Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum

Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum is distilled from molasses and aged 5 years in bourbon casks before being transported to France for further 'finishing' in Cognac casks.

Plantation rum is owned by the French company Cognac Ferrand, which was founded in 1989 and produces wine, gin, and other spirits to sell in over 40 countries. The Plantation range includes 7 vintages from different Caribbean countries and 3 blends of multiple regions.

Rate Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


343 Plantation Barbados 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

This rum is darn good. For price you can't beat it. I prefer to sip Zacapa Solera, Diplomatico Reserva Exclusive and Rumson's Grand Reserve, but anytime I am looking for something good and at a value this is it. I recommend this and Rumson's Grand Reserve rum more than any other rum's out there. Plantation for great taste and value and Rumson's Grand Reserve as just the best sipper I have had.

Posted about 3 years ago by Jade from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

One of my favourite rums and brilliant for the price. Very easy to drink on the rocks and a beautiful bottle too!

Posted about 3 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

Good Value

I am not fond of sweet Rums but even though Plantation Barbados 5 yr Rum has been tested at having between 20 - 22 gr of Sugar added per Litre, I thought I would give it a try since the price ($36.50 CAD @ SAQ) was right.

My initial observations were noticeable aromas of cinnamon and fruit and a slight smell of molasses followed by taste of vanilla and caramel. The sweetness of this rum, however, was much less enjoyable to me than other dryer rums I have tasted and while it was enjoyable to sip, it is too sweet for my liking. This will nevertheless be a nice addition to my liquor cabinet. Definitely a good value Rum but not a go to rum for me. Much too sweet for me...

Posted about 3 years ago by Nicolas Dufort from Canada with 19 ratings

Très bon et abordable avec des notes de cassonade un de mes préféré plantation jusqu'à date !

Posted about 3 years ago by Carsten from Germany with 12 ratings

Mein 9. Rating:
Ich wollte gerne mal wieder einen Plantation Rum ausprobieren und bin auf diesen 5-jährigen Barbados gestoßen.

Preis: ca. 24€

Geruch:
Viel Vanille und Karamell mit fruchtiger Schärfe.

Geschmack pur (Note 3):
Mir zu sprittig, aber mit süßer Bourbon-Note. Im Abgang scharf und schnell weg. Brennt etwas nach. Dennoch lecker.

Geschmack in Cola (Note 7):
Wow, hier entfaltet sich die fruchtige Note wieder.
Gepaart mit typischem Vanille- und Karamellgeschmack ergibt es ein sehr leckeres Getränk.
Er ist nicht so Toffee-betont wie der Pampero, sondern trumpft mit einer fruchtigen Nebennote auf und bewegt sich auf gleichem Niveau. Nachgeschmack leider zu kurz.

Posted at House of Blues about 3 years ago by Nilesh from United States with 3 ratings

If the price is taken out of the equation, this is a below average Rum, but at $20 for 750 ml you can never go wrong and that is why this earns a 4/10 rating from me. Too sweet on the palate to the point of being caramelized to death, even the after notes are bit too unfinished & candy like. All in all this Rum is nowhere close to being a sipping rum.

Posted about 3 years ago by Niklas from Sweden with 69 ratings

Helt ok inkörsport till rom. Andra jag provade efter diplomatico reserva som är betydligt sötare. Ok för priset.

Posted about 3 years ago by Gerome from United States with 38 ratings

I didn't particularly like the burn or the flavor. It has an excellent nose of vanilla, and caramel. I think there are more out there at lesser prices or maybe I'm dreaming. It's better than some that are higher in cost though. It mixes very well I must say. We quality mixer for those tastier mixes.

Posted about 3 years ago by John frederick from United States with 40 ratings

Picked this up just because I hadn't had it or heard of it, the shop had a rating label on for 92 I think, but I didn't think that was worth anything. Upon opening, it smelled great, first tried it with club side and lemon which was delicious but found it was equally as good sipping neat. Store only has it in 750ml so it goes fast

Posted about 3 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

Another good rum from plantation .. starting to get a taste for there rum after mixed experiences to begin with.

Posted about 3 years ago by Sweettalker from Canada with 5 ratings

Normally would have passed on this in favor of a more aged rum, but tried it on the recommendation of a friend and was pleasantly surprised. Butterscotch nose along with tropical fruits. Taste is slightly sweet, with caramel, vanilla, more of the tropical fruits and a bit of spice and bourbon. Can be sipped neat or on ice, but still has a bit of an alcoholic burn to it from the limited aging.

Posted about 3 years ago by Bo from DK with 59 ratings

Ikke smagt. .

