Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum

Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Caribbean | Aged

Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum is distilled from molasses and aged 5 years in bourbon casks before being transported to France for further 'finishing' in Cognac casks.

Plantation rum is owned by the French company Cognac Ferrand, which was founded in 1989 and produces wine, gin, and other spirits to sell in over 40 countries. The Plantation range includes 7 vintages from different Caribbean countries and 3 blends of multiple regions.

7.2/10 (379 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
5
15
52
152
125
20
7

Rate Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


379 Plantation Barbados 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

Nice, sweet with strength, perfect for so young rum.
One of the best from cheaper rums.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Jeff from Canada with 5 ratings

You can drink it on the rocks if desired, but I find it a little under aged for that.....still far more drinkable in that mode than any bacardi or the like will EVER be.
I have spoiled so many people with this rum, once tasted in a fine rum and coke, you will never be able to go back to the big name brands ever again. Smooth and flavourful with harsh aftertaste. Fantastic price point and without a doubt the best mixer rum I've ever bought.....
Best rum and coke mixer with no guilt from mixing a higher priced alternative.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Keith Brockmiller from United States with 26 ratings

This was a pleasant surprise, given to me by a fellow rum lover. If you loved the 20th anniversary edition as much as me, this is definitely worth a taste, at less than half the price. Its got that yummy coconut nose, and the hint of vanilla sweetness just like it's older brother. This is good for everyday sipping, and sharing, while the 20th anniversary you would save (hide) for special occasions/ special friends. Or just for yourself.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Kirethidae from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Have not come across a better rum at its price. Amazing taste, lots of toffee and vanilla with tobacco and nutmeg coming through as well. Versatile as well; can be mixed, enjoyed neat or enjoyed with a single ice cube or more. Would be my go-to rum because of all this coupled with its fantastic value.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Labros from Greece with 1 rating

I purchased this rum after reading the reviews, expecting it to be a good deal for the money it costs.
Unfortunately, I was disappointed. This rum is very weak in taste, to the point that after 10 minutes in a glass with ice it feels like you drink water only with some alcohol.
Furthermore, the cognac "touch" they claim to give this rum a "special" character, is not for every one, be warned! For me personally, I found the cognac scent not to agree with the rum philosophy.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by mcnamard from United States with 15 ratings

Best value rum out there, you can drink it neat or with water or ice or a squeeze of lime and you'll enjoy it. Better yet, knock down a rum and coke or your drink of choice and have one of the finest quality mixers that isn't definitively better neat you can imagine. A full flavor profile that balances alcohol and sweetness deftly, it is versatile and a great deal. Really won't beat it for a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by RaisingIndiana from United States with 9 ratings

One of the best Aged Rums for the price. Full of flavor. Wonderful to add to any tiki cocktail. A beautiful bouquet of mashed bananas, vanilla, and caramel. Hogo on the pallette. Perfect for sharing neat or shaking, you can't go wrong with this one.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Dbenatti from United States with 1 rating

Excellent, smooth. Easy on paladar and a nice kick afterwards

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by SebLeGrand from France with 3 ratings

Easy to drink, not as good as the Barbados grande reserve, smooth finish

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Bender-007 from Germany with 1 rating

Sweet rum with a strong vanilla aroma and a smooth finish

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by El Cap from United States with 62 ratings

Nose is pretty unassuming: vanilla and oak, not much going on there.

The taste is immediate black pepper and something grassy, leafy—- followed by a sort of whisky aftertaste. This is from initial sips neat.
I have no doubt it will work well in some cocktails, but it doesn’t stand up to some other Pantation bottlings, like Xaymaca, Isle of Fiji, OFTD and others.