Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum

Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum is distilled from molasses and aged 5 years in bourbon casks before being transported to France for further 'finishing' in Cognac casks.

Plantation rum is owned by the French company Cognac Ferrand, which was founded in 1989 and produces wine, gin, and other spirits to sell in over 40 countries. The Plantation range includes 7 vintages from different Caribbean countries and 3 blends of multiple regions.

Rate Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


343 Plantation Barbados 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

This rum is darn good. For price you can't beat it. I prefer to sip Zacapa Solera, Diplomatico Reserva Exclusive and Rumson's Grand Reserve, but anytime I am looking for something good and at a value this is it. I recommend this and Rumson's Grand Reserve rum more than any other rum's out there. Plantation for great taste and value and Rumson's Grand Reserve as just the best sipper I have had.

Posted over 2 years ago by Vince Veba from Germany with 28 ratings

A little strong in alcohol, but super worth to sip pure, great complex aroma, super value for money, you can order it for below 20€.

Posted over 2 years ago by Julien from France with 2 ratings

Easy to drink, not to strong. Great rum. Difficult to find in some countries

Posted over 2 years ago by Cardene from Belgium with 17 ratings

For the price of about €29. This is a great rum! It has all the texture and flavour of a rum you want, without the harshness or over sweetened taste that you get for regular cheaper rums. This may not be the best in the Plantation line, but it still has a great nose and careml taste.

Posted over 2 years ago by Christian from United States with 6 ratings

This is our “house” sipping rum. It is smooth with lots of caramel and just goes down. The most you could be upset about is it might not be overly complex, but after 2 or 3 who cares!

Posted over 2 years ago by Cameron from United States with 3 ratings

Maybe not the best for drinking neat, very good with coke. Price is cheap as well, only about $21 at my local store. Very good for value

Posted over 2 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

It's hard to rate this because every year there's a new bottle and a new style. It's definitely been getting sweeter and sweeter. When I first tried this it was phenomenal and such a good price point. Now it's drifting, like so many other rums into the diplomatico, el dorado, ron zacapa, over sweet "aged" rum whirlpool.

Posted over 2 years ago by Brantley from United States with 20 ratings

very smooth rum drink it straight also mixes well and the price not too steep

Posted over 2 years ago by Stu from United States with 25 ratings

Nice smell and taste of vanilla but a little bit hot for me. I was sipping it and it seemed to have just a little too much burn for me. I would be alot more forgiving beacause of the price but today I just had the vizcaya 12 year and for 20 bucks its insanely good and smooth

Posted almost 3 years ago by Gael from France with 10 ratings

This rum is very impressive for the price. Easy to drink but not too sweet. Equally good for either aperitif or as after-diner drink. A must have for the liquor cabinet.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Plantation Barbados 5 year old is aged in Kentucky Bourbon barrels and the Bourbon flavors have overtaken the delicate rum flavors a long time ago. If you like dry rums or Kentucky Bourbons, then you will like this, but don't assume to get an amazing aged rum with this bottle. Barbados 5 year is million miles away from Barbados XO 20th Anniversary rum, but only a fractional price difference.

Posted almost 3 years ago by DOMINO from Switzerland with 19 ratings

Very tasty, fresh and not too heavy. My favorite mid aged rum.
And it works also with coke very well. Just Fantastic and better than most heavy/burbon tasting rums.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Torbjorn Johannesson from Sweden with 4 ratings

Most bang for the buck. It is sweet but not to sweet. Good taste. Works well as a sipping as well as mixing rum.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Larry Meek from United States with 7 ratings

Very good. Smooth, sweet (but not too sweet), and pleasant. Good sipper and mixer. Can take a little water or ice but doesnt need it. Ripe fruit, caramel, and butterscotch.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jesper Hansen from Denmark with 62 ratings

Lækker rom som er lidt anderledes sød. Jeg kan godt lide denne flaske.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Robert from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

Great for the money, good taste, definitely not sweet but also not dry like bourbon and no taste of dry alcohol. Spicy, kind of dark flavor going close to cognac as well

Posted almost 3 years ago by Myrthe from Netherlands with 31 ratings

It is a smooth rum, wel balanced and a bit dry, but i don't like how the alcohol comes out in the aftertaste.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Plantation has done it again and with an affordable price tag to match. Can be enjoyed neat or mixed with your favorite beverage. Nice balance of sweetness due to the aging in bourbon barrels followed by the additional resting in cognac casks in France.

