Posting your rating...
Plantation 3 Stars Artisanal rum

Rate Plantation 3 Stars Artisanal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


207 Plantation 3 Stars Artisanal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 2 months ago by lonefalcon from United States with 18 ratings

Very smooth for what looks like a white rum (Others state it is a filtered rum). A pleasant sweet or floral aroma after uncorking, and a slightly sweet and smooth body when sipping. Slightly over 80 proof but plenty of other rums more expensive than this finish with a toxic burn - but not plantation 3 star. Great to mix with, but can be had on its own as well. Bravo.

Posted about 7 years ago by donmichelangelo from Germany with 25 ratings

This is actually a dark rum, but cold filtered to compete in the segment of white rums.

The make up of the bottle is amazing and emphasises it's origin. Regarding the taste:
Actually, if you compare this rum with other white rums, you could sip this rum, sounds crazy but it isn't. The rum is pretty smooth with some lights of sweetness.

Comes out great generally in cocktails.

Posted almost 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This rum surprised me from many stand points. I was impressed by the packaging, the blending, price point, nose, and most importantly the taste. This rum goes down smoothly but has a little bite to it to remind you its rum at least in a double shot. This rum is going on the list as one of my favorites at an incredible price. I've only had it straight up as this point but I think that is all I need. Why water down this great rum? I could sip this straight anytime.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

From what I have read this rum is a blend of unaged rum from Barbados and Jamaica, three year old rum from Trinidad. and a twelve year old rum from Jamaica all of which is carbon filtered leaving a clear rum. Apparently the carbon filtering removes much of the oak tones from the aged rums in the blend. This leaves a rather smooth yet somewhat sweet white rum. The rum is rated at 41.2% ABV or 82.4 proof which is just a tad stronger than the typical 80 proof rum. The aroma in the glass and in the bottle is rather of simple alcohol with subtle hints of things I really cannot identify (I'm not all that good at figuring out smells) but the flavor is quite delightful. I detect molasses and vanilla in the flavor with a bit of a burn that fades into a sweet caramel aftertaste. Another winner from C. Ferrand. This could be used as a sipping rum if you're in a bind but it is better suited as a mixer. And at under $25 (U.S.) a bottle it is a very, very good bargain.

Posted over 4 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

I was never a white rum fan, but this one was a pleasant surprise. I've been a big fan of Plantation's XO 20th Anniversary, so I expected their white to be good, and it didn't disappoint. With eyes closed, you would think it's a dark aged rum - it's quite smooth. Just a touch of sweetness with a very nice finish. It's good enough to drink straight.

Posted 9 months ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Call me the sugar police if you want but I know how to make an old-fashioned, I don't need a producer to do it for me - especially if they are going to call something "artisanal" and write a book on the label about how skillfully it is made blah blah blah. If it's so great why does it need sugar added?

This rum tastes decent enough, with good complexity and flavor - but I tried an experiment. I took the Real McCoy 3 yr - which is rated much lower and got some very bad reviews - added a little sugar, tried it (blind) side by side with this - and guess what? More or less indistinguishable. I did the same experiment with Doorly's 5 yr and Plantation Barbados 5 yr a while back with the same results.

Posted over 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 341 ratings

Glasklar mit Gold Reflektionen im Glas.
Im der Nase angenehm fruchtig und blumig, ein wenig Holz im Hintergrund.
Im Gaumen erstaunlich mehrschichtig, Funk aus Jamaica, Klarheit aus Barbados und Gewicht aus Trinidad. Frische reife weisse Früchte mit Vanille und ein wenig Karamell und Lakritze.
Im Abgang etwas süsses Karamell.
Ein super Mixer aber auch für den Genuss pur. Für eine Party ohne Kopfschmerzen und alle Geniesser.
7+

Crystal clear with gold reflections in the glass.
In the nose pleasantly fruity and floral, a little wood in the background.
Amazing multi-layered on the palate, funky from Jamaica, clarity from Barbados and weight from Trinidad. Fresh ripe white fruit with vanilla and a little caramel and licorice.
In the finish a little sweet caramel.
A great mixer but also for pure enjoyment. For a party without a headache and all gourmets. 7+

Posted over 3 years ago by Guy Jones from United States with 2 ratings

I've been attempting to support independent spirits producers in my spirits purchases, attempting to avoid buying brands owned by any of the major liquor conglomerates. This isn't easy to do, by any means. I was happy when I learned that Cognac Ferrand, the respected cognac producer (and, maker of Citadelle gin) produced the excellent Plantation line of rums.

