Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum

Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Caribbean | Aged

Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum is distilled from molasses and aged 5 years in bourbon casks before being transported to France for further 'finishing' in Cognac casks.

Plantation rum is owned by the French company Cognac Ferrand, which was founded in 1989 and produces wine, gin, and other spirits to sell in over 40 countries. The Plantation range includes 7 vintages from different Caribbean countries and 3 blends of multiple regions.

7.2/10 (355 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
5
15
47
141
118
20
6

Rate Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


355 Plantation Barbados 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

721b6baef5796e07a24563b028a43bae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Dan Freeman from United States with 15 ratings

This is good stuff, a bargain that can be enjoyed straight, however I've seen the price go up by at least $3 a bottle over the past couple of years.

38e42173d4e8f41f200528a5a164ca57.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Tommy from United States with 12 ratings

If you don't feel like gambling upwards of $50 on the XO 20th, buy this first. If you like, get the 20th expecting it to be about 3x better.

This 5 year, however, need to apologize to no one. Well-crafted, sippable indulgence and broad appeal to anyone who might enjoy rums to the plus side of moderately sweet, without being a raging sugar bomb. Tropical fruit galore with subtle spice to balance...

Another in my 'stupid good' category.

7c0438ce135e6666cd2273c77f374973.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andreas Lindholm from Sweden with 5 ratings

This may not be the best rum if you look at quality.... but when you look at the price its easily the one with most value.

Mature and sweet notes combined.

71c0aa27d65afd8fe024c88988f6d012.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

This stays on the top of my bar and available at all times. It it one of my favorites and better than many of my rums that cost me 2-3 times the price. It might be closer to a 7 for most, but the price and the availability give it a nudge up in my book. Rare, expensive, limited edition rums should be expected to rate in the 9-10 range.

A2a3b6564710167f18fa8021b9079031.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Nordicrum from Sweden with 22 ratings

Perhaps one of the better rums in its price level. Sweet, but also with a bit of a alcohol bite. Still, nicely balanced.

F2e47784aff4d69dd46ece9a938edc39.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Chris from United States with 2 ratings

I'm a wimp. I gag a bit when I drink most rums straight and my benchmark for a superb rum is one like this. It goes down like silk, very sweet and smooth with a tasty vanilla flavor. This is definitely in my top 10 rums

Bb42a4ca16db40f77d397163fb73a148.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by James from United States with 17 ratings

This is the perfect mixing rum. It's like the 2001 Barbados only lighter. When I mixed it with cola, its' flavours are all still present and very noticeable but don't overpower the drink (unless you over-pour).

Smell: Hot/Warm light butterscotch and banana,
same with the taste, but are very light flavours and a good warming finish on the back of the throat.

3f627a76d42f64a906b7920aaff714a8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by RumRunner from United States with 1 rating

Excellent Rum taste with a whiskey like character. Not overly sweet but lots of flavor elements like vanilla and age oak. No burn going down but a pleasant exotic Cognac finish. I enjoy it alone either neat or with a little ice but it also mixes well.

5f39f0991f640b9582e86958c2abbdea.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by DiNiko from Greece with 41 ratings

Having already tasted the xo edition, which ranks on top of my list, it's really hard to settle for anything less, especially when the word "plantation" is present in the name.
By any means though, I expected it to be nothing less than good.
And that's exactly what this fellow is.
In the first place, alcohol presence is dominant over the glass. The rum itself feels quite smooth in the mouth. Medium sweetness followed by well rounded vanilla aromas. Molasses are also present in every sip. Well balanced in every aspect. Lacks the richness of a premium but it is a total winner in the category "value for money".
Do not hesitate to try.

3cd30a1ee0c14d6cfcee2c39ed58bd6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 352 ratings

Schmeckt erwachsen für sein Alter.
Leicht und unbeschwert in der Nase und Gaumen.
Im Vordergrund dominante Vanillearomen gefolgt von Karamell und Früchten.
Abgang ganz ok.
Ein Rum für alle Tage. Nicht zu süss.

Tastes great for his age.
Easy and carefree in the nose and palate.
In the foreground dominant vanilla aromas followed by caramel and fruit.
Finish quite ok.
A rum for all days. Not too sweet.

1d3d6169d78bf87b7599d6d50fea2d20.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by bob from United States with 2 ratings

An easy drink from start to finish whether neat or mixed. A great value and a must have for the liquor cabinet.