffffff

Posted 3 days ago by waveril from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

This is a perfect "entry rum" into the world of unsweetened rums for me. I tried a few Foursquares and don´t get me wrong, they are great, but too strong when coming from mainstream rums. That´s why I think that this rum is great. It is smooth, full of taste and even though it doesn´t affect the rum itself, it has a very nice bottle. When I tasted it for the first time during a tasting for my friends (in the picture), it was a winner for me personally.

Small img 20210319 180605

Posted 3 months ago by DRE from Belgium with 7 ratings

Nose: vanilla, caramel, raisin.
Mouth: tobacco, caramel, vanilla smoke
Finish: spicy caramel

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Ron105 from Netherlands with 18 ratings

great price quality is also 1 of my favorite long aftertaste

Small neil   peokoe img 2438

Posted 7 months ago by NeilIsntWitty from Canada with 5 ratings

We selected this bottle to write some tasting notes up for our WSET II course at home, and wow, it'a beauty. Well Done St. Lucia.

Appearance: Clean, medium amber
Nose: Clean, medium + intensity. Sultanas, vanilla, tobacco, caramel, cocoa, cloves, brown sugar and allspice
Palate: Clean, smooth and mouthfilling. Dry (although it has an appearance of sweetness, not residual sugar) with a medium + intensity, tobacco, caramel, dark chocolate, cloves and baking spices. Long finish, very complex.
Overall rating: Outstanding.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by JosephCharles from Canada with 33 ratings

Le nez offre une touche fruitée et légèrement épicée.
En bouche, une belle finesse et une structure boisée avec de notes chocolatées et vanillées.
La finale a une persistance moyenne.