Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum

Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Caribbean | Aged

Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum is distilled from molasses and aged 5 years in bourbon casks before being transported to France for further 'finishing' in Cognac casks.

Plantation rum is owned by the French company Cognac Ferrand, which was founded in 1989 and produces wine, gin, and other spirits to sell in over 40 countries. The Plantation range includes 7 vintages from different Caribbean countries and 3 blends of multiple regions.

7.2/10
401 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
6
16
55
161
132
21
7

Rate Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

401 Plantation Barbados 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Bamboleo from Germany with 21 ratings

fruity and pretty sweet rum. makes a nice pina colada

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by SebLeGrand from France with 4 ratings

Easy to drink, not as good as the Barbados grande reserve, smooth finish

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Bender-007 from Germany with 1 rating

Sweet rum with a strong vanilla aroma and a smooth finish

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by El Cap from United States with 62 ratings

Nose is pretty unassuming: vanilla and oak, not much going on there.

The taste is immediate black pepper and something grassy, leafy—- followed by a sort of whisky aftertaste. This is from initial sips neat.
I have no doubt it will work well in some cocktails, but it doesn’t stand up to some other Pantation bottlings, like Xaymaca, Isle of Fiji, OFTD and others.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by pgrace (PREMIUM) from United States with 33 ratings

Fantastic value. Tastes like a young XO as well it should.

Nose is light. Caramel. Vanilla. Butter honey.

Oily draw. A bit of heat with an oakey dry finish. Sugar cane. Vanilla extract. Dried green Raisens

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 59 ratings

Fire and thunder! This be an exceptional rum for the price! She smells sweet of vanilla and a hint of somethin' toasty, which I be at a loss to speak on. As for taste, the vanilla disappears like a ghost ship, but in its place there be orange and milk chocolate... but toasty! She be plenty spicy with a hint of cinnamon, too. There be a bit cognac on board, but not 'til the finish, and barely then. This rum be smooth with little burn and worth every penny. Aye, this be a right fine rum, or I be a lubbery Dutchman, which I ain't!

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by BallerAND1P from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

Not being that experienced with rums, I might have to re-rate this in the future.
Picking up vanilla and some similarities in the age to others.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Rumbell Beard from Germany with 5 ratings

A very mild one with nice flavour. For poeple, who dont like too strong rum taste and burns.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by abrarey from United States with 34 ratings

On the nose ripe bananas and vanilla.
on the taste is sweet but not overly sweet. This rum has added sugar which I normally don't like but I can say is well balanced in here. Can be considered a borderline sipper that can stand against other expensive options.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Rogerhayes101 from United States with 4 ratings

Great rum. Solid rum taste with nice flavor...not too sweet.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Dave D from United States with 8 ratings

I find nothing at all wrong with this rum. It has minimal sugar. No Solera which people complain about. It doesn’t just taste like oak wood tea. It’s 40% which is fine. I’m not using it to strip paint. It’s finished off in France. I love cognac. It has a beautiful color, nose and palate. I love it. Even in the morning neat. Like now. I’ve had it in my Stok cold brew coffee and milk which is also fine. After trying American whiskeys, scotches, Irish whiskeys and other rums, this is at the moment top of my list.