Posting your rating...
Admiral Rodney HMS Royal Oak rum

Rate Admiral Rodney HMS Royal Oak

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


10 Admiral Rodney HMS Royal Oak ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

73f23408436967f13689c97ac10dd8ab.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Robert from Slovakia with 41 ratings

I got this as bday gift and was looking forward to taste it as the low local availability and price tag implied that this should be some extra ordinary stuff. I must honestly say it isnt. Dont get me wrong, its a great rum, nice sipper, smells fruity, vanilla like with just a little alcohol. However, the taste is too much liquor-ish with lots of orange flavors. Reminds me from far far away of Don Papa and Pyrat (although different in general but rum tasters will get me for sure). Quite a lot alcohol and afterburn. I had few glasses, one also with chocolate, one with cigar, and although it was a nice experience I am not planning on buying this one. Maybe I try it in the future, I am quite interested in others in HMS family

88744d4fba83b7a4faeb826176622c68.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 days ago by Lamantaalcoll from United States with 7 ratings

this is the only one i've tried for the admiral rodney, i like it a lot , i ll try thebothersbones for sure

30f286d0f5d3c806ac1b3589660ffc46.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by Panos from Greece with 11 ratings

You should try this one more. Definitely a sipping rum

B137f73cad20358ef2f866b5e883cc19.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

I did a tasting of all their rums while at St Lucia, this was my favorite rum on the entire island. I would call this a honest rum aficionados libation. Very nice balance of flavors, with a slight hint of sweetness but you will have to look for it on the finish. Well worth the money spent. $60

E64bf7e26e7537f100b622b2dca6cba5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

40% ABV (so we are setting our expectations low). 7–12 years ex-bourbon. Less fruity than the Princessa, less aggressive than the Formidable and 1979. Pretty solid bourbon-aged column-still rum. A good step above the standard offering. 8-

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 310 ratings

I tried the youngest of these three HMS rums from St. Lucia yesterday and figured that the next one up would be even better. Having known for many years what being "too long in the wood" does to distilled spirits, I still bought this more aged version anyway for $63 US. I don't regret it, but it's cheaper and younger HMS Princessa is smoother and better. This one is pepper on the tongue and a slight bitter after taste.

Bb3be443885a734dc5a65fa0a8711a25.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by laurent from France with 14 ratings

Très bonne surprise que ce rhum venu des îles de sainte Lucie!
Très bon équilibre entre les rhums antillais et ceux d’amériques Latines.
A tester de toute urgence!

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2575 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Admiral Rodney HMS Royal Oak while in London. Bottle and label design are very nice and high end. Golden color. Prunes, grapes, vanilla and oak to your nose and palate. Easily forgettable rum. Whisky like burn at the end. If you are a whisky lover, then add 2 points to the score.

F7d3175f31cd02224b356ba0a37894b9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

Unfortunately I haven't currently got a bottle of the "standard" Adm Rodney XO to compare it to, and memory is a little hazy!! It comes across as having a lot more soft oak.However I don't quite understand the pricing structure. The standard Admiral Rodney is a 12yo, and this one is a 7yo yet more expensive.

My personal preference is a dry rum (no sugar added), that is warm and spicy with a good gentle burn from the alcohol and with a heavy dose of oak. Not so much that it masks flavours, and not sweet sherry oak. A rum with a good length and that is unctuous. This rum has it all.

It is to me really superb....I just now want to try it against the normal Admiral Rodney to see what the difference really is!!!

4a1cd8b2edef975370e24730fbfb5097.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 417 ratings

St. Lucia Distillers introduce the Admiral Rodney Rum range, a selection of extra old Saint Lucian rum from Coffey still distillates that have been aged in American white oak Bourbon casks. HMS Royal Oak has a blend of rums matured for 7 to 12 years.

The new range honours the naval victory of Admiral George Rodney at Battle of the Saints in 1782 against the French, and each rum is named after ships that distinguished themselves in the battle.
Prune, grapes and spices initially with tobacco, chocolate, caramel and vanilla notes underneath.