Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum

Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum is distilled from molasses and aged 5 years in bourbon casks before being transported to France for further 'finishing' in Cognac casks.

Plantation rum is owned by the French company Cognac Ferrand, which was founded in 1989 and produces wine, gin, and other spirits to sell in over 40 countries. The Plantation range includes 7 vintages from different Caribbean countries and 3 blends of multiple regions.

Rate Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


352 Plantation Barbados 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

704f32d9809dc0e8df834f111e2b6a9d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

This rum is darn good. For price you can't beat it. I prefer to sip Zacapa Solera, Diplomatico Reserva Exclusive and Rumson's Grand Reserve, but anytime I am looking for something good and at a value this is it. I recommend this and Rumson's Grand Reserve rum more than any other rum's out there. Plantation for great taste and value and Rumson's Grand Reserve as just the best sipper I have had.

78a25fe102860edaed98d7a2cdb7db61.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by mprohr from United States with 2 ratings

It's pretty sweet and not much oak, but smooth enough and flavorful if not funky. A value leader for sure.

8339d22a6805be600a0e46dc3814d44f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by Lubber from United States with 9 ratings

Very tasty but too sweet for me as a sipper. I most likely won’t be buying this again. I’ll only reach for this if I’m making a cocktail that needs both sweetness AND rum. Love the aesthetics of the bottle though.

33747ff15624882d84df5aad0a94e0ef.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by Adiazjr23 from United States with 1 rating

The taste is so smooth. I have tried different rums but nothing is quite like this.

Fb1b17c7ab512178e35184523d1231c7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by scottlalib from United States with 12 ratings

My wife and I picked up a bottle of this Plantation offering in a small grocery store on Anguilla, and sipped it over ice and lime on the balcony of our hotel room. Light enough to sip with food, but has enough body to stand up to the ice. It might’ve been the view, or this might just be a solid Caribbean grocery store rum.

Df8b5ba379f24d2dda1b051feb9528e7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Vlad from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Many reviews say its mixing rum but I enjoyed it straight and it has nice after taste with touch of vanilla and caramel, not too sweet but obvs not as good as 20 xo ;)

6c7a3f942fb6037679e571ff4efdef90.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Hilmar from Norway with 9 ratings

Tasted by accident, but was not dissapointed. Little bit hard on taste.

820d1bb728cc969ef5fc3ec5d18f06da.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by butWHYistherumgone from United States with 12 ratings

I love this rum. I always have a bottle somewhere around. It makes a lovely drink. However, sipping leaves something to be desired. It has the usual off-smell of some rums, but it leans less on the interesting side of things and more on the "im-smelling-the-inside-of-a-balloon" side of things. Also, if you are going to be using this for mixing drinks, and supplementing your sipping rum with something else, then it would be better to choose a cheaper rum to mix and a higher quality sipper to buy. Just my two cents.

2f81aa45ce36fc4d3b493a99f8cc5635.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by FD_Doolin from United States with 1 rating

A very good sipper for the price. Great entry level rum

61edf0b3569d2e4fb6a160fc985e1a82.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by BvD25 from Netherlands with 7 ratings

This was my first Plantation rum and it is a surprisingly good sippable rum for its price!

E516ed6dd4bfab6f925acb0a8bdbe070.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Jaydee01 from Germany with 25 ratings

Für den recht günstigen Preis und die vielen großen Brüder in der Plantation Familie war ich positiv überrascht. Vielleicht nicht der Mildeste, aber durchaus ein gelungener Rum.