Posted almost 3 years ago by ienmdb from United States with 4 ratings

When I first tried it neat, it was a bit harsh. On the rocks however, all the flavors really came out and tastes rather fruity. I liked it with a squeeze of lime to complement the sweetness. Also good with coke but definitely worth it as a sipper. Will buy again!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Glen from United States with 50 ratings

Slightly sweet, especially coming out of Barbados, but that's the fun with the cognac process that makes Plantation. Decent for sipping, especially on ice. Tried it in a daiquiri but came out too sweet, even at 6-4-1. Is one of my go-to runs when buying as a gift.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Captain Ron from United States with 9 ratings

This is my standard rum for smoking cigars. Great flavors that always complement the tobacco. The price is perfect since I go through it so fast!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Graham Davie from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

After reading several reviews I finally managed to get a bottle, £28 delivered,Drinkshop.com.
Price will no longer be a guide when choosing a new rum. At the price I would imagine that this is very near unbeatable. I've certainly paid a lot more for rums that are not a patch on this golden brew.
Great on the nose, a proper "rummy" smell, very smooth on the tongue with a pleasant burn and a lingering after taste.
This will certainly gain a place on my shelf for many years to come.
Enjoy,
Graham.

.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dirk from Canada with 39 ratings

This is a really smooth sipping Rum.
When you crack the bottle you definitely smell and can taste that it was aged in bourbon barrels. I'm glad i took the chance. No need to mix this on the rocks is great.. no burn at all. Enjoy.... I did!
Months later I’m back into this bottle and although I have a lot more tasting under my belt my rating is unchanged. I love the tobacco notes and molasses. Still an 8 in my book.

Posted about 3 years ago by Jonathan from Belgium with 31 ratings

Een plantationneke staat garant voor kwaliteit. Geurt fruitig, maar komt heerlijk zoet binnen! Hints van chocolade en caramel met fruitige toetsen! De kruidige nasmaak doet niets af aan het totaalplaatje. Topper!

Posted about 3 years ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 72 ratings

Obrázek staršího balení s nápisem "Grande Reserve" použitý momentálně v záhlaví je velmi zavádějící a svádí k záměně s https://www.rumratings.com/brands/3735-plantation-barbados-grande-reserve.3735-plantation-barbados-grande-reserve. Je tedy celkem pravděpodobné (a místy zcela zjevné), že řada hodnocení zde se ve skutečnosti týká právě jeho, nikoli 5-Year, což se ostatně původně na poprvé podařilo i mně.

Nově balení je podstatně srozumitelnější - a vskutku: jde po všech stránkách o úplně jiný destilát. Pokud očekáváte nějaké vylepšené "Grande Reserve", budete zklamáni stejně jako jsem byl zklamán já. Vylepšené "Grande Reserve" je Plantation XO. Tohle je spíš něco jako vylepšený Original Dark. Nicméně ten si znova určitě pořídím (stejně jako Grande Reserve), zatímco tohle zcela určitě už víckrát ne.
Přesto nejde o úplně nezajímavou kořalku. Zejména s ohledem na deklarovaný původ z Barbadosu je v chuti velmi neobvykle ovocná, zcela nepodobná jakémukoli rumu z tohoto ostrova, jaký jsem kdy pil. Osobně mě ale (na rozdíl třeba od ovocností podobného Plantation Guatemala & Belize) příliš nezaujal, ale ani neurazil. Nicméně od Ferrandů jsem se naučil čekat jaksi víc než jen neurážlivost...