Posting your rating...
Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva rum

Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva

Venezuela | Aged

7.2/10 (347 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
8
16
46
130
106
32
7

Rate Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


347 Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

3e75be6535cc7342c01331905c8e3036.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

This rum is interesting because it's just a bit too good to be used as a mixer and while it sips nicely it's not as good as other rums you can find for its price in Australia.

In America this is a great choice, the rum is much cheaper and this is well worth the price you pay there.

The packaging with the leather pouch is excellent.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2606 ratings

Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva used to be on my Top 10 out of well over 700 aged rums for years, but several new findings have dropped it to the Top 20 list. Pampero has plenty of traditional aged rum flavors, hardly any burn and would be a great addition to your rum collection. Blind test Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva with the Bacoo 12 year old and I will bet you have a hard time figuring which is which.

Here's my top 30 list:
1. Ron Tres Loco de Vinos from Vinoble Skanderborg
2. Ron Esclavo XO Cask Strength
3. Legendario Gran Reserva 15y
4. Cubaney Centenario 25-30y
5. Companero Panama
6. Ron Esclavo XO
7. Ron Millonario XO and 15y
8. Plantation Barbados XO 20th Anniversary
9. El Dorado 25y
10. Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva and Single Vintage
11. Presidente Marti 23y and 19y
12. Cubaney 18y
13. Pusser's 15y
14. Black Tot
15. El Pasador de Oro XO
16. Bavaro Black Ultra Premium
17. Punta Cana Esplendido
18. Edmundo Dantes 15y
19. Pampero Aniversario
20. Bacoo 12y
21. Ron Esclavo 15y and 12y
22. El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva
23. Brugal Leyenda
24. Exquisito 1990 and 1995
25. Koloa Kaua'i Coconut
26. Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize
27. Unhiq XO
28. Ron Hero 21y Solera
29. Punta Cana XOX
30. Ron Cartavio XO

C215c7ba11ef28a273d59d46f60f439a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by eulalio torices from Spain with 23 ratings

Buen ron Buenas notas a vainilla y canela. Típico ron venezolano

0f6fb47542b6b5f2953fe642e576356a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Dark bronze or leather color, with aroma of vanilla, caramel, brown sugar and toffee. On the palate vanilla is present with woody notes. Soft and round the leather arrives on a medium finish with the alcohol that remains present but without taking the top. Nice packaging.

4826d3e5774411c5da0307c614b0d982.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Kristinn Magnusson from Iceland with 4 ratings

The bottle looks great with the leather pouch and would make for a nice gift. Rum is a bit harsh, nice color bur no absolute highs in taste

9ba07814c6ed80f4e93941b2931d3b73.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by flund from Germany with 9 ratings

kann nicht verstehen, warum er hier von einigen als "nicht so Süß" beschrieben wird.
Meiner Meinung nach ähnlich dem Diplomatico sehr süß, dennoch gefällig mit viel Aroma. Kann pur getrunken werden, macht sich aber hervorragend als Basis für einen Cuba Libre.

A72be5046bca5506afc4586ab3085a88.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Daniel from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

Good, then not, then good again.
Havana Club flavours with a sour punch.
Happy to drink but can't see myself choosing it from the shelf with excitement.

1ac8ae9543fff9bc34cdf62cb57274d3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Per from Denmark with 45 ratings

This rum has a nice "edge". Not so sweet. But still very good sipping rum. Love the leather sack!

E5e3fcca2a52e2133736f492c3ec8492.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This rum has been sitting in my collection for about a year... I recall that it had a very strong bite, so I was not in a hurry to re-visit. That said, it was actually OK. It is nearly odourless, and has a dark brown colour, with a tinge of red. While it did burn the throat a little, it actually wasn't too harsh. It was a little sweet, but not too complex - I didn't really taste much of anything. I don't really expect much from a "tweener" rum (Aged > 4 but <10 years), but the leather sack it's in, makes you anticipate more.

85f3a17553ad46273ae71229bbf9207a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Dr. Brittlebone from Sweden with 17 ratings

Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva 40% Venezuela

Eye: