Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum
Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum

Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Caribbean | Aged

Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum is distilled from molasses and aged 5 years in bourbon casks before being transported to France for further 'finishing' in Cognac casks.

Plantation rum is owned by the French company Cognac Ferrand, which was founded in 1989 and produces wine, gin, and other spirits to sell in over 40 countries. The Plantation range includes 7 vintages from different Caribbean countries and 3 blends of multiple regions.

7.2/10 (354 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
5
15
47
140
118
20
6

Rate Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


354 Plantation Barbados 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

704f32d9809dc0e8df834f111e2b6a9d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

This rum is darn good. For price you can't beat it. I prefer to sip Zacapa Solera, Diplomatico Reserva Exclusive and Rumson's Grand Reserve, but anytime I am looking for something good and at a value this is it. I recommend this and Rumson's Grand Reserve rum more than any other rum's out there. Plantation for great taste and value and Rumson's Grand Reserve as just the best sipper I have had.

315c45f8dd5e7131cf9e869c0202035f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by Jason Berman from United States with 44 ratings

You can’t beat the price for the quality of this rum. It’s cheap enough to not feel bad about mixing but good enough to sip on its own. I also appreciate it can be bought in large format.

2944eed784426986a62e04a5a3b02248.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by Tomog107 from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

Nice flavours of nuts, caramel and milk chocolate. The cognac finishing definitely gives it something different, perfect rum for mixing.

0789ecc6522b284cdd10688bab939c85.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by Drewbacca from United States with 12 ratings

I think this was the second bottle of rum I ever purchased and it was a little underwhelming. Alright if you're on a budget. A 7 year of this would be much better.

930906d9c2d0c4cd57886b879bd99f71.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 44 ratings

This is what I would call an average rum. There is nothing wrong with it, its much better than your run of the mill cheap rums but it won’t knock your socks off. Great for mixing

A164b169e2ce5a4f2faeaf91df06dadd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by roberto.azores from Portugal with 46 ratings

For me, it's very similar to Havana Club 7.
Not a sweet rum. Good flavor, but simple.
I prefer Diplomatico Mantuano.

It's a long way from Plantation XO 20th.

9c6e3be63c8b8aae4cc4b7aab42af2ee.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Ifitsbrokenfixit from United States with 12 ratings

Seriously! I added this to my wishlist because of all the reviews and WOW you guys did not disappoint. This is the first rum that I can say I can drink neat or on the rocks. Let it sit for a few minutes and once the vapors disperse, MY GOD, it is absolutely delicious! I can taste the caramel and Vanilla and all the deliciousness! I added a splash of coke (Literally less than .5 oz) and HOLY MAMA it took it to a ridiculous new level. Hands down my FAVORITE rum. I can not wait to try their XO. Thanks everyone for the suggestion, I love you guys!

228de2ce22c4eaf4ad7e155836376c2b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Paul from Australia with 105 ratings

Beautiful and will buy again plus i will sample many others from this company, buy it n enjoy say no more

Ec6b1f7bf2f6ad89552d4ee43d0e75ee.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Codogg81 from United States with 10 ratings

This rum has some good flavor. It is light with tastes of oak, dried fruits, butter. A solid mixer for sure. I have drank it neat and its a bit harsh. Especially after doing a side by side with kirk and sweeny 12y. Good stuff.

B575695ed7cca3e88edb14c5f120b38f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Miroslav from Slovakia with 32 ratings

Hladší a chutnejší brat GR, ale len o trošku. Ale predsa.

24662ff0aaafd8851bce8e9e12c3b987.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by SKB97 from Denmark with 9 ratings

When I got this bottle I expected it to be barely drinkable on it's own, but it is surpricingly good! It's not a very complex rum, but it still deliver some nice flavours. This is the rum where my rum-adventure started, and I recomend this as a possible beginner rum. For me it's not to sweet or to dry, it hits perfectly in between.