Posting your rating...
Plantation 1998 Guadeloupe Single Cask rum

Rate Plantation 1998 Guadeloupe Single Cask

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


15 Plantation 1998 Guadeloupe Single Cask ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

C4df16e13cc303cff079056d4300557e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Olivier Raynaut from United States with 10 ratings

Very interesting Plantation, the only agricole Plantation I know of!
It has an incredible smell, smoked, leather, grassy anise and kind of feel like heavy aromas inside, like metal or fuel, not like a caroni but almost.

72b8bf1bd105d48a743ed2c3ab1763df.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Inshore from Poland with 51 ratings

smell so good, taste even better, a lot o vanilla and tabaco, also you can feel specific tase of earth, it is rum not for beginners, i prefer it without ice, or just with water and lime, its worth to try for sure, but not the greatest

6593abd40ffa0f750370602dfd9f867c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Taster from Switzerland with 106 ratings

Was part of Rum Calendar 2016, did not like it at all.......

3cd30a1ee0c14d6cfcee2c39ed58bd6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 349 ratings

Eine Delikatesse und eine Klasse für sich.
Ein ganz spezieller Rum/Rhum, für den Mann sich einen Abend Zeit nehmen muss.
In der der Nase fruchtige Aromen.
Im Gaumen etwas kantig und eckig und nicht süss, aber genau das macht diesen Rum aus.
Er braucht seine Zeit um alle Seine Nuancen zu offenbaren, Früchte, dunkle Schokolade.
Im Abgang etwas "rauchig"
Ein Rum/Rhum für Liebhaber

A delicacy and a class of its own.
A very special Rum / Rhum, for which you have to take a evening time.
In the nose fruity aromas.
On the palate, slightly sharp and angular and not sweet, but that's what makes this rum.
He needs his time to reveal all his nuances, fruits, dark chocolate.
In the finish something "smoky"
A Rum / Rhum for lovers

90cdcda6c55c0a2ec114f9208f94e995.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jarda from Czech Republic with 33 ratings

Jemny hodne moc, neco tam je ale nevime co to je...

B4efe400d1b2f6f17ac122646b72915d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Makhao from Thailand with 15 ratings

Although this rum gets high ratings from others I am slightly disappointed, maybe my expectations were too high. I like the Guadeloupe more than other Plantations, but it is still not my favourite rum.

C07365c264e4702a75d831ad5c46aac9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

I have been itching to try this rum for some time, but it's difficult to find and expensive. Net: loved it! It's a "ghost agricole", a "faux agricole" or some other adjective that would give agricoles a good name. Indeed this rum is made from 100% pressed Guadelupe sugar cane, distilled in a short-column still, and aged (for 11 years) in French oak barrels just as it needs to be to be called "Rhum Agricole". Differently, though, it gets another year of aging in used cognac barrels at Pierre Ferrand's facility in France. This is Plantation's signature technique that adds so much enjoyment to all their rums (though, in most cases, this secondary aging is for much shorter timeframes).

As you'd expect from a long-aged rum, you'll be tasting a lot of barrel here - hugely aromatic, vanilla and orange in the nose (some say chocolate!), deliciously-deep but not-too-sweet caramel with thick viscosity on the tongue, and a big long finish. And that secondary aging does a great job of balancing the vegetal notes attributable to the agricole style. Though "balanced" does not mean "dominates" - drinkers of high-end agricoles will appreciate this rum for the way it walks that fine line, staying true to the "brand" while strutting its own stuff.

A marvelous rum!

Df4152e91ab4cfbd5fff58ce9779614f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Morten Matthes from Denmark with 75 ratings

This a sweeter type Plantation - but not to sweet and it has the "body", alcohol and deepth that I'm looking for, This is so full of different tastes and certain the best I have tasted from Guadeloupe

24d591d4b97ebf5ff873c2b2f828c1bd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Folharth from Canada with 70 ratings

Gooooddddddd ... like it. Sweet & smooth .

00f9e83a4546d1cf0d9e9b1956d5cdfb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Braeckman from Belgium with 10 ratings

rhum agricole racé, plein de subtilité et équilibré. je ne me lasse pas de le re re decouvrir. ce serait un crime de ne pas le deguster sec, un de mes préféres. Tres bon rapport qualité prix (35eur) en Belgique.