Posting your rating...
Pink Pigeon Original rum

Pink Pigeon Original

Mauritius | Spiced

6.0/10
45 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
6
15
11
5
1
1

Rate Pink Pigeon Original

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

45 Pink Pigeon Original ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Diogenes the Rumantic from France with 37 ratings

Un rhum originalà sortir pour surpendre vos amis, armateurs de rhum comme néophytes. Un nez particulier avec un côté médicament. Un trop très claire. Un rhum aromatisé à la vanille avec donc un goût assez prononcé de...... vanille. Personnellement j'apprécie d'en boire un verre de temps en temps après un repas entre amis. Bouteille stylisée, ce qui n'enlève rien.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I had read a lot about this flavored rum...sort of a mixed back. Sounded like one I would like to try and finally found a bottle while in Jacksonville.

According to their website the rum is infused with Bourbon vanilla, citrus, and orchid petals.

Orchid petals?

Now that's a first.

The rum itself is a light straw color with an interesting vanilla extract type aroma. The flavor is heavy on the vanilla which I happen to like. It does have some sweetness that may indicate some sugaring. I cannot find a definitive answer to that. I do taste the vanilla...can't miss it...and there seems to be a citrus undertone but I have no idea of how orchid petals taste so if it's there I don't detect it. It comes in at a typical 80 proof (40% ABV) but does not have a burn. Instead it has a slow warmth that seems to take forever to fade leaving a very vanilla finish. This would make for a good sipping rum but if you really like vanilla flavoring. If not, use this in mixed drinks where I think it has its greatest strengths. This rum, with its emphasis on vanilla, might be an excellent choice for rum ball and for baking.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Martin Jelen from Czech Republic with 77 ratings

Some young lady approaches a bar. "Wow what is that? I wanna try that! Hmm vanilla! Thats soooooo good, I wanna drink this!" Shitty rum in an attractive bottle, thats all.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Robert Richards from United Kingdom with 1 rating

We spent an afternoon trying different rums and this was our favourite. It felt thick, had slight vanilla notes, was quite mellow and easy to drink

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by mr.wazzotic from Czech Republic with 38 ratings

Extraordinary rum - lighter colour, full fruity and fresh smell and nice warming and complex taste with fruit and spices. Nice!

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Goutlar2013 from France with 24 ratings

Un rhum divertissant : un nez très particulier mais une couleur en bouche très intéressante.
Je partais avec une certaine réticence : il parait que c est le rhum "tendance" servi en boite de nuit (parisienne).
Passé la bouteille au design superbe, le nez m a surpris (pas forcement en mal même si certains de mes amis m ont dit qu il sentait le médoc).
En bouche et bien c est vraiment pas désagréable !
C est sûr, ça tient plus de la chimie que de la tradition (vanille, caramel, agrume et même bois!) mais il faut avouer que ça passe bien quand même!
A conseiller donc pour son originalité et pour les "spécialistes" voulant être déroutés.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

The rim quality was average at best. The whole marketing is a gimmick really. Over priced average stuff.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by PMascaro from United States with 2 ratings

Uniquely different. Taste, smoothness, outstanding. One for your cabinet

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by RummyDog from Canada with 27 ratings

Tonight's Rum: Pink Pigeon from Mauritius. Re-sampling. There's a lot of orange and vanilla in the bouquet of this nice Rum. You might even detect a bit of clove or nutmeg. This one comes off as a spiced Rum. The first taste is of vanilla and hint of chocolate, the orange doesn't continue. In the mouth, a bit of a swirl is mild, not to sharp. On the throat it's sweet with a bit of earthiness, still strong with vanilla. The finish has a slight bitterness, but now the orange and other citrus notes appear. It's a light Rum overall well suited for being served neat. 8 out of 10.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Cjbspender from Germany with 35 ratings

It look like a normal rum but is actually very strong in vanilla. Good to mix or as liqueur alternative.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

It's way too sweet but good as girls drink. Gingerbread.