Posting your rating...
Plantation 3 Stars Artisanal rum

Plantation 3 Stars Artisanal

Caribbean | Light

7.1/10
271 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
2
16
32
105
80
29
3

Rate Plantation 3 Stars Artisanal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

271 Plantation 3 Stars Artisanal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Aiden from United States with 14 ratings

Now this is a quality light rum. Its main virtue is its versatility. Goes well with anything that goes with rum, makes especially great daiquiris and unlike most light rums, it can also be sipped without being offensive or hard to drink. Like most of the Plantation line, it's well balanced. However, do consider its jack of all trades, master of none nature when buying, because aged rums are better for sipping (and Plantation's own 5-year isn't that much more expensive than the 3 Star), and most light rums are almost as good for mixing and cost less.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by donmichelangelo from Germany with 25 ratings

This is actually a dark rum, but cold filtered to compete in the segment of white rums.

The make up of the bottle is amazing and emphasises it's origin. Regarding the taste:
Actually, if you compare this rum with other white rums, you could sip this rum, sounds crazy but it isn't. The rum is pretty smooth with some lights of sweetness.

Comes out great generally in cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 97 ratings

I was never a white rum fan, but this one was a pleasant surprise. I've been a big fan of Plantation's XO 20th Anniversary, so I expected their white to be good, and it didn't disappoint. With eyes closed, you would think it's a dark aged rum - it's quite smooth. Just a touch of sweetness with a very nice finish. It's good enough to drink straight.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This rum surprised me from many stand points. I was impressed by the packaging, the blending, price point, nose, and most importantly the taste. This rum goes down smoothly but has a little bite to it to remind you its rum at least in a double shot. This rum is going on the list as one of my favorites at an incredible price. I've only had it straight up as this point but I think that is all I need. Why water down this great rum? I could sip this straight anytime.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

From what I have read this rum is a blend of unaged rum from Barbados and Jamaica, three year old rum from Trinidad. and a twelve year old rum from Jamaica all of which is carbon filtered leaving a clear rum. Apparently the carbon filtering removes much of the oak tones from the aged rums in the blend. This leaves a rather smooth yet somewhat sweet white rum. The rum is rated at 41.2% ABV or 82.4 proof which is just a tad stronger than the typical 80 proof rum. The aroma in the glass and in the bottle is rather of simple alcohol with subtle hints of things I really cannot identify (I'm not all that good at figuring out smells) but the flavor is quite delightful. I detect molasses and vanilla in the flavor with a bit of a burn that fades into a sweet caramel aftertaste. Another winner from C. Ferrand. This could be used as a sipping rum if you're in a bind but it is better suited as a mixer. And at under $25 (U.S.) a bottle it is a very, very good bargain.

Small logo   white trans

Posted 4 months ago by Safronus from Czech Republic with 49 ratings

I am not use to white rums (beside the cocktails), I love dark ones, but this is real surprise and I have to say, it is drinkable without including it as part of cocktail !! :) It is not for sipping, but as a shot (quite tough and strong alcoholic), why not. The rating could be 7.5 -> for me the best white rum I have drunk.

Sweetness -> 3.5/10
Strength -> 7/10

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Scott T from United States with 122 ratings

Call me the sugar police if you want but I know how to make an old-fashioned, I don't need a producer to do it for me - especially if they are going to call something "artisanal" and write a book on the label about how skillfully it is made blah blah blah. If it's so great why does it need sugar added?

This rum tastes decent enough, with good complexity and flavor - but I tried an experiment. I took the Real McCoy 3 yr - which is rated much lower and got some very bad reviews - added a little sugar, tried it (blind) side by side with this - and guess what? More or less indistinguishable. I did the same experiment with Doorly's 5 yr and Plantation Barbados 5 yr a while back with the same results.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 414 ratings

Glasklar mit Gold Reflektionen im Glas.
Im der Nase angenehm fruchtig und blumig, ein wenig Holz im Hintergrund.
Im Gaumen erstaunlich mehrschichtig, Funk aus Jamaica, Klarheit aus Barbados und Gewicht aus Trinidad. Frische reife weisse Früchte mit Vanille und ein wenig Karamell und Lakritze.
Im Abgang etwas süsses Karamell.
Ein super Mixer aber auch für den Genuss pur. Für eine Party ohne Kopfschmerzen und alle Geniesser.
7+

Crystal clear with gold reflections in the glass.
In the nose pleasantly fruity and floral, a little wood in the background.
Amazing multi-layered on the palate, funky from Jamaica, clarity from Barbados and weight from Trinidad. Fresh ripe white fruit with vanilla and a little caramel and licorice.
In the finish a little sweet caramel.
A great mixer but also for pure enjoyment. For a party without a headache and all gourmets. 7+

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Guy Jones from United States with 2 ratings

I've been attempting to support independent spirits producers in my spirits purchases, attempting to avoid buying brands owned by any of the major liquor conglomerates. This isn't easy to do, by any means. I was happy when I learned that Cognac Ferrand, the respected cognac producer (and, maker of Citadelle gin) produced the excellent Plantation line of rums.

Plantation three-star rum is a white rum blend of rums from Barbados, Jamaica and Trinidad, following Ferrand's tradition of aging the rums on their islands of origin, and then sending the rum to France for additional aging at Chateau de Bonbonnet. This rum is bottled at 82.4 proof. This rum evinces a deliciously fragrant nose with hints of vanilla and spice. The taste is smooth, with the rum's molasses origins clearly coming through on the palate. Plantation three-star is superb in cocktails, smooth enough to be a great mixer, but, with an assertiveness and depth of flavor that takes it beyond standard white rum offerings (e.g., Bacardi).

If you read the original press release for the rum's introduction back in 2012, Cognac Ferrand proprietor Alexandre Gabriel basically concedes that the white rum category is a crowded space dominated by huge corporations, so, this offering didn't make sense for a tiny house such as his, from a purely fiscal standpoint. But, because he believed that he and his team could produce a superior product, he chose to do it. That's the kind of entrepreneurial spirit that anyone can drink to, and, also, gumption and artistic daring that I'm happy to support.

At a price of roughly $18.99 per bottle, Plantation three-star is a great rum and a great value, as well.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by John Papas from United States with 16 ratings

I can get this locally for $20 a ltr. and always have a bottle on hand. When people ask me what's a good light rum this is my recommendation.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 472 ratings

This is a good light rum. It doesn't really taste like a classic light rum; other reviewers have said it's a filtered gold rum. Smells and tastes of oak, sugarcane, nuts, vanilla, tobacco, and subtle spice.

Gold rums are my least favorite style, but this is nice, either for a gold, or a light rum.