Posting your rating...
Worthy Park Single Estate Reserve rum

Worthy Park Single Estate Reserve

Jamaica | Aged

7.7/10
42 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
12
18
7
2

Rate Worthy Park Single Estate Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

42 Worthy Park Single Estate Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 7 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 142 ratings

taste - 9/10
smell - 9/10
sweetness - 6.5/10
price/value rating - 6.5/10

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by OlliPhillips from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

My first time trying a Jamaican rum. At first I was unsure with the unusual (almost citrus) taste but I soon grew to love it. Not too sweet and good neat or on the rocks, would probably hold its own in a cocktail too!

Small img 0322

Posted 1 month ago by Just 2thetop from Germany with 19 ratings

absolutely loving this rum. A sipper's dream
ripe bananas with caramelized brown sugar
maybe a little jamaican funk with the banana to remind us of its origin.
long finish in the throat. no cola or ice please ;)
at around 45EUR Germany it's a fair price

Small 3136f450 fba0 49d6 b236 49db4cd74120

Posted 2 months ago by RumGuy1 from United States with 44 ratings

Taste like toffee, delicious dried fruit, a little funky grassy notes, hints of ginger, and molasses. It is proofed at 45% ABV, but it’s very smooth and a great sipper. This is a unique Jamaican rum with a distinct taste that gets better with every sip. The notes of this rum are very similar to Hampden 8 year but this is some much more sophisticated. Great buy. I’ll definitely get it again.

Small 20210319 183208

Posted 5 months ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 93 ratings

Der Worthy Park Single Estate Reserva ist ein Melasse Blend aus Jamaika. Single Estate bedeutet dabei, dass alles Rund um dem 6-10 Jahre in Bourbon Eichenholz Fässern gelagerten Rum, in Eigenproduktion geschieht. Ohne Zusatz- oder Farbstoffe wird der Rum mit sehr angenehmen 45% Alkohol abgefüllt. Der Estergehalt ist nicht angegebenen.

Der Worthy Park ist in der Nase super fruchtig und typisch Jamaika sehr kräftig und intensiv. Es ist auch Klebstoff wahrnehmbar. Es überwiegt aber die Frucht. Banane, Ananas und mehr. Auch Holz und süße Noten schwingen mit. Aber die leicht dreckigen Fruchtnoten überwiegen. Ausreichend komplex um sich lange mit dem Nosing zu beschäftigen. Am Gaumen kommt dann die fruchtige Note sofort mit. Banane ist dabei schon dominant. Er ist aber auch süß mit Vanille und etwas Honig. Am Gaumen ist der Ester eher mild. Ganz leicht ist Tabak erkennbar. Der Abgang ist holzig mit Eiche und auch hier bleibt die Fruchtigkeit bestehen. Die Schärfe ist angenehm und bindet alles sehr schön.

Der Worthy Park ist super angenehm zu trinken und komplex ohne das er aber überfordert. Der Körper könnte minimal vollmundiger sein und zwischendurch wirkt er manchmal minimal zu wässrig. Aber das ist Kritik auf höchsten Niveau. Die Cask Strength Edition ist trotzdem auf meiner Merkliste. Ich bin sehr begeistert und für mich der klare Champion beim Wagemut Tasting. Und das für 40-50 Euro.

The Worthy Park Single Estate Reserva is a molasses blend from Jamaica. Single estate means that everything around the 6-10 years old rum stored in bourbon oak barrels, is done in-house. Without additives or dyes, the rum is bottled with very pleasant 45% alcohol. The ester content is not specified.

Worthy Park is super fruity in the nose and typical Jamaica very strong and intense. It is also adhesive perceptible. Banana, pineapple and more. Wood and sweet notes also resonate. But the slightly dirty fruit notes dominate. Complex enough to habe fun with nosing for a long time. On the palate, the fruity note comes to you immediately. Banana is dominant. But it is also sweet with vanilla and some honey. On the palate, the ester is rather mild. Tobacco is a little recognizable. The finish is woody with oak and here too the fruitiness remains. The sharpness is pleasant and binds everything very nicely.

Worthy Park is super pleasant to drink and complex without beeing overwhelming. The body could be a little more full-bodied and in between it sometimes appears minimally too watery. But this is criticism at the highest level. But because of that the Cask Strength Edition is now on my wishlist. I am very enthusiastic and for me the clear champion at the Wagemut Tasting. And all that for 40-50 Euro.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Tim from Canada with 67 ratings

One of the rare local liquor stores brought in a a few worthy park rums. This is a rock solid sipper that gives you all the pot still funkiness of an aged jamaican without the burn of an hogo bomb. Delicious

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 330 ratings

Very beautiful Worthy Park, directly from the distillery.
The nose is not very complex, but very tasty and bright. Grasy notes, orange and bananas are first in your nose. In the background is some anise and white oak. The balance is great with 45% abv.
It doesn't overwhelm beginners, but neither does it boring advanced conaisseurs.
After some weeks this rum develops also some pickled vegetable flavors (I love them, this reminds me of Fiji rums).

The taste is bright and fruity. A little bit watery start with grasy notes. Beautiful bananas as I expected with some oranges, good balance again. The body in more sweet and intensive. Got anise, caramel, orange and banana notes. At the end is some leather. Quite spicy finish. There is also some anise. Tasty WP, very good that this quality is an official release.
With more intensity or cask strength this one would be as good as Velier.
I would rate this rum 87 points. Very tasty.

Nose: banana, orange, grasy notes, herbs, some anise, white oak, wood varnish
Taste: grasy notes, banana, vanilla, orange, herbs, wood
Middle: caramel, orange, anise, bananas, white oak, grasy notes, leather
Finish: spice, orange, banana, anise, herbs, leather

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Fruits: 4/5
Spice: 4/5
Mildness: 2.5/5
Complexity: 3.5/5
Value (45€): 5/5

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by tesibaer from Germany with 14 ratings

On the nose: shoe polish or a slight note of glue (after a few minutes it will be gone), lots of sweetness, pineapple, sugar cane, tobacco, especially yellow plum, baked banana with cinnamon, fermented tropical fruits, raisins.

On the palate: spicy, alcoholic hot, especially ginger, baked banana, nutmeg and pepper.

Finish: spicy with pepper, some cocoa chips, some alcoholic heat, some rubber and polish, ripe pineapple, dry.

With a little water: chocolate in the nose and on the palate. Great stuff!!

In der Nase: Schuhpolitur und leichte Klebstoffnote (nach ein paar Minuten verflogen), viel Süße, Ananas, Zuckerrohr, Tabak, vor allem gelbe Pflaume, gebackene Banane mit Zimt, vergorene tropische Früchte, Rosinen. Am Gaumen: würzig, alkoholisch scharf, vor allem Ingwer, gebackene Banane, Muskatnuss und Pfeffer. Im Abgang: würzig mit Pfeffer, etwas Kakaosplitter, etwas alkoholische Schärfe, etwas Gummi und Politur, reife Ananas, trocken. Mit etwas Wasser auch Schokolade in der Nase und am Gaumen. Wow, der rockt!!

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 200 ratings

This has some serious “funk”. But unlike Hampden it is balanced. Oak, banana and vanilla right up front. Also the fine strong bite. But is all in balance. It hits the pallet so smoothly revealing the molasses and some tobacco notes. Great body. It goes down as easy as water. So smooth with a very long lingering finish. Fine rum. Money well spent. This is what a Jamaican rum can and should be.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 219 ratings

Just back from this years rumcruise at the Baltic Sea with Birka cruises. Decided already before I went on the cruise that I should buy me some bottles of Worthy Park. I really like that they now are on their own because I’m avoiding the independent bottlers.
This Worthy Park was one of the rums that was a part of Ian Burrell’s Master Class “Blindtest”.
The 45% gives it some sting in your nose, especially if you warm it up in your hand for a while. It’s really a great rum aged between 6 and 10 years that’s flavourful, quite smooth and very complex with a rather long afterburn. You can recognise chocolate, toffee, banana, notes from the bourbon Cask, spices etc.
Pictures: My Jamaican shelf & Rums included at Ian Burrell’s Blindtest.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 215 ratings

I really wanted to like this as it was brought back to Aussie for me from the UK.. but its just not for me. Very acetone on the nose , too much nail polish remover and glue notes , lovely floral and fruity notes as well... left to breath for a while but all i could think of was whisky , on its own , with ice and also mixed , just overpowering whisky taste. Damn..
I then poured myself an Appletons Joy rum to remind me that i do normally like Jamaican rums !