Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum

Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum is distilled from molasses and aged 5 years in bourbon casks before being transported to France for further 'finishing' in Cognac casks.

Plantation rum is owned by the French company Cognac Ferrand, which was founded in 1989 and produces wine, gin, and other spirits to sell in over 40 countries. The Plantation range includes 7 vintages from different Caribbean countries and 3 blends of multiple regions.

Rate Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


343 Plantation Barbados 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 1 year ago by Joe from United States with 37 ratings

You know when the plain looking librarian takes off her glasses and you say wow? And she’s a cheap date to boot! Lucky lad.

Posted over 4 years ago by Tommy from United States with 12 ratings

If you don't feel like gambling upwards of $50 on the XO 20th, buy this first. If you like, get the 20th expecting it to be about 3x better.

This 5 year, however, need to apologize to no one. Well-crafted, sippable indulgence and broad appeal to anyone who might enjoy rums to the plus side of moderately sweet, without being a raging sugar bomb. Tropical fruit galore with subtle spice to balance...

Another in my 'stupid good' category.

Posted over 4 years ago by Andreas Lindholm from Sweden with 5 ratings

This may not be the best rum if you look at quality.... but when you look at the price its easily the one with most value.

Mature and sweet notes combined.

Posted about 5 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

This stays on the top of my bar and available at all times. It it one of my favorites and better than many of my rums that cost me 2-3 times the price. It might be closer to a 7 for most, but the price and the availability give it a nudge up in my book. Rare, expensive, limited edition rums should be expected to rate in the 9-10 range.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nordicrum from Sweden with 22 ratings

Perhaps one of the better rums in its price level. Sweet, but also with a bit of a alcohol bite. Still, nicely balanced.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Chris from United States with 2 ratings

I'm a wimp. I gag a bit when I drink most rums straight and my benchmark for a superb rum is one like this. It goes down like silk, very sweet and smooth with a tasty vanilla flavor. This is definitely in my top 10 rums

Posted about 4 years ago by James from United States with 17 ratings

This is the perfect mixing rum. It's like the 2001 Barbados only lighter. When I mixed it with cola, its' flavours are all still present and very noticeable but don't overpower the drink (unless you over-pour).

Smell: Hot/Warm light butterscotch and banana,
same with the taste, but are very light flavours and a good warming finish on the back of the throat.

Posted about 3 years ago by DiNiko from Greece with 41 ratings

Having already tasted the xo edition, which ranks on top of my list, it's really hard to settle for anything less, especially when the word "plantation" is present in the name.
By any means though, I expected it to be nothing less than good.
And that's exactly what this fellow is.
In the first place, alcohol presence is dominant over the glass. The rum itself feels quite smooth in the mouth. Medium sweetness followed by well rounded vanilla aromas. Molasses are also present in every sip. Well balanced in every aspect. Lacks the richness of a premium but it is a total winner in the category "value for money".
Do not hesitate to try.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 341 ratings

Schmeckt erwachsen für sein Alter.
Leicht und unbeschwert in der Nase und Gaumen.
Im Vordergrund dominante Vanillearomen gefolgt von Karamell und Früchten.
Abgang ganz ok.
Ein Rum für alle Tage. Nicht zu süss.

Tastes great for his age.
Easy and carefree in the nose and palate.
In the foreground dominant vanilla aromas followed by caramel and fruit.
Finish quite ok.
A rum for all days. Not too sweet.

Posted over 3 years ago by bob from United States with 2 ratings

An easy drink from start to finish whether neat or mixed. A great value and a must have for the liquor cabinet.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jeff from Canada with 5 ratings

You can drink it on the rocks if desired, but I find it a little under aged for that.....still far more drinkable in that mode than any bacardi or the like will EVER be.
I have spoiled so many people with this rum, once tasted in a fine rum and coke, you will never be able to go back to the big name brands ever again. Smooth and flavourful with harsh aftertaste. Fantastic price point and without a doubt the best mixer rum I've ever bought.....
Best rum and coke mixer with no guilt from mixing a higher priced alternative.

