Posting your rating...
Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva rum

Rate Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


345 Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Nathan from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

Very perfumy, for want of a better word. I had one shot to go with desert, and while it was pleasant enough, I doubt I'd buy a bottle. It was a bit much for me, on the sickly sweet side, so I wouldn't want to drink it too often, not to say I'd never have it again. Just one I wouldn't need to keep on my shelf.

Posted over 7 years ago by Trini Yank from Trinidad and Tobago with 41 ratings

Has a lot of wow factor as a gift due to the leather sack. Very smooth, so watch how much ice you use. Oaky vanilla flavour is really nice.

Posted over 3 years ago by Colli from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

This looks great with the leather presentation pouch. The first scent is sweet caramel (sticky toffee pudding!) but was a bit harsh. This soon mellowed and a drop of ice helps.

Great for sipping. A touch expensive to use as a mixer but tastes good either way.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This rum has a nice smell to it. Brown sugar, oak, spice, and tobacco. Taste is similar, but to me it's a bit harsh for a 40%abv rum. It's a fairly decent rum, but I prefer a little more sweetness such as found in other Venezuelan rums like the Santa Teresa 1796 and the Diplomatico Reserva.

Posted about 5 years ago by Carlos from United States with 14 ratings

My go to rum. It's in short supply right now and I found two bottles this weekend at a store about 45 minutes from home so I'm good for a while. That said I'm thinking of driving another couple of hours up the road to get another bottle or two. It's that good! Smooth tasting, not to sweet or spicy. I call it a grownup rum. If you can get your hands on a bottle do it.

Posted about 6 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

A vastly underrated rum. Rich complex and full of flavour. Wonderfully presented as well. Up there as one of favourites

Posted over 1 year ago by Gilgamesh from United States with 3 ratings

Who gives a horse's petootie about a leather pouch, what a bunch of rarified dandies! I toss it. I'm in it for the booze, and what dark and lovely stuff it is. All the classic rum flavors are there, but then something dark and almost bitter or tarry -- like 90% dark chocolate or Italian espresso -- comes in, and it almost tips into nasty, but doesn't, it walks the line, and pulls it out. I find it very smooth, neat or rocks. I buy this and tuck it away whenever I see it, I even love the squat little bottle. It's like an old reliable friend. Grab it and run off under a tree and tipple it like a crazy old coot while humming a sea chanty.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 344 ratings

Gelungene Aufmachung, die Kugelflasche im Lederbeutel.
Nase mit viel Vanille, Gaumen kraftvoll, nicht zu süss, Karamell, Toffee,
scharf, guter Körper, Ausklang ok.
Ein durchaus gut gemachter Rum für alle Tage.

Successful presentation, the ball like bottle in the leather bag.
Nose with lots of vanilla, palate powerful, not too sweet, caramel, toffee,
Sharp, good body, finish ok.
A very well done rum for all days.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ross B from United States with 1 rating

Like many, the packaging caught my eye first.
My first taste was in an "old fashioned" glass... all that was available where I was staying. Noted the strong alcohol taste commented on elsewhere, but also a tendency towards dryness [yes, in a sugarcane-based product...]
Ended up pouring some [after I got home] into a small snifter and, as it happens, got called away for more than half an hour.
Here's the interesting part... having a sip after that period of time, I found that the breathing/aeration helped change the flavor profile, and improved smoothness a lot. A full-bodied rum, with "great legs" on the snifter glass.

So my initial tasting would have resulted in a 6/10.
This one made me raise the rating to a high 8 - hence the nine.

Bottom line: Whether trying it for the first time or revisiting it, pour it into a snifter and give it time to breath - your patience should be well rewarded.

Posted about 5 years ago by Cezary from United States with 20 ratings

I like this rum, smooth, medium-bodied, great for sipping. I commend the brand for its use of a leather sack, a unique and premium-looking packaging.

Posted over 2 years ago by Rodney from Albania with 27 ratings

Not s good to in my opinion. Maybe if you mix it with coke but straight up no way

Posted about 4 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 154 ratings

Good reviews here a some good references from my friends made me to buy this rum. But it was big disappointment. It bites in the nose, bites on the tongue and bites in the throat. Maybe it is just bad bottle, ti would not be my first experience that one bottle tastes different than another. But for now i am not recommanding this rum.
Definitely not smooth with strong alcohol taste. More suitable on the rocks

Retasted: rate 4->5, but still unsatisfiing experience. This rum is not good, taste is just flat and bity.

Posted over 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

More bite than expected, but decent stuff. You're first greeted by a sharp alcohol smell, then a sweet aroma, and a large amount of oak. In the end, a great package for an OK rum.