Plantation three-star rum is a white rum blend of rums from Barbados, Jamaica and Trinidad, following Ferrand's tradition of aging the rums on their islands of origin, and then sending the rum to France for additional aging at Chateau de Bonbonnet. This rum is bottled at 82.4 proof. This rum evinces a deliciously fragrant nose with hints of vanilla and spice. The taste is smooth, with the rum's molasses origins clearly coming through on the palate. Plantation three-star is superb in cocktails, smooth enough to be a great mixer, but, with an assertiveness and depth of flavor that takes it beyond standard white rum offerings (e.g., Bacardi).

If you read the original press release for the rum's introduction back in 2012, Cognac Ferrand proprietor Alexandre Gabriel basically concedes that the white rum category is a crowded space dominated by huge corporations, so, this offering didn't make sense for a tiny house such as his, from a purely fiscal standpoint. But, because he believed that he and his team could produce a superior product, he chose to do it. That's the kind of entrepreneurial spirit that anyone can drink to, and, also, gumption and artistic daring that I'm happy to support.

At a price of roughly $18.99 per bottle, Plantation three-star is a great rum and a great value, as well.

Posted about 6 years ago by John Papas from United States with 16 ratings

I can get this locally for $20 a ltr. and always have a bottle on hand. When people ask me what's a good light rum this is my recommendation.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This is a good light rum. It doesn't really taste like a classic light rum; other reviewers have said it's a filtered gold rum. Smells and tastes of oak, sugarcane, nuts, vanilla, tobacco, and subtle spice.

Gold rums are my least favorite style, but this is nice, either for a gold, or a light rum.

Posted almost 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

There's a reason this rum stands above all others in its category. Plantation knows what they're doing here, and they're indeed doing it well. A blend of young and aged rums, filtered to remove most—but not all—color, leaving much of the original "character" intact. (In the bottle it's a very light straw color—not completely "white"). The end result is that this rum is far more interesting than most other "white" rums, and it's actually sippable!

There is only the faintest whiff of alcohol on the nose, accompanied by glimpses of flavors more commonly associated with aged rum. On the palate, the rum is sugary and delicious. A fan of dryer rums, I find this one not overly sweet, but it's a close call. Plantation has added minimal sugar (by their standards), though, as always, I don't think it needs it.

In color and flavor I might compare it to 10 Cane (Trinidad, 7-), though I don't currently have a bottle handy, and it costs nearly twice as much per oz. So the 3-Star is the clear winner there.

Of course, it's primary intended use is as a mixer. Here it performs admirably! Falling somewhere between a traditional "white" and "gold/dark" rum in flavor profile, one strapped for bar space could potentially use it as both. But more likely it will be used when "white" rum is called for. As such the results are delicious, though I can't help but think that I'm adding more body or sweetness than the recipe-maker originally intended. Hence, I would recommend stocking a bottle of this, as well as a lighter, dryer offering, such as Flor de Cana 4 Extra Seco (oh, yes, and W&N Overproof, because, seriously).

All in all, pretty solid. An 8 or a 9 against its peers. But it is rather sweet, and I still can't shake the thought that I'm somehow not honoring classic recipes by using it... maybe I'll get over that someday, and adjust my rating accordingly. It truly is a value white rum for people who actually taste what they mix with. We could use more of those!

7+!

Posted about 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Good suprise with this white Plantation rum. Floral notes with brown sugar, this rum is very sweet and alcohol is subtle. Sugar cane and sweet vanilla are coming on finish. Great one !

Posted about 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

Full of flavor and it mixes well with everything. The downside is the 12g/L added sugar.

Posted about 1 year ago by DoctorFong from United States with 9 ratings

Fantastic taste. Delicious. Smooth. Light in color but don’t let that fool you. This is no Bacardi silver. Robust flavor. Oftd but less flammable. My new favorite.

Posted about 1 year ago by AntonioNunez from United States with 10 ratings

Very grassy, exuberant, herbal rum that will give your cocktail an oily touch

Posted about 1 year ago by Hanreb1 from United States with 8 ratings

This rum is superb. It mixes fantastically and has a very balanced flavor. Makes excellent Cuba libre or dark and stormy. Well worth the price.

Posted about 1 year ago by jcapable from United States with 7 ratings

I really like this for Daiquiris and any rum cocktail that includes multiple rums to create unique flavor combos. It's damn tasty on its own too.

Posted over 1 year ago by Jpotocki from Hungary with 26 ratings

It is simply said for taste and price one of the great white rum mixers. It can do it all and nestles into any recipe calling for a white rum thanks to its diverse blend. It markedly improves any drink that you would make with any other run of the mill rum. Also just sipped this with an ice cube and it was delicious, almost like it has an alter-ego.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Captain Cannabis from United States with 5 ratings

Tastes wayyy too funky for me, if you smell it from far away or happen to get some splashed onto your hands it actually spells a little bit like poop or diarrhea water believe it not... super funky. also the cork cap they were using flaked off inside of the alcohol and its full of little bits of cork, probably wont be buying a bottle of this ever again. when i do drink this i either do shots or make mixed drinks.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

I really do taste the melding of "The Three Stars" - the fruity banana, the spiciness, the nuttiness, the touch of citrus... Its rather delicate, as most aged whites can be, but showcases its power and finesse quite well in daiquiris or even neat (give it some time to breath, and you will be rewarded).
I like it a lot. Expertly blended to make something unique, and delicious.

Posted at The Rum Bar KL over 2 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

Light funk/ hogo and peppery burn. Aroma of sweet corn and fruitiness of mango from the glass.

Slightly heavier in body for a white rum with a light funk, oily and grassy notes which is quite a surprise. Guava and tartness of sour mango towards complement the funky notes.

It finishes with a touch of burn from alcohol. Fruitiness of guava and banana lingering but it didn't last long.

Great for mixing or on its own.

Posted over 2 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

Another awesome plantation rum in my cabinet! So I`ve heard that this is a dark rum in a white disguise, it's been filtred to get a white colour. Thinks that's pretty neat because I don't think I would have bought it otherwise. White rum usually don't interest me but the plantation 3 stars certainly do! I think it's suppose to be a mixer rum but I drank it as a sipper. And what a treat it was! Looks awkward to have a white rum poured in your glass but your in for a surprise. This is a mix of three other rums from Jamaica, Barbados and Trinidad. The mix is done very well. The smell is a tone of sweet vanilla and coconuts. And taste is sweet and smooth with honey, dark chocolate and vanilla. The price is more than ok. In the same price range with the plantation original dark! Go and buy!

Posted about 3 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 41,2 %
Původ: Jamajka, Barbados, Trinidad / Francie
Aroma: Vodka, čistý líh, ale je tu i kořenitost a vanilka, trochu svěží větrovosti, hřebíček. Nic světoborného, ale ani nepříjemného. (76 b)
Chuť: V chuti je oproti vůni výrazně lepší. Bílá čokoláda, krémový dojem na jazyku, kořenitý a jemně nasládlý. (84 b)
Body: 80
Shrnutí: Ochutnávali jsme s kamarádem na dalším degustačním večeru v českolipském Baru/Kavárně Kocour. Hlavní jádro ochutnávky tvořily čtyři Plantationy, k tomu novinka od Diplomática - Mantuano, pak jsme zkusili El Ron Prohibido Habanero a na úplný závěr pak pouťovou atrakci RedRum. 3 Stars od Plantationu nezklamal, na bílý rum je v chuti zajímavý a dobře pitelný, ale z mého pohledu hodně doplácí na nevýraznou vůni.

Posted over 3 years ago by Chris from United States with 5 ratings

Ok so it's not a sipping rum cause it's white.... Or is it? When you hold this rum up to light you'll notice a very off clear color almost between a light and a white rum. The taste neat is fruitful, although strong, it is nowhere near that of any white I have come across, in fact it's better then a lot of "dark" rums when it comes to its ability to be sipped. Mixed is where it shines beautiful in mojitos and even better in coke. Right now this has been my go to for cocktails.

Posted about 4 years ago by Andre from Switzerland with 36 ratings

Für mich zum pur trinken nicht geeignet, die alkoholische Schärfe steht zu fest im Vordergrund. Mixgetränke mit diesem Rum sind o.k., aber ich bevorzuge dafür lieber andere Rumsorten.




#