Posted about 3 years ago by Malei from France with 70 ratings

Mais sans plus, un rhum très (trop?) Classiques à réserver au initiation/découverte

Posted about 3 years ago by Bill Wetmore from United States with 10 ratings

Very nice for price. Best in $20 range so far. Great bottle

Posted over 3 years ago by TARIL from France with 25 ratings

Rhum plutôt Doux qui se boit très bien, on ressent subtilement les anciens arômes de bourbon

Posted over 3 years ago by AT from United States with 23 ratings

Appearance: Pale amber, transparent
Aroma: vanilla, slight wood
Taste: sweet
Flavor: light caramel
Texture: slightly smooth
Finish: medium, sweet

Posted over 3 years ago by Adri from Belgium with 3 ratings

Great rum. Good taste. Strong but soft. not expensive

Posted over 3 years ago by Little from Belgium with 17 ratings

Original, spicy, not that long in aftertaste but still worst the trial

Posted over 3 years ago by Nicolai Ryberg from Denmark with 31 ratings

en super god rom til prisen. Den er rat god rom den smager super godt.

Posted over 3 years ago by Robert from United States with 23 ratings

Very surprising taste for how light of a color it is. Great for the price, and would recommend for a cheap sipper, or an awesome mixer.

Posted over 3 years ago by Treesnake from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

Za tuto cenu jeden z nejlepších rumů co se dá koupit

Posted over 3 years ago by Ludo Marley from Netherlands with 41 ratings

Bijzondere rum uit Barbados waar rijping vele malen sneller gaat dan op europese bodem. Deze unieke Grand Reserve is dan ook met veel passie en tijd verworven. De rum word met dubbel casking gerijpt wat in de wereld van rum nog niet heel bekend is, de rum heeft een rijping gehad in het caribisch gebied en word voor het laatste jaar naar Frankrijk gebracht om het laatste jaar te rusten. Hierdoor krijgt men bijzondere smaak explosie's met nieuwe en rijke invloeden. Vanille is het voornaamste in deze rum te proeven gevolgd door zacht fruit waaronder hints van banaan en andere fruitige smaken. Erg fijn en zacht met een licht zoetje op de achtergrond.

Geschiedenis Plantation rum:

Oorspronkelijk uit Azië , werd suikerriet in de Caribische geïntroduceerd door de Spaanse kolonisten tijdens Christoffel Columbus ' tweede reis in de late 15de eeuw .

De eerste schriftelijke vermelding van rum is afkomstig van Barbados in 1647 , maar het is bekend dat rum werd gemaakt op het eiland aan het begin van de 17e eeuw . In de Franse Antillen kwam de uitvinding van rum later en wordt toegeschreven aan Père Labat in 1694 , als een geneeskrachtig middel .

Van slechte kwaliteit en goedkoop te maken, was rum in eerste instantie alleen voor de plantage slaven. Duurdere cognac en sherry waren gereserveerd voor de kolonisten . Het werd ook de drank van zeelieden en piraten, maar rum begon niet te groeien tot de 18de eeuw, toen de reële vooruitgang met destillatie technieken werd gemaakt om zich te verspreiden naar Europa en Noord-Amerika .

Vandaag de dag rum is de meest geconsumeerde gedistilleerde alcohol in de wereld . Het is gemaakt op elk continent , in Azië , Latijns-Amerika , Oceanië , Europa en zelfs Afrika en het Midden-Oosten , maar de meest gewaardeerde rum komt ongetwijfeld uit het Caribisch gebied .

Posted over 3 years ago by nichaos from Greece with 77 ratings

Δυστυχώς κάνουμε κριτική στην ίδια κατηγορία με ρούμια που κοστίζουν 100+€ .... Άλλο ένα value for money ρούμι .... το 7 είναι λίγο , αλλά το 8 πολύ, συγκριτικά με τα ρούμια που έχω βαθμολογήσει..... Ωραία ελαφριά γλυκιά γεύση ,χωρίς μακρυά επίγευση ( μην τα θέλουμε όλα με 25€ ... έλεος) ... Στην πρώτη γουλιά βγαίνει το αλκοόλ έντονα , στην πορεία όμως στρώνει και πίνεται εύκολα ... πολύ εύκολα θα έλεγα , ως επικίνδυνα ..... να πιεις ολόκληρο το μπουκάλι με την μία !!!!!!

Posted over 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

Another early rum as I expanded from Bacardi. The price point and flavor made a nice combination.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mario Lenicky from Slovakia with 8 ratings

Quite smooth, but hard to find sth else than bakery spices in there.