Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum

Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum is distilled from molasses and aged 5 years in bourbon casks before being transported to France for further 'finishing' in Cognac casks.

Plantation rum is owned by the French company Cognac Ferrand, which was founded in 1989 and produces wine, gin, and other spirits to sell in over 40 countries. The Plantation range includes 7 vintages from different Caribbean countries and 3 blends of multiple regions.

Rate Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


343 Plantation Barbados 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

This rum is darn good. For price you can't beat it. I prefer to sip Zacapa Solera, Diplomatico Reserva Exclusive and Rumson's Grand Reserve, but anytime I am looking for something good and at a value this is it. I recommend this and Rumson's Grand Reserve rum more than any other rum's out there. Plantation for great taste and value and Rumson's Grand Reserve as just the best sipper I have had.

Posted about 2 years ago by Rico from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

Easy drinking light rum. Mildy sweet with a clean finish and very little burn. A good sipping rum for everyday

Posted about 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Easily a 7 for the price at £26 It's a steal. Wonderful mixer and actually ok to sip even after 5 years. Plantation do their rums well fine Barbados tastes of the Caribbean

Posted about 2 years ago by LePirate80 from United States with 2 ratings

Very fruity, smooth, can drink neat with no problem

Posted about 2 years ago by Christos from Greece with 8 ratings

It’s a kind of sweet rum. I think it’s better on the nose than it is to the mouth. Rich aromas (very pleasant), rich fruity and sweet taste. For one or two glasses the most.

I do not recommend on the rocks (it will get weak), I think it’s better straight out of the bottle. Not to great for a cigar. For the money it costs it is fair. It has added sugar but not to much. If you like Diplomatico reserva exclusiva, for half the price you will like this too.

In two words: good and cheap but not “wow””.

Posted about 2 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

Great introduction to Bajan style, very easy to drink, great mixer.

Posted about 2 years ago by Jack Farrell from United States with 10 ratings

This might be a bit of a conundrum but this is a pretty good rum but not for me. It reminds me quite a bit of Pyrut X. O. It is smoother than most 5 year olds. The aroma is barely perceptible. Taste wise all I get is a heavy dose of orange and it is a bit too sweet for my liking. It is a bit one dimensional, lacking any real complexity which is not necessarily a bad thing. I love Bajan rums but just not this one. I rarely use a mixer with good rum but I just might here.

Posted about 2 years ago by Jacob from United States with 7 ratings

This rum is not the best rum you will ever try. Nor is it even close to being the best rum in the Plantation line up. For its price though this rum is absolutely unbelievable. It may bring a bit of heat and harshness with it, but it still carries quite a pack of vanilla sweetness both in on the nose and in the taste. I prefer my rums to have a bit of heat and this rum does just that. The more you sip on it the more you will appreciate just how great this rum is for its price. I also have let it breath for quite a bit and found that quells the harshness a bit and pulls forward a bit more sweet.

Posted about 2 years ago by Richard B. from Slovakia with 30 ratings

Krajina pôvodu: Barbados

Prevedenie: 70cl fľaša

Rumy značky Plantation sú mojou srdcovkou, mojím prvým rumom bol Original Dark, slušný rumík určený skôr na miešané nápoje. Ale tento je taktiež veľmi chutný, po cca. štyroch rokoch zrenia v sudoch od burbonu bol presunutý z Barbadosu do Francúzska, kde si rok poležal v dubových sudoch. Krásna tropická vôňa aj keď je v nej cítiť alkoholovú vôňu.

Fľaša: s určitosťou môžem tvrdiť, že fľaše Plantation sú skoro rovnaké pre každý druh rumu a líšia sa len "triedou" daných rumov, tzn. rada extreme je iná ako rada určená pre miešané drinky (3 stars, Original Dark, ...). Proste krásna fľaša.

Vôňa: vôňa je krásne exotická s náznakom vanilky, nie je sladká, trocha cítiť alkohol ale je to prijateľné.

Chuť: mierna sladkosť-citrusy, vanilky, korenisté tóny sa miešajú s alkoholovými.

Záver: rum je určený pre ľudí, ktorý hľadajú niečo medzi mierne sladkým rumom a trocha suchým rumom. Je to skvele vyvážený rum aj keď chuť by mohla byť o čosi výraznejšia. Celkovo rumy tohto výrobcu majú všeobecne dobré hodnotenie.

Cena: v priemere 27€/70cl fľaša

Spôsob degustácie: pohár Glancairn

Posted about 2 years ago by RumGuy from United States with 22 ratings

Cheap enough to mix, tasty enough to sip. Just a solid Barbados rum that keeps me coming back. I go through this faster than anything else. Lots of people saying its too sweet, I know plantation adds some sugar but honestly I don't find it egregious.

