Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum

Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Caribbean | Aged

Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum is distilled from molasses and aged 5 years in bourbon casks before being transported to France for further 'finishing' in Cognac casks.

Plantation rum is owned by the French company Cognac Ferrand, which was founded in 1989 and produces wine, gin, and other spirits to sell in over 40 countries. The Plantation range includes 7 vintages from different Caribbean countries and 3 blends of multiple regions.

7.2/10
401 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
6
16
55
161
132
21
7

Rate Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

401 Plantation Barbados 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by DOMINO from Switzerland with 19 ratings

Very tasty, fresh and not too heavy. My favorite mid aged rum.
And it works also with coke very well. Just Fantastic and better than most heavy/burbon tasting rums.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Sakulnikov from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

I enjoy sipping it. It has nice dark colour which makes it beautiful just look at it before drinking. The aroma is little bit aggressive but my opinion may be influenced by the fact I know the Plantation XO 20th Anniversary. However, I like its aroma of vanilla and coconut and some fruit. The taste is little bit sweet but not too much. The sweetness fades away just in the moment the alchohol kicks in but it is balanced so sipping is very pleasant.
Summary: Very nice drink and for the price it is definitely a buy.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

I'm a huge fan of the Plantation XO 20th Anniversary but, at $45 (NYC price), I can't afford to drink it every day. It turns out Plantation's own Barbados Grande Reserve is a fine stand-in. Not as awesome in the nose, but wonderful on the palette with a smooth, soft finish. In my view, incredible value for money ($18 in NYC)

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Scott from United States with 16 ratings

Plantation is one of my favorites on the rocks. Great aroma of vanilla and not overly sweet. I like to let the ice melt and blend in for a few minutes and it's oh so smooth. Even straight up it's very good without any burn. For the price I don't think it can be beat.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by rafeener from Canada with 25 ratings

Can have this anytime day or night. Beautiful mix. Great all alone with ice or a splash of dark cola. Real treat to drink.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by donmichelangelo from Germany with 25 ratings

Nice golden-amber aged rum from barbados. Tastes similar like the 20th Anniversary but is less heavier and has a lighter profile. However it is neat in sipping glass as well as in cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Dan Freeman from United States with 15 ratings

This is good stuff, a bargain that can be enjoyed straight, however I've seen the price go up by at least $3 a bottle over the past couple of years.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by RumSteve from United States with 15 ratings

A standard aged, great rum for the price. Use for mixing, or sipping.
Great looking bottle, and a unique twist besides the standard Mount Gay Eclipse.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Trini Yank from Trinidad and Tobago with 41 ratings

A must have for any collection. Full bodied and rich flavoured, surprisingly smooth for a 5 yr. Eye-catching bottle, etc. Good enough to sip, cheap enough to mix. After ED 5, the best 5 out there.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

A good sipper so you can drink the XO a special ocassions.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Benito B. from Luxembourg with 68 ratings

Plantation Barbados 5 is a nice aged rum, good to use for mixers or to drink neat.