Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum

Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum is distilled from molasses and aged 5 years in bourbon casks before being transported to France for further 'finishing' in Cognac casks.

Plantation rum is owned by the French company Cognac Ferrand, which was founded in 1989 and produces wine, gin, and other spirits to sell in over 40 countries. The Plantation range includes 7 vintages from different Caribbean countries and 3 blends of multiple regions.

Rate Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


343 Plantation Barbados 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

This rum is darn good. For price you can't beat it. I prefer to sip Zacapa Solera, Diplomatico Reserva Exclusive and Rumson's Grand Reserve, but anytime I am looking for something good and at a value this is it. I recommend this and Rumson's Grand Reserve rum more than any other rum's out there. Plantation for great taste and value and Rumson's Grand Reserve as just the best sipper I have had.

Posted over 4 years ago by Dave from Belgium with 35 ratings

Top zeker voor de prijs puur of met cola even lekker

Posted over 4 years ago by Chevalivier from Canada with 15 ratings

This being Plantation workhorse, it is quite representative of the house style.
Tropical aromas on the nose: banana, mango, coconut and some light baking spices.
Medium body, the mouth as a bit more texture than most golden rums = probably the result of the classic bajan wayof mixing copper pot and column stills distillates.
Finish is a bit short but with some delicious orange marmalade notes.
In my local this is pretty much the same price as El Dorado 12 and Appleton Estate Extra/ 12yo, all three of them being excellent choices, I feel the Plantation is the most versatile one. Could easily be sipped straight or on the rocks, but lots of tropical flavours that carry on in a premium cocktail and not to much wood.
This Holiday season I went through a bottle making some buttered rum and the result was fantastic.

Posted over 4 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Of course there are better rums out the there but at the price point offered it is a tasty rum as a mixer but surprisingly good also as a sipper.

Posted over 4 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 77 ratings

Another good Plantation rum and at only 30 bones, a great value.
It's good but not great; a little too buttery for my liking.

Posted over 4 years ago by Markku from Finland with 12 ratings

Use of cognac barrel in finishing this rum makes this little different. Very easy to enjoy and taste is mature enough to sip this neat. I like this easy going rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by craig72 from Canada with 42 ratings

A rum that has a lighter amber rum mouthfeel than an aged dark rum, this complements any citrus juice like orange or pineapple ( or even 5 Alive ) especially if you add in some 7-Up or Sprite and ice - when mixed right, it's smoothness is just heavenly. A little orange zest in its flavors as well as a little caramel/butterscotch sweetness. Good summertime rum, when you're not up for anything too heavy.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nils from Switzerland with 13 ratings

Very nice sipper for that price.
This rum is sweet and very tasty, recommended for beginners –like myself.

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Bon rapport qualité prix. Il en bas plusieur pour le prix. Au goût un peu de vanille et caramel, un peu sucré. La Barbade est un endroit que j aime beaucoup leurs rhums.

Posted over 4 years ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 157 ratings

Magnifique rhum pour 25 euros (chez nicolas).ce rhum sucre vanille avec des notes de fleur d oranger legeres.Vif et equilibre il manque juste un peu de longueur et de complexite .mais il est proche de son grand frere plantation xo 20 eme anniversaire sui vaut 50 euros .A avoir absolument .c celui que je bois le plus facilement (prix /qualite presque au top).note 7.8.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The liquid is a darker amber. Outstanding aroma in the bottle and sweet flavor with buttery vanilla-butterscotch taste that fades temporarily when the burn hits. Fairly strong burn but fades quickly leaving a good lingering taste. Arguably the best rum for the price. Works as a smooth sipping rum as well as a mixer.

I am rapidly becoming a big fan of the line of Plantation rums.

Posted over 4 years ago by Dan from Canada with 17 ratings

Nice, very good value/quality ratio. A bit sweet and tropical. I use it for mixing but could be drink straight.

Posted over 4 years ago by Thomas Andersson from Sweden with 12 ratings

God.

Posted over 4 years ago by Totte from Sweden with 27 ratings

Här kan man inte klaga på att det saknas sötma, kola och vanilj men oj så sött, nästan kladdig. Mycket lättdrucken, vilket blir ett problem efter ett tag har jag märkt.

Posted over 4 years ago by chokdeeseb from France with 12 ratings

Bon pour les amateurs de rhums sucrés et parfumés

Posted over 4 years ago by jego from France with 26 ratings

Un bon rapport qualité/prix pour les amateurs de rhum à tendance sucré...

Posted over 4 years ago by Martino from Belgium with 61 ratings

J'ai trouvé ce rhum en cherchant un Malteco...
Je ne suis pas déçu de l'avoir trouvé ! ;)
(Excellent rapport qualité prix)

Posted over 4 years ago by Brion from United States with 26 ratings

Plantation rums are quickly becoming my favorites. Clean tropical flavor with hint of banana. Not as smooth as Plantation Panama and has more alcohol bite, but very good. Fairly sweet, but I like that. If you don't like sweet, you should be a bourbon drinker.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andi from Germany with 70 ratings

Plantation ist ein guter Rum der hervorragend in Mixgetränke passt. Werde ihn mir auch bald wieder kaufen.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ghandimaster from CZ with 29 ratings

It is wonderfull and very unique sweet rum. Full of tropical fruits like banan and mango. Great value for the price and good for beginners too.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Per Rosenhave from Denmark with 173 ratings

Hedder min rom. Kan ikke finde den herinde, så har taget den som kommer tættest på.

Glæder mig til at smage på den og sammenligne den med min Plantation XO 20 års, blot for at "se" forskellen.

Posted almost 5 years ago by cK from Canada with 60 ratings

For the price point (about $30 CAD) I was not expecting a very sippable rum, but that's what I got.

Posted almost 5 years ago by snowlock from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

It´s a good sipping rum for me. Nice aroma and sweetness.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ben from Canada with 58 ratings

I love this one..especially after a hard day of work. Sweet from nose to finish.

Posted almost 5 years ago by HammerHead from Netherlands with 22 ratings

A step up from the Plantation Grande Reserva, also from Barbados. Still pretty sweet, but more character both in nose, taste as well as the aftertaste. I like the Barbados style rum in general.