Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum

Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Caribbean | Aged

Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum is distilled from molasses and aged 5 years in bourbon casks before being transported to France for further 'finishing' in Cognac casks.

Plantation rum is owned by the French company Cognac Ferrand, which was founded in 1989 and produces wine, gin, and other spirits to sell in over 40 countries. The Plantation range includes 7 vintages from different Caribbean countries and 3 blends of multiple regions.

7.2/10
401 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
6
16
55
161
132
21
7

Rate Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

401 Plantation Barbados 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by DOMINO from Switzerland with 19 ratings

Very tasty, fresh and not too heavy. My favorite mid aged rum.
And it works also with coke very well. Just Fantastic and better than most heavy/burbon tasting rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Jeff from Canada with 5 ratings

You can drink it on the rocks if desired, but I find it a little under aged for that.....still far more drinkable in that mode than any bacardi or the like will EVER be.
I have spoiled so many people with this rum, once tasted in a fine rum and coke, you will never be able to go back to the big name brands ever again. Smooth and flavourful with harsh aftertaste. Fantastic price point and without a doubt the best mixer rum I've ever bought.....
Best rum and coke mixer with no guilt from mixing a higher priced alternative.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Keith Brockmiller from United States with 26 ratings

This was a pleasant surprise, given to me by a fellow rum lover. If you loved the 20th anniversary edition as much as me, this is definitely worth a taste, at less than half the price. Its got that yummy coconut nose, and the hint of vanilla sweetness just like it's older brother. This is good for everyday sipping, and sharing, while the 20th anniversary you would save (hide) for special occasions/ special friends. Or just for yourself.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 74 ratings

Being a cuban rum drinker mostly I wanted to check out another rum making country and came to Barbados because of their dry rums; I don't mind a little sugar but hate liquid bonbons. I should have done my homework better because this rum is partially raised in France and adding sugar is allowed here!

And after finishing 2/3 of the bottle I also understand why; the rum is actually too immature and harsh and simply needs the sugar too soften up the sharp edges that are still there. The flavours are promissing and I think the base of this rum is ok but it simply needs finishing as nothing really comes to life here.

And then halfway it suddenly decided that it wanted to become a cognac but never arrived there either. After the cognac/oak slap in your face is gone the aftertaste is almost gone as well leaving only a bit of hard tannines with a vague vanilla.

This is in no way what I expect or want from a rum and while I do believe the original distillate has enough quality both too little aging and elevation in cognac casks makes this a rum that tries to be something it will never become. At this price point you cannot expect perfection but for me this is a long way off. It is drinkable and I will sure finish the bottle but there is little fun in doing so.

Edit; after ending the bottle I have to say that the 3 I rated it before is too harsh for a drinkable rum. I don't like it better but added a point in order to keep my reviews better matched.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Kirethidae from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Have not come across a better rum at its price. Amazing taste, lots of toffee and vanilla with tobacco and nutmeg coming through as well. Versatile as well; can be mixed, enjoyed neat or enjoyed with a single ice cube or more. Would be my go-to rum because of all this coupled with its fantastic value.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Labros from Greece with 1 rating

I purchased this rum after reading the reviews, expecting it to be a good deal for the money it costs.
Unfortunately, I was disappointed. This rum is very weak in taste, to the point that after 10 minutes in a glass with ice it feels like you drink water only with some alcohol.
Furthermore, the cognac "touch" they claim to give this rum a "special" character, is not for every one, be warned! For me personally, I found the cognac scent not to agree with the rum philosophy.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by mcnamard from United States with 18 ratings

Best value rum out there, you can drink it neat or with water or ice or a squeeze of lime and you'll enjoy it. Better yet, knock down a rum and coke or your drink of choice and have one of the finest quality mixers that isn't definitively better neat you can imagine. A full flavor profile that balances alcohol and sweetness deftly, it is versatile and a great deal. Really won't beat it for a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 18 days ago by Schrijver from Belgium with 6 ratings

PLANTATION

ORIGIN: Barbados
AGEING: Minimum 5 years in Bourbon and Pierre Ferrand cask.

Nose: Brown Sugar, Honey, dark caramel, candied almonds

Palate: Bittersweet, biscuity, toasty, nearly fruity, chocolate

Extra notes: smell and Taste touched of abricots. Price / Quality one of THE best rums out there.

Score: 7,5

Small img 20210120 171843 947

Posted 23 days ago by Spack Jarrow from United States with 14 ratings

This is definitely a lighter rum. It doesn't hit quite the same as some other aged rums. The presentation on the bottle is lovely and the price point is a plus as well.
As far as the taste, this is a dry rum, more along the lines of Mount Gay, subtle notes of coconut, but it is more hot than it is smooth, so drinking this one neat is a little rough.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by RaisingIndiana from United States with 9 ratings

One of the best Aged Rums for the price. Full of flavor. Wonderful to add to any tiki cocktail. A beautiful bouquet of mashed bananas, vanilla, and caramel. Hogo on the pallette. Perfect for sharing neat or shaking, you can't go wrong with this one.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Dbenatti from United States with 1 rating

Excellent, smooth. Easy on paladar and a nice kick afterwards