Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum

Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum is distilled from molasses and aged 5 years in bourbon casks before being transported to France for further 'finishing' in Cognac casks.

Plantation rum is owned by the French company Cognac Ferrand, which was founded in 1989 and produces wine, gin, and other spirits to sell in over 40 countries. The Plantation range includes 7 vintages from different Caribbean countries and 3 blends of multiple regions.

Rate Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


353 Plantation Barbados 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

704f32d9809dc0e8df834f111e2b6a9d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

This rum is darn good. For price you can't beat it. I prefer to sip Zacapa Solera, Diplomatico Reserva Exclusive and Rumson's Grand Reserve, but anytime I am looking for something good and at a value this is it. I recommend this and Rumson's Grand Reserve rum more than any other rum's out there. Plantation for great taste and value and Rumson's Grand Reserve as just the best sipper I have had.

1aadfbefb6a6d3063d129ca8ad34cdfc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Aiden from United States with 11 ratings

Plantation 5 year is in every way the budget version of the Plantation 20th anniversary (which is one of my favorite rums) . Same balanced flavor profile with sweetness, a bit of alcohol and fruity taste, all the while not being overwhelmingly skewed toward any of them. Surprisingly good for sipping considering the price range. It's very well priced and a personal favorite of mine when looking to save some money or buying as a gift for friends.

4eee588e2e669fe83adefd40dd119241.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Johnny from Belgium with 10 ratings

It reminds me of the Barbados 20 year old, but it isn't as full as that one. It doesn't stick to the mouth as long... But then again, I didn't pay half as much either, so it's balanced after all.

D1d7685bb1b727d6d3921536d93510eb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by DjaiBi from Germany with 5 ratings

Fit me the best Rum with a affortable price you can enjoy in Parties. It's flavour ist very rich yet not too sweet nor spicy. It ist very smooth to drink.

3b81bae8d952361103c86b4f250e09ea.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by TY from Austria with 39 ratings

Rund, weich, leicht wärmend alkoholisch, moderate Süße mit leichter Bitternote.

96766ac33836927e82af502358b70b8e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by rkralik89 from Austria with 21 ratings

Etwas zu viel Schärfe, aber mit Geschmack. Um den Preis OK, aber könnte mehr sein...

37aac8ab2ed40b3c574a0d675de17850.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Djgross144 from United States with 32 ratings

Love this with orange and pineapple juice. Very smooth.

Fa969755bbbd9b5a839d01b148e47644.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Don from Canada with 136 ratings

Clear bright Amber in colour. A light nose with hints of toasted sugars. A perfectly balanced flavour with a bit of sweetness, age and vanilla. Very smooth neat and better without ice. At $45 Can, i expected a mixer but got much more. I bet it is an excellent mixer too.

5cb0a56e4fe60be635a34b38c10c88a6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by m keating from United States with 31 ratings

Can't say you don't get what you pay for. but unless mixed it lacks dimension. Sweet, smooth ish. Not too pricey.

A9a43906ed6ebbd4757a925ee816e70c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by Vicke from Sweden with 62 ratings

This is the type of rum that works as a sipper as well as for drinks. Not a top rum but a very good allrounder. Nice taste of vanilla but a little bit too much taste of alcohol.

15c7f4c5caf9da98976ef316da0ae3ad.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by Zane from Norway with 48 ratings

It’s like single cane has met danish navy rum. Just the perfect sweet and perfect bitty.