Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum

Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Caribbean | Aged

Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum is distilled from molasses and aged 5 years in bourbon casks before being transported to France for further 'finishing' in Cognac casks.

Plantation rum is owned by the French company Cognac Ferrand, which was founded in 1989 and produces wine, gin, and other spirits to sell in over 40 countries. The Plantation range includes 7 vintages from different Caribbean countries and 3 blends of multiple regions.

7.2/10 (379 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
5
15
52
152
125
20
7

Rate Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


379 Plantation Barbados 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This rum is great for shots as it is very light, mild,sweet, with obvious hints of vanilla. This rum gave me a slight hangover so it must have artificial chemicals/additives in it to enhance flavor.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Jeff from United States with 1 rating

Full disclosure, I'm new to rum.. But from what I've experienced thus far, a fantastic rum for the price. It's exceptionally smooth and surprisingly complex. Sweet up front, with a warm finish. Not overly sweet (which I dislike).
I give it an 8.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 127 ratings

Pri ochutnávanie tohto rumu som asi urobil chybu,že som ho porovnával s 20th a ten je ozaj skvelý. Ani tu sa nejedná o zlý rum a dostanete ho za podstatne nižšiu cenu,no necakaje takú explóziu chutí ako pri 20th. Slušný priemer. Hodnotím medzi 5 a 6.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Swisslet from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

This is my go-to rum for a quick snifter, neat with no ice. Nothing outrageously special, perhaps, but pleasant to drink and fairly cheap. It’s a good sipping rum. Damning with faint praise, perhaps, but it’s a good, every day kind of a rum.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by BaCoNCaKeS from Denmark with 4 ratings

You can't go Wrong with this one. If you are just getting in to rum i would say Barbados is Where I started. For a beginner this is a great rum both neat or in cocktails. When that is said, i believe this has a spot on any rum Shelf. Allthough og you have been drinking rum a lang time, this might lack in depth. Therefor, i World recommend it to all, hence the 7.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by majkel from Slovakia with 9 ratings

Way too aggressive. Maybe in drinks, but as a sipping rum its a no.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by hasbok from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

This was my introduction to Plantation Rum and I was pleasantly surprised! Very smooth with the expected vanilla notes, with the influence of the cognac barrels coming through in the finish. Complex enough to sip and enjoy without ice.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Aiden from United States with 11 ratings

Plantation 5 year is in every way the budget version of the Plantation 20th anniversary (which is one of my favorite rums) . Same balanced flavor profile with sweetness, a bit of alcohol and fruity taste, all the while not being overwhelmingly skewed toward any of them. Surprisingly good for sipping considering the price range. It's very well priced and a personal favorite of mine when looking to save some money or buying as a gift for friends.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Johnny from Belgium with 10 ratings

It reminds me of the Barbados 20 year old, but it isn't as full as that one. It doesn't stick to the mouth as long... But then again, I didn't pay half as much either, so it's balanced after all.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by DjaiBi from Germany with 5 ratings

Fit me the best Rum with a affortable price you can enjoy in Parties. It's flavour ist very rich yet not too sweet nor spicy. It ist very smooth to drink.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by TY from Austria with 56 ratings

Rund, weich, leicht wärmend alkoholisch, moderate Süße mit leichter Bitternote.