Posted over 3 years ago by Keith Brockmiller from United States with 26 ratings

This was a pleasant surprise, given to me by a fellow rum lover. If you loved the 20th anniversary edition as much as me, this is definitely worth a taste, at less than half the price. Its got that yummy coconut nose, and the hint of vanilla sweetness just like it's older brother. This is good for everyday sipping, and sharing, while the 20th anniversary you would save (hide) for special occasions/ special friends. Or just for yourself.

Posted over 1 year ago by Kirethidae from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Have not come across a better rum at its price. Amazing taste, lots of toffee and vanilla with tobacco and nutmeg coming through as well. Versatile as well; can be mixed, enjoyed neat or enjoyed with a single ice cube or more. Would be my go-to rum because of all this coupled with its fantastic value.

Posted over 1 year ago by RumRunner from United States with 1 rating

Excellent Rum taste with a whiskey like character. Not overly sweet but lots of flavor elements like vanilla and age oak. No burn going down but a pleasant exotic Cognac finish. I enjoy it alone either neat or with a little ice but it also mixes well.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Labros from Greece with 1 rating

I purchased this rum after reading the reviews, expecting it to be a good deal for the money it costs.
Unfortunately, I was disappointed. This rum is very weak in taste, to the point that after 10 minutes in a glass with ice it feels like you drink water only with some alcohol.
Furthermore, the cognac "touch" they claim to give this rum a "special" character, is not for every one, be warned! For me personally, I found the cognac scent not to agree with the rum philosophy.

Posted almost 3 years ago by mcnamard from United States with 12 ratings

Best value rum out there, you can drink it neat or with water or ice or a squeeze of lime and you'll enjoy it. Better yet, knock down a rum and coke or your drink of choice and have one of the finest quality mixers that isn't definitively better neat you can imagine. A full flavor profile that balances alcohol and sweetness deftly, it is versatile and a great deal. Really won't beat it for a mixer.

Posted 4 days ago by Rogerhayes101 from United States with 3 ratings

Great rum. Solid rum taste with nice flavor...not too sweet.

Posted about 2 months ago by Dave D from United States with 7 ratings

I find nothing at all wrong with this rum. It has minimal sugar. No Solera which people complain about. It doesn’t just taste like oak wood tea. It’s 40% which is fine. I’m not using it to strip paint. It’s finished off in France. I love cognac. It has a beautiful color, nose and palate. I love it. Even in the morning neat. Like now. I’ve had it in my Stok cold brew coffee and milk which is also fine. After trying American whiskeys, scotches, Irish whiskeys and other rums, this is at the moment top of my list.

Posted 10 months ago by Hector from United States with 35 ratings

This was a pleasant surprise, An easy drink from start to finish whether neat or mixed. A great value

Posted 11 months ago by Zoey from United States with 7 ratings

This is really good so far, it's so perfect for the price. Easly the best for the cost, I'm in love

Posted over 1 year ago by Jason from United States with 67 ratings

I enjoy having this rum around when I want to sit back and relax with something I can enjoy. Very smooth with a solid flavor profile of sweet and spice. Great on the rocks and a great price.

Posted over 1 year ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

This is the original for Marks and Spencer's Bajan Estate XO i believe.. Light golden colour with a bit of bite and lovely tastes of banana , pineapple , coconut and spices. Plus the ever present caramel and vanilla.
Good sipper and great mixer..

Posted almost 2 years ago by Marco Forlani from Italy with 20 ratings

It’s one of those rhum were the value to price rate is very good. It shows a wide range of flavours, mostly molasses and fruits, a great smoothness and a good equilibrium in sweetness. This is surprising for a 5yo rhum.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ronn from United States with 1 rating

First time trying this rum!! Very smooth and citrus y I am impressed for a rum that cost 25.00. I am no expert, but this is very enjoyable and looking forward to buying more!! I highly recommend this !!!!

Posted over 2 years ago by Ken from United States with 71 ratings

Agree with the other posters that this is a good sipping rum, especially for the price. A little sweet and not as mature and complex as some others that I prefer. When in a pinch, I would definitely go back to this. Nice packaging that does not try to over-hype the beverage inside. Will definitely seek out other rums from the maker.