Revisit- Still harsh, more smoke, 6

edited to add sugar test results- 12g

Posted 20 days ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

This Pampero is a rum you drink at moments you feel like needing alcohol in an average way. It is not bad but it isn't super either. For me it lacks a little bit more of sweetness to rate it a 7 or even higher.

Posted 9 months ago by Scott from Sweden with 11 ratings

For me, price is a big factor when rating a rum. I expect more out of an expensive rum - a wow factor.
I can get this rum for a relatively good price and it is very nice. I was expecting a about a 6 or so when i bought this for the first time, but it is really nice for a "go to rum" and in my case and I can easily give it an 8, maybe even a 9.
If it is incredibly expensive where you live, then there are many rums that are as good or better, but in my case, I buy this all the time and happily drink it neat.
it's smooth and just a bit sweet - just how I like it.

Posted about 1 year ago by Rogier from Netherlands with 10 ratings

Thus rum comes in a leather pouch, which looks great. The taste is just sweet enough to my taste, but a bit short.

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

I have a buddy that really loves his Rum n' Cokes - I pull this one out and serve with Q Kola over ice, and its unbeatable. Rich, compelling, and delicious - working in synergism with the cola rather than just being a spiked soda.
A sipping rum by nature, with oodles of complexity, even PX sherry notes. Over ice, with a cigar, or in an old fashioned is preferred. Is really amazing with cola (go with cane sugar cola, like Coca Cola from mexico, Pepsi 1893, or Q Kola).

Posted over 2 years ago by Peter from Slovakia with 74 ratings

dobry ale vsedny rum za dobru cenu. neurazi ani nenadchne. nic co by stalo za zmienku. 6,6/10

Posted over 2 years ago by Thomas Fuhs from United States with 22 ratings

The leather bag it comes in looks great on the shelf. The contents are ok. Initial taste was strong with coffee and sweet notes. Some ice to mellow is pretty key here.

It's fine. Not one that I'll be in. Rush to buy again, but perfectly serviceable. That shelf look though.

Posted almost 3 years ago by B.P.O. from Netherlands with 51 ratings

Color is on the darker side of tea.
Smells... well it's hard to place my finger on that. Crazy as it may sound, somewhere between dried fruit zest with woody over tones.
As for flavor, sweet to start with but soon turns peppery and spicy.

For me there seams to be no real balance and am therefore disappointed with the cost point-experience factor.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva used to be on my Top 10 out of well over 700 aged rums for years, but several new findings have dropped it to the Top 20 list. Pampero has plenty of traditional aged rum flavors, hardly any burn and would be a great addition to your rum collection. Blind test Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva with the Bacoo 12 year old and I will bet you have a hard time figuring which is which.

Here's my top 30 list:
1. Ron Tres Loco de Vinos from Vinoble Skanderborg
2. Ron Esclavo XO Cask Strength
3. Legendario Gran Reserva 15y
4. Cubaney Centenario 25-30y
5. Companero Panama
6. Ron Esclavo XO
7. Ron Millonario XO and 15y
8. Plantation Barbados XO 20th Anniversary
9. El Dorado 25y
10. Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva and Single Vintage
11. Presidente Marti 23y and 19y
12. Cubaney 18y
13. Pusser's 15y
14. Black Tot
15. El Pasador de Oro XO
16. Bavaro Black Ultra Premium
17. Punta Cana Esplendido
18. Edmundo Dantes 15y
19. Pampero Aniversario
20. Bacoo 12y
21. Ron Esclavo 15y and 12y
22. El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva
23. Brugal Leyenda
24. Exquisito 1990 and 1995
25. Koloa Kaua'i Coconut
26. Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize
27. Unhiq XO
28. Ron Hero 21y Solera
29. Punta Cana XOX
30. Ron Cartavio XO

Posted about 3 years ago by eulalio torices from Spain with 23 ratings

Buen ron Buenas notas a vainilla y canela. Típico ron venezolano

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Dark bronze or leather color, with aroma of vanilla, caramel, brown sugar and toffee. On the palate vanilla is present with woody notes. Soft and round the leather arrives on a medium finish with the alcohol that remains present but without taking the top. Nice packaging.

Posted over 3 years ago by Kristinn Magnusson from Iceland with 4 ratings

The bottle looks great with the leather pouch and would make for a nice gift. Rum is a bit harsh, nice color bur no absolute highs in taste

Posted almost 4 years ago by flund from Germany with 9 ratings

kann nicht verstehen, warum er hier von einigen als "nicht so Süß" beschrieben wird.
Meiner Meinung nach ähnlich dem Diplomatico sehr süß, dennoch gefällig mit viel Aroma. Kann pur getrunken werden, macht sich aber hervorragend als Basis für einen Cuba Libre.