Posting your rating...
Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva rum

Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva

Venezuela | Aged

7.2/10 (350 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
8
16
46
131
107
33
7

Rate Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


350 Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

85f3a17553ad46273ae71229bbf9207a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Dr. Brittlebone from Sweden with 17 ratings

Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva 40% Venezuela

Eye: Worn brownish copper

Nose: Pleasingly coy nose on this one at introduction. Smells a little too sweet and one dimensional to be refined and makes me think it is quiet young with the ambition to seem older than it is. Like a teenage boy with grandads perfume on. Kind of oily and thick which can be promising but the lack of edge raises a red flag for me. Then comes the compulsory butter scotch and caramel, some dried fruits, hazel and walnuts. Detect also margarine (that´s a first) and vanilla coke. It also reminds me of Versace Edt Pour Homme but I suspect I´ve bumped into someone with that fragrance on earlier today. It develops somewhat in the glass and after a while I love the smell. Nougat, some citrus like orange marmalade and grape fruit zest. Very nice, could smell this all night!

Mouth: Yes, very sweet. Oh, and it comes in waves. First a small swell of cool sweetness with some exotic fruits, then a slightly larger swell carrying dried fruits and nougat and finishes with a monster wave of embrowned butter and burnt sugar, molasses even. This is the fault in my humble opinion. It is very mellow throughout the whole palate and is evenly presented with its entire register of flavors. In that respect it is very well balanced. I like each and every element but it is just too sweet and sugary which in the long run is …boring. Taste good though.

Reaction: As usual I don´t have a clue of what I am drinking. Apart from the treacle-like sweetness it is rather gentle and cool which is an unusual but welcome feature. It is also anonymous and lack that individuality I do appreciate so much in 40%-ABV-and-above-spirits. After 30 minutes I don´t agree with myself about the age statement anymore. I feels older and more self-confident towards the end but it seem to have lost interest in itself. Like an I-am-what-I-am-attitude. Good stuff but a tad sweet and simple. Seems like a bargain taking the price into account, but again, when do I drink it?

76p

Price: 289 SEK
Tasted: 2016, In a Riedel Sommelier Cognac XO glass at room temperature.

A57076cad9180ba567b5c079fa88a9e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Trini Yank from Trinidad and Tobago with 41 ratings

Has a lot of wow factor as a gift due to the leather sack. Very smooth, so watch how much ice you use. Oaky vanilla flavour is really nice.

43a3173141bc7ae4e8341d75aaea78eb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Colli from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

This looks great with the leather presentation pouch. The first scent is sweet caramel (sticky toffee pudding!) but was a bit harsh. This soon mellowed and a drop of ice helps.

Great for sipping. A touch expensive to use as a mixer but tastes good either way.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This rum has a nice smell to it. Brown sugar, oak, spice, and tobacco. Taste is similar, but to me it's a bit harsh for a 40%abv rum. It's a fairly decent rum, but I prefer a little more sweetness such as found in other Venezuelan rums like the Santa Teresa 1796 and the Diplomatico Reserva.

85b4060cdeac3f2c4160c74ff9c8baf2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Carlos from United States with 14 ratings

My go to rum. It's in short supply right now and I found two bottles this weekend at a store about 45 minutes from home so I'm good for a while. That said I'm thinking of driving another couple of hours up the road to get another bottle or two. It's that good! Smooth tasting, not to sweet or spicy. I call it a grownup rum. If you can get your hands on a bottle do it.

11e607eeaa35d696206a16b6ddb516e5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

A vastly underrated rum. Rich complex and full of flavour. Wonderfully presented as well. Up there as one of favourites

Fc0f454d7c9d007051361eaf5bcab1dd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Gilgamesh from United States with 3 ratings

Who gives a horse's petootie about a leather pouch, what a bunch of rarified dandies! I toss it. I'm in it for the booze, and what dark and lovely stuff it is. All the classic rum flavors are there, but then something dark and almost bitter or tarry -- like 90% dark chocolate or Italian espresso -- comes in, and it almost tips into nasty, but doesn't, it walks the line, and pulls it out. I find it very smooth, neat or rocks. I buy this and tuck it away whenever I see it, I even love the squat little bottle. It's like an old reliable friend. Grab it and run off under a tree and tipple it like a crazy old coot while humming a sea chanty.

3cd30a1ee0c14d6cfcee2c39ed58bd6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 354 ratings

Gelungene Aufmachung, die Kugelflasche im Lederbeutel.
Nase mit viel Vanille, Gaumen kraftvoll, nicht zu süss, Karamell, Toffee,
scharf, guter Körper, Ausklang ok.
Ein durchaus gut gemachter Rum für alle Tage.

Successful presentation, the ball like bottle in the leather bag.
Nose with lots of vanilla, palate powerful, not too sweet, caramel, toffee,
Sharp, good body, finish ok.
A very well done rum for all days.

4a0522472672bd824bd7708ae196034d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ross B from United States with 1 rating

Like many, the packaging caught my eye first.
My first taste was in an "old fashioned" glass... all that was available where I was staying. Noted the strong alcohol taste commented on elsewhere, but also a tendency towards dryness [yes, in a sugarcane-based product...]
Ended up pouring some [after I got home] into a small snifter and, as it happens, got called away for more than half an hour.
Here's the interesting part... having a sip after that period of time, I found that the breathing/aeration helped change the flavor profile, and improved smoothness a lot. A full-bodied rum, with "great legs" on the snifter glass.

So my initial tasting would have resulted in a 6/10.
This one made me raise the rating to a high 8 - hence the nine.

Bottom line: Whether trying it for the first time or revisiting it, pour it into a snifter and give it time to breath - your patience should be well rewarded.

Ca67faad8b8810c66840c6dcddeaecb1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Cezary from United States with 20 ratings

I like this rum, smooth, medium-bodied, great for sipping. I commend the brand for its use of a leather sack, a unique and premium-looking packaging.

B4aa2d5a5676a3e4bb7995739e8a4481.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Rodney from Albania with 27 ratings

Not s good to in my opinion. Maybe if you mix it with coke but straight up no way