Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum

Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum is distilled from molasses and aged 5 years in bourbon casks before being transported to France for further 'finishing' in Cognac casks.

Plantation rum is owned by the French company Cognac Ferrand, which was founded in 1989 and produces wine, gin, and other spirits to sell in over 40 countries. The Plantation range includes 7 vintages from different Caribbean countries and 3 blends of multiple regions.

Rate Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


344 Plantation Barbados 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 3 years ago by Glen from United States with 50 ratings

Slightly sweet, especially coming out of Barbados, but that's the fun with the cognac process that makes Plantation. Decent for sipping, especially on ice. Tried it in a daiquiri but came out too sweet, even at 6-4-1. Is one of my go-to runs when buying as a gift.

Posted over 2 years ago by B.P.O. from Netherlands with 51 ratings

Color: light gold hugh
Smell: strong pineapple with a touch of oak
Taste: light and soft to start then complex and lingering flavor

If your introducting people to sipping rums, this would be a great start.

Posted about 3 years ago by Francois from France with 82 ratings

This is a dryer version of the 20th anniversary version.
I loved the 20th and really liked this one.
Some may even prefere it since it is less sweet. In anyway it is a great value for money.

Posted about 3 years ago by Tequilalex from Canada with 15 ratings

I'm a big fan of the Plantation brand. This is their first product that does not appeal to my taste. It tastes like gingerbread flavored rum. Yes it is smooth, so smooth even my wife loves it (she's generally appalled by rum). If you like sugared cinnamon potpourri, you'll be delighted by this rum.
(36.50 CAD in Apr 2017)

Posted about 3 years ago by Mike from United States with 25 ratings

Has a very "confectionery" nose to it. Like walking into a candy store. Flavor has some sweetness to it but it's not syrupy. Very "bourbonish" which makes sense if it's aged in bourbon barrels. Vanilla, caramel, short finish. Overall very pleasant when drank neat. Made some air mails with it that were good too. I think this over ice would be amazing. Really enjoying it. For $24 I'd buy this all day everyday!

Posted over 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

I bought the big bottle to use this as my (home) well gold rum. Lovely in cocktails, and respectable enough neat. A good value.

Posted over 3 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

Paid $18.99 in NYC. XO for me is the benchmark for a really good aged rum. To me this 5 year came very close, and for less than 1/2 the price of XO. Very smooth and nice flavor. I think when I find XO and 5YO on the liquor store shelf side by side, I'll pick the 5YO and save the XO for special occasions. It's that good.

Posted almost 4 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

This one's an instant favorite! Nose has slight notes caramel, along with spices and skins of tropical fruit (pineapple and papaya come to mind.) Much of the same comes through in the mouth, with the caramel and fruit becoming more pronounced. Overall, not too sweet and taste is rather light. Is this rum anything mind-blowingly special? Nope. But it serves as an easy sipper, a great mixer, and is light on the wallet, which is really all you need sometimes!

Posted about 4 years ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

This rum is darn good. For price you can't beat it. I prefer to sip Zacapa Solera, Diplomatico Reserva Exclusive and Rumson's Grand Reserve, but anytime I am looking for something good and at a value this is it. I recommend this and Rumson's Grand Reserve rum more than any other rum's out there. Plantation for great taste and value and Rumson's Grand Reserve as just the best sipper I have had.

Posted over 4 years ago by CBags from United States with 10 ratings

Like most of the other Plantation rums I have tried this is really quite good, especially for the price. Yet another rum from Barbados that I like, makes me think a trip there soon might be a good idea.

Posted over 4 years ago by Steven Cooremans from Belgium with 41 ratings

A very sweet and easy rum. No pronounced taste, but some banana, oak, smoke.

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

If you seek aromatic complexity , go away . Don't try to find aftertaste. It is not the purpose of this 5 years blend. But you can glimpse the assembly work from Plantation which has very good rum in its range. Good for beginners.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Vanilla and toffee = sugar added to enhance the flavor. Hard to take this rum too seriously.

Posted over 5 years ago by deron from United States with 7 ratings

I bought this room once on vacation out of desperation. However I was not terribly disappointed. Not a bad rum for the price.

Posted about 10 hours ago by abrarey from United States with 19 ratings

On the nose ripe bananas and vanilla.
on the taste is sweet but not overly sweet. This rum has added sugar which I normally don't like but I can say is well balanced in here. Can be considered a borderline sipper that can stand against other expensive options.

Posted 22 days ago by HotSpicyDisco (PREMIUM) from United States with 14 ratings

Great rum for the pricepoint - great for sipping and mixed cocktails!

Posted 23 days ago by MerMama from United States with 22 ratings

I bought this on a friend's recommendation and used it in a daiquiri when I got home. Wow, what a pleasure. It perfectly balances out the drink. It stands out but doesn't overpower. Then I tried sipping and found it to be smooth vanilla tobacco goodness. Great quality for the price.

Posted 24 days ago by Corey.andreas from Australia with 2 ratings

Beautiful Bajan rum, can sip it, or mix it. Brilliant colour and smooth to taste. Its my base rum, along with Pampero. I use this rum for tiki drinks, or just to sit and watch the footy to. Prefer this to the Stiggins...just. should be 7.5

Posted 24 days ago by mprohr from United States with 2 ratings

It's pretty sweet and not much oak, but smooth enough and flavorful if not funky. A value leader for sure.

Posted 27 days ago by Lubber from United States with 9 ratings

Very tasty but too sweet for me as a sipper. I most likely won’t be buying this again. I’ll only reach for this if I’m making a cocktail that needs both sweetness AND rum. Love the aesthetics of the bottle though.

Posted about 1 month ago by Adiazjr23 from United States with 1 rating

The taste is so smooth. I have tried different rums but nothing is quite like this.

Posted about 1 month ago by scottlalib from United States with 12 ratings

My wife and I picked up a bottle of this Plantation offering in a small grocery store on Anguilla, and sipped it over ice and lime on the balcony of our hotel room. Light enough to sip with food, but has enough body to stand up to the ice. It might’ve been the view, or this might just be a solid Caribbean grocery store rum.

Posted about 2 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 36 ratings

Being a cuban rum drinker mostly I wanted to check out another rum making country and came to Barbados because of their dry rums; I don't mind a little sugar but hate liquid bonbons. I should have done my homework better because this rum is partially raised in France and adding sugar is allowed here!

And after finishing 2/3 of the bottle I also understand why; the rum is actually too immature and harsh and simply needs the sugar too soften up the sharp edges that are still there. The flavours are promissing and I think the base of this rum is ok but it simply needs finishing as nothing really comes to life here.

And then halfway it suddenly decided that it wanted to become a cognac but never arrived there either. After the cognac/oak slap in your face is gone the aftertaste is almost gone as well leaving only a bit of hard tannines with a vague vanilla.

This is in no way what I expect or want from a rum and while I do believe the original distillate has enough quality both too little aging and elevation in cognac casks makes this a rum that tries to be something it will never become. At this price point you cannot expect perfection but for me this is a long way off. It is drinkable and I will sure finish the bottle but there is little fun in doing so.

Edit; after ending the bottle I have to say that the 3 I rated it before is too harsh for a drinkable rum. I don't like it better but added a point in order to keep my reviews better matched.

Posted about 2 months ago by Vlad from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

Many reviews say its mixing rum but I enjoyed it straight and it has nice after taste with touch of vanilla and caramel, not too sweet but obvs not as good as 20 xo ;)

Posted about 2 months ago by Hilmar from Norway with 9 ratings

Tasted by accident, but was not dissapointed. Little bit hard on taste.