Posted about 2 years ago by Rick from United States with 22 ratings

I agree with other comments that is has many of the elements of the XO Anniversary, but in less amounts. Still has that coconut essence, just lighter.

Posted about 2 years ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 72 ratings

Sweet pineapple on the nose, medium bodied vanilla and a touch of caramel and oak on the palate. Unfortunately there's quite a 'fresh' sugar taste, as if someone has added it to my glass. Just about good enough to sip neat.

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 298 ratings

I let it breathe for a while and it still had too harsh of a burn. The aroma is caramel. The taste is of burning alcohol, caramel, and oak. The after taste is pure burn mixed with caramel. For only $21, I don't regret buying it, but I won't buy it again. If one wants to play, then they have got to pay.

Then right after trying another shot of rum with no added sugar (Barcelo), this fool tried this one again. No contest! The amount of added sugar on this rum became so obvious with the back to back comparisons. Can you say hangover in the making? I sure can! No comparison whatsoever to the Plantation XO!!!

I eventually placed it on the counter along with rums that I cannot wait to get rid of and this was only after a few sips, as this is one step above Pyrat XO. My bottle of Mount Gay XO also happened to be sitting next to it, since it has tumbled down in my ratings. Hmmm! One dry Bajan and one overly sweet Bajan! This sounded like a match made in heaven. I started out with a 50/50 mix, but eventually wound up with 3 parts Mount Gay XO to one part Plantation Barbados 5 year. If one ever wants to know what to do with rums that they hate, try creative combinations such as this. Heck, the masters behind the tiki bars did these combos for years!

Update on March 3, 2018: Good riddans to this rum! It does not even make a Cuba Libre or Daiquiri. This was the last of my rums that I rated below a 6 and there are about 30 rated at 6 or more that I would not hesitate to buy again. It only goes to show that even the best rum companies can produce a turkey like this one once in a while. They are not distillers, by the way. At least the nice bottle with a real cork is reusable.

Posted over 2 years ago by Diplomatte from Cayman Islands with 16 ratings

Hybrid Rum that can be used as a top notch mixer or a very satisfying sipper.

Given its price also, I believe its a necessary addition to every bar

Gold-Amber Color, Rich taste (can feel the ageing of the Rum even if its only 5 years)
Tasting profile:Tropical Fruits, vanilla

Posted over 2 years ago by casey from United States with 9 ratings

For about $20 your really getting your moneys worth.

Posted over 2 years ago by Christoffer Erlandsson from Sweden with 2 ratings

Sweetness in the start followed by a short taste of the casket with a burning sensation in the end.

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris from Netherlands with 60 ratings

This is a really nice sipping rum, don't add coke, would be a shame! I really like the plantation rums!

Posted over 2 years ago by Allano from Canada with 20 ratings

But close to a sipper, works better with lots of ice or some cola.

Posted over 2 years ago by Marvin from United States with 6 ratings

I liked the price and decided to try it for some mixes. My wife loves it in cocktails or on its own. For the price I’ll pick it up again.

Posted over 2 years ago by Taster from Switzerland with 104 ratings

This young rum is pretty subtle in nose and palate. Not very aromatic, but smooth and pleasant. Rather thin. I miss some character and volume of more aged rums.

Posted over 2 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

Good Rum at a very good price
I think I paid 19.99 for this and
still only use as a sipper

Posted over 2 years ago by beetleguise from United States with 10 ratings

Solid barbados rum. Very serviceable sipping rum, and a strong mixer (good corn -n oil). Like most plantation rums (standard line) its an excellent value.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jack Sparrow from Bulgaria with 6 ratings

A nice smooth rum with a very nice vanilla taste. Perfect for beginners.

Posted over 2 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Heck the more i drink rum the more i find that Plantation is doing a great job. This rum is very nice, you can drink it neat, on the rocks or a quite tasty Rum and Coke. Good stuff for the money spent.

Posted over 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

This has everything you would want a mid-priced rum to have. It really is not that far removed from the Plantation XO - it's not as smooth, but it has more bite and tang. I guess it depends what you like. Both have a hint of sweetness and are great to sip. This one is much better value for money, and as has been pointed out elsewhere, if you are in the UK, the Marks and Spencers Bajan XO is more or less the same stuff, a fraction cheaper with a different label.

The predominant tastes are molasses and very subtle caramel and vanilla. The aftertaste is warm with a slight alcohol burn...but of the type you'd want, not the type that might make you splutter.
It's definitely a sipper and best drank straight or on the rocks.