Posting your rating...
Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva rum

Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva

Venezuela | Aged

7.2/10 (367 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
8
16
47
136
116
35
7

Rate Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


367 Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 18 hours ago by Simson from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

Approx. 2 years ago, when I had tasted it for the first time at a joint tasting event, I had not quite liked it, so I wanted to see if there was any improvement since that time.

This is 40% ABV rum from Venezuela (4-6 years old), which was stored in barrels of American whiskey and bourbon. It is delivered in a nice chubby bottle with real cork, which is not standard at this price level. The package is either in a leather bag (more often) or in a paper box.

Color: Dark mahogany. Due to its age the rum had to be definitely colored.

Aroma: The actual smell of rum is not very intense, but the alcohol is quite strong. At first the smell is so sweet, but then it changes a little to musty. Vanilla, caramel, molasses, gingerbread, bitter plum jam and bitter cocoa were recognizable. For the first time, I felt something that reminded me of the smell of a leather. At the end you can scent the smokyness and wooden tones.

Taste: Not as sweet as is often written, but definetely not dry. It's somewhere in the middle. Overall, it is less substantial and more watery. Again, you can smell alcohol quite strongly, even after a few minutes of evaporation. After drinking, you can smell vanilla, caramel, raisins, dark cocoa or very bitter chocolate, dried cherries and smoky wood at the end on the tongue and palate. The finish is so bitter-sweet. The aftertaste is quite short.

After a thorough tasting, I must say that not much improvement has taken place. Rum is so immature and lacks the fineness of older pieces. But at the party to drink it is OK. Diplomatico Mantuano reminds me a bit when I evaluate the taste.

Overall rating: 6.5 out of 10

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Trini Yank from Trinidad and Tobago with 41 ratings

Has a lot of wow factor as a gift due to the leather sack. Very smooth, so watch how much ice you use. Oaky vanilla flavour is really nice.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Colli from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

This looks great with the leather presentation pouch. The first scent is sweet caramel (sticky toffee pudding!) but was a bit harsh. This soon mellowed and a drop of ice helps.

Great for sipping. A touch expensive to use as a mixer but tastes good either way.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 447 ratings

This rum has a nice smell to it. Brown sugar, oak, spice, and tobacco. Taste is similar, but to me it's a bit harsh for a 40%abv rum. It's a fairly decent rum, but I prefer a little more sweetness such as found in other Venezuelan rums like the Santa Teresa 1796 and the Diplomatico Reserva.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Carlos from United States with 14 ratings

My go to rum. It's in short supply right now and I found two bottles this weekend at a store about 45 minutes from home so I'm good for a while. That said I'm thinking of driving another couple of hours up the road to get another bottle or two. It's that good! Smooth tasting, not to sweet or spicy. I call it a grownup rum. If you can get your hands on a bottle do it.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

A vastly underrated rum. Rich complex and full of flavour. Wonderfully presented as well. Up there as one of favourites

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Gilgamesh from United States with 4 ratings

Who gives a horse's petootie about a leather pouch, what a bunch of rarified dandies! I toss it. I'm in it for the booze, and what dark and lovely stuff it is. All the classic rum flavors are there, but then something dark and almost bitter or tarry -- like 90% dark chocolate or Italian espresso -- comes in, and it almost tips into nasty, but doesn't, it walks the line, and pulls it out. I find it very smooth, neat or rocks. I buy this and tuck it away whenever I see it, I even love the squat little bottle. It's like an old reliable friend. Grab it and run off under a tree and tipple it like a crazy old coot while humming a sea chanty.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 367 ratings

Gelungene Aufmachung, die Kugelflasche im Lederbeutel.
Nase mit viel Vanille, Gaumen kraftvoll, nicht zu süss, Karamell, Toffee,
scharf, guter Körper, Ausklang ok.
Ein durchaus gut gemachter Rum für alle Tage.

Successful presentation, the ball like bottle in the leather bag.
Nose with lots of vanilla, palate powerful, not too sweet, caramel, toffee,
Sharp, good body, finish ok.
A very well done rum for all days.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Ross B from United States with 1 rating

Like many, the packaging caught my eye first.
My first taste was in an "old fashioned" glass... all that was available where I was staying. Noted the strong alcohol taste commented on elsewhere, but also a tendency towards dryness [yes, in a sugarcane-based product...]
Ended up pouring some [after I got home] into a small snifter and, as it happens, got called away for more than half an hour.
Here's the interesting part... having a sip after that period of time, I found that the breathing/aeration helped change the flavor profile, and improved smoothness a lot. A full-bodied rum, with "great legs" on the snifter glass.

So my initial tasting would have resulted in a 6/10.
This one made me raise the rating to a high 8 - hence the nine.

Bottom line: Whether trying it for the first time or revisiting it, pour it into a snifter and give it time to breath - your patience should be well rewarded.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Cezary from United States with 20 ratings

I like this rum, smooth, medium-bodied, great for sipping. I commend the brand for its use of a leather sack, a unique and premium-looking packaging.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by azeemx from Sweden with 1 rating

My father in law found this deep in his liquor cabinet after a nice dinner. It had been there for 15+ years. The cork broke when I tried to open it so we used a wine opener. Everyone who tried it likes it, even my mother in law who’s not a big liquor-drinker. Recommended.