Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum

Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum is distilled from molasses and aged 5 years in bourbon casks before being transported to France for further 'finishing' in Cognac casks.

Plantation rum is owned by the French company Cognac Ferrand, which was founded in 1989 and produces wine, gin, and other spirits to sell in over 40 countries. The Plantation range includes 7 vintages from different Caribbean countries and 3 blends of multiple regions.

Rate Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


343 Plantation Barbados 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 1 year ago by Jaybird from United States with 47 ratings

A very good rum for the price. As a sipper it's a bit hot for my palate. Sweet upfront with vanilla and sugar but it dries out in the finish and is not too sweet by any means. Not as complex as I'd have imagined. I think this would be fine as a mixer. At less then a $20 bill it's a good rum and could be served over ice with a twist of lime as well. A really good all purpose rum!

Revised May 2019 - I've been using this a lot lately as one of my rums to blend in tiki cocktails and other mixed drinks. I'm raising my rating on this to a 7 from my initial 6 as this rum is excellent when blending with other rums and for use in a wide variety of cocktails. Solid product with not too much dosage added. A fine mixing rum that has many uses!

Posted almost 4 years ago by Koestel from France with 14 ratings

Un bon rhum, trés parfumé, bon goût de vanille, je le recommande.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This rum comes has a great presentation, with it's twine rope ladder packaging, and I had high expectations with its double aging (Barbados and France) process... The rum is a light golden amber color, with only a hint of sweetness and alcohol in its scent. It has a mild caramel - citrus flavour with a gentle burn. Less complex in colour and flavour than I expected, however it makes a great light refreshing Rum and Cola!

Posted almost 4 years ago by Melker from Sweden with 20 ratings

I got this rum for like 4 or 5 years ago, just wanted something nice and not too expensive to mix with ginger ale and lime but I had a sip before mixing and damn it was sublime. It was the first aged rum I've tried and I loved it from the first sip. Lots of arrack, toffee, caramel, vanilla. Medium+ sweet.
Back then it was below $30 here in sweden and now it's over $35 (yeah alcohol is expensive here). Still worth it of course even though I don't buy it anymore. It's still a solid nice rum to sip but now I've realized that there is so much more great rum out there.

Posted about 4 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 136 ratings

I always forget how much I like this rum, it's like an old friend that I forget how much I miss. Nose is butterscotch and vanilla, slightly fruity. Taste is medium spice, high sweetness, and same vanilla notes as nose continue. Finish is a lingering medium.

This really is a winning rum. Not overpriced or hugely aged, but really delivers a great experience. Highly recommended on your shelf.

Posted about 4 years ago by RumManDan from Canada with 32 ratings

He XO stuffs little bro... Good flavour - coconut, dried fruit and banana with a aesthetically pleasing bottle. Not amazing straight but, a quality mixer. Similar to Mount Gay Eclipse but, lighter.

Posted about 4 years ago by jim burnds from United States with 29 ratings

A very solid tasting rum. I find I can sip it neat, or on a few rocks. Trying to be consistent with my reviews, I just gaveCruzan a 7; this one gets 8 for a taste I like at about $23 per bottle.

Posted about 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

A little bit sweet. Excelent on the rocks. Nice finish, coconut and vanilla flavor. Good choice.

Posted about 4 years ago by Ryan from United States with 33 ratings

Picked it up a couple years ago and was happy with the results. Though not one of my top choices it is good stuff.

Posted about 4 years ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 92 ratings

Correct pour un plantation, mais il faut le mixer. Avec du perrier il est bon.

Posted about 4 years ago by Marek from Slovakia with 30 ratings

I like this rum - light in colour, light in taste.
Great for mixing with some coconut juice but it is complex enough to sip neat as well.

Tastewise - candied pineapple, coconut and definitely a touch of cognac. Semi sweet, more than Malteco, less than Diplomatico.

Very nice value for 20 euro.
I am starting to enjoy these younger Bajan rums.

Posted about 4 years ago by Car Birch from United States with 10 ratings

From a straight up sipping to cutting it with a bit of cola, this is a real quality rum. It's very diverse. Tasty flavoring of vanilla and spices but there isn't much bite. Real delicious finish too. Quality buy for the price! Should be good for all levels of rum drinkers.

Posted about 4 years ago by Jonatan Thomasson from Sweden with 10 ratings

This is the rum that led me in to the passion of rum tasting. I have had one in my cabinet since.
Wonderful round sweet taste with citrus and vanilla tones. Not as colorful as the xo 20th anniversary but a damn fine rum indeed.

Posted about 4 years ago by Emmanuel from Sweden with 11 ratings

After lots of recommendations I finally tried this rum.
It was good, even better a bit chilled.
Be carefull with ice though since it quickly dilutes this rum.

Posted about 4 years ago by Andreas Hedin from Sweden with 9 ratings

Det är en helt ok rom. Göööööööööööööööööööööööttttt

Posted about 4 years ago by Andre from Switzerland with 36 ratings

Ein guter Rum, in dieser Preisklasse hätte ich das so nicht erwartet. Kann man gut pur trinken, leichte schärfe, Kokos- und Fruchtaromen. Es lohnt sich auf jeden Fall disen Rum zu probieren, super Preis Leistungsverhältnis.

Posted about 4 years ago by Krater from Czech Republic with 24 ratings

Unconventional taste. Kind of similar character as El Dorado 12, but not so rich.

Posted about 4 years ago by Staffan from Sweden with 26 ratings

This rum is fairly cheap and fairly tasty, not up to pair with the much more expensive and elegant 20th Aniversary, but similar in taste. Not as rich and not as elegant, but definitely worth its price. Tones of bitter orange, coco, maybe a hint of banana. But to me it's enough with just a glass. I prefer to drink rums straight up and this might not be my favorite sipper...

Posted about 4 years ago by 3rdkidneykid from Canada with 3 ratings

Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Posted over 4 years ago by Peter from Estonia with 92 ratings

For some reason I'm not the biggest fan of these Plantation Rums. Maybe the ones i have tasted have not been the right ones. Have to keep looking

Posted over 4 years ago by ThisLilyPetal from Canada with 11 ratings

This rum is suprisingly smooth for the price point. I can actually sip this on ice. A bit too much fruit flavours for my palate, though. Until I find a chocolate-coffee-toffee forward smooth rum at the same price point, this will probably be my go-to all-round rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by 2.ooohhh from United States with 42 ratings

I use this in many tiki drinks calling for a Barbados rum, it fills that role perfectly. while it is sip-able if you really want a Barbados rum to drink straight up spend a little more and take home the 20th anniversary if you have the opportunity.

Posted over 4 years ago by Chris from Belgium with 100 ratings

Received as a gift from a friend , this 5y was the first Plantation I had the opportunity to taste and I was not deceived. Very sweet , maybe a little bit too thin but this rum is quite young. The aftertaste is short but pleasant. This rum is good value for mone and I'm pretty sure I'll buy a new one one day.

Posted over 4 years ago by trululu from France with 3 ratings

In my opinion, this is one of the best rum you can buy for less than 30€ (at least, here in France!)
Very sweet, with a nice vanilla taste.
Drink it straight, no ice. You won't regret your purchase.

Posted over 4 years ago by Dennis from United States with 4 ratings

A bit thin, but other than that a great choice. Sweet and very smooth for being so young. I think it does just fine as a sipper!