Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum
Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum

Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Caribbean | Aged

Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum is distilled from molasses and aged 5 years in bourbon casks before being transported to France for further 'finishing' in Cognac casks.

Plantation rum is owned by the French company Cognac Ferrand, which was founded in 1989 and produces wine, gin, and other spirits to sell in over 40 countries. The Plantation range includes 7 vintages from different Caribbean countries and 3 blends of multiple regions.

7.2/10 (354 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
5
15
47
140
118
20
6

Rate Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


354 Plantation Barbados 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

704f32d9809dc0e8df834f111e2b6a9d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

This rum is darn good. For price you can't beat it. I prefer to sip Zacapa Solera, Diplomatico Reserva Exclusive and Rumson's Grand Reserve, but anytime I am looking for something good and at a value this is it. I recommend this and Rumson's Grand Reserve rum more than any other rum's out there. Plantation for great taste and value and Rumson's Grand Reserve as just the best sipper I have had.

77df9ac838e6d7c840613c9b168a5503.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Ednolb from Belgium with 8 ratings

Tasted a few rums between 20-40 euro and ended up buying this one. It was the best one IMO and eventually was the cheapest one too. WIN WIN! (the other rums I tasted were Plantation Guatemala Belize and Mount Gay Black Barrel)
Lots of vanilla, oak, bit of spices. There's a nice, not too overwhelming sweetness. It triggered an instant summer-feeling when I took my first sip.

C7ea13d61dbe7c06a608f36e884b28c1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Pattid0 from United States with 1 rating

I love the smoothness of this rum. I drink it with club soda so the taste really comes thru each sip! I do add a lime too just so I ward off scurvy! The molasses comes thru as a vanilla finish. I’ve been to Barbados and gone thru the tour. Another great Barbados rum is Mount Gay! I prefer the Black Label version which is stored in Jack Daniels used blackened barrels. I think that name is awkward. Especially when I wear my shirt from there - people stare at me. I’m straight and I have many gay friends - that’s not the point. Both rums are hidden treasures!

5f391278d028e9832c0f869e87885e6b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Duvi1974 from Belgium with 1 rating

Sweet body with a sharp ending. Hints of vanilla. Great value for money! And a bottle with a cool esthetic to place in your bar!

Ab9ccb4fe61ac63aee3f93fd93cd1bc4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Tim from Canada with 56 ratings

Not an authentic Barbadian rum due to some heavy dosage post distillation. However, pop this for the non rum snob and they’ll beg for more

C05755fe1ed7745113179491d185efe1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Jaybird from United States with 47 ratings

A very good rum for the price. As a sipper it's a bit hot for my palate. Sweet upfront with vanilla and sugar but it dries out in the finish and is not too sweet by any means. Not as complex as I'd have imagined. I think this would be fine as a mixer. At less then a $20 bill it's a good rum and could be served over ice with a twist of lime as well. A really good all purpose rum!

Revised May 2019 - I've been using this a lot lately as one of my rums to blend in tiki cocktails and other mixed drinks. I'm raising my rating on this to a 7 from my initial 6 as this rum is excellent when blending with other rums and for use in a wide variety of cocktails. Solid product with not too much dosage added. A fine mixing rum that has many uses!

A64352a180cf413830fc9d294def7d1b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Bamboleo from Germany with 15 ratings

fruity and pretty sweet rum. makes a nice pina colada

316ffe76d483532cbc34ffd949a7c2bd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Joe from United States with 37 ratings

You know when the plain looking librarian takes off her glasses and you say wow? And she’s a cheap date to boot! Lucky lad.

D2e2cda246db0f0c222c194351bc47b3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Florianhagemann from Peru with 81 ratings

Se podría decir que es el hermano menor del 20th. Pero en cierto sentido es mas sincero que el hermano mayor. Me gustó mucho el impulso alcohólico, me gustó también que no sea tan dulce como el hermano mayor y me gustó mucho el sabor frutado.

036476941928914428e4cdba9ef66b3d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by GroumpH from France with 32 ratings

Sans être aussi exceptionnel que le 20eme anniversaire, rhum agréable à prix correct.

554d05a611a2a60eb31346344cb7d170.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by EmfiniGee from United States with 21 ratings

If you’re looking to get into age statement rums, this is a great start! Plantation 5yr is a good balanced semi dry rum good for drinking neat, on the rocks or in your choice of cocktail.