Posting your rating...
Plantation 3 Stars Artisanal rum

Plantation 3 Stars Artisanal

Caribbean | Light

7.1/10
268 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
2
16
32
103
81
28
2

Rate Plantation 3 Stars Artisanal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

268 Plantation 3 Stars Artisanal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Dave from Japan with 5 ratings

An amazing full flavored rum, forget the color. Mixes very well, and tastes great on the rocks or neat. This is a must for my collection and I always have a bottle on hand.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 325 ratings

There's a reason this rum stands above all others in its category. Plantation knows what they're doing here, and they're indeed doing it well. A blend of young and aged rums, filtered to remove most—but not all—color, leaving much of the original "character" intact. (In the bottle it's a very light straw color—not completely "white"). The end result is that this rum is far more interesting than most other "white" rums, and it's actually sippable!

There is only the faintest whiff of alcohol on the nose, accompanied by glimpses of flavors more commonly associated with aged rum. On the palate, the rum is sugary and delicious. A fan of dryer rums, I find this one not overly sweet, but it's a close call. Plantation has added minimal sugar (by their standards), though, as always, I don't think it needs it.

In color and flavor I might compare it to 10 Cane (Trinidad, 7-), though I don't currently have a bottle handy, and it costs nearly twice as much per oz. So the 3-Star is the clear winner there.

Of course, it's primary intended use is as a mixer. Here it performs admirably! Falling somewhere between a traditional "white" and "gold/dark" rum in flavor profile, one strapped for bar space could potentially use it as both. But more likely it will be used when "white" rum is called for. As such the results are delicious, though I can't help but think that I'm adding more body or sweetness than the recipe-maker originally intended. Hence, I would recommend stocking a bottle of this, as well as a lighter, dryer offering, such as Flor de Cana 4 Extra Seco (oh, yes, and W&N Overproof, because, seriously).

All in all, pretty solid. An 8 or a 9 against its peers. But it is rather sweet, and I still can't shake the thought that I'm somehow not honoring classic recipes by using it... maybe I'll get over that someday, and adjust my rating accordingly. It truly is a value white rum for people who actually taste what they mix with. We could use more of those!

7+!

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Good suprise with this white Plantation rum. Floral notes with brown sugar, this rum is very sweet and alcohol is subtle. Sugar cane and sweet vanilla are coming on finish. Great one !

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

Full of flavor and it mixes well with everything. The downside is the 12g/L added sugar.

Small 9bc0c73d 0d6c 46c0 a6a6 e4d6ef43c27e

Posted 2 months ago by Corneliusl from Norway with 18 ratings

This is my go to light rum for tiki recipes, and also the first light rum I’ve liked sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Haberer from Austria with 31 ratings

i dont exactly know whats going on here but this stuff is the best white rum i've ever had. tastes great pure as well as a mixer. great stuff with a great price

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by svartkonst from Sweden with 11 ratings

It took a few sips to really get into it. I was skeptical at first as it felt sharp and fairly simple, but once it settled it was a mature rum that, as other have pointed out, have more in common with a gold rum or similar. All in all a nice lighter rum in line with other Plantation rums.

Small inigo

Posted 4 months ago by OdysseusUnbound from Canada with 27 ratings

I was pleasantly surprised by this rum. It's pretty versatile and has a bit (not a lot) of funk, presumably from the Jamaican components. On the nose and palate, I get vanilla, a touch of banana, some mango, and a touch of spice. It's bottled at a slightly higher than minimum proof, but there's no burn whatsoever.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by TheRealMojito from United States with 18 ratings

Of the white rums I’ve tried this is probably my favorite so far. Easy on the palate, and goes well with lime for daiquiris.

Small img 20210101 wa0019

Posted 4 months ago by Craiglee from Netherlands with 74 ratings

Was perhaps expecting more of this, because of it's rating. Actually prefer Havana club 3 years, which costs less and tastes better with coke.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Greengator25 from United States with 15 ratings

I’ve been reading all the reviews so I snatched up this rum at Total Wine, sorry ABC! It’s sweet with minimal burn, I bought it to mix but tried it neat and wow! It doesn’t have a great aroma but if you want to step up your well brand with something you could drink neat in a pinch without breaking the bank, try this rum! It’s sweet up front, mixes well with cola, lime, and/or any mixer I’ve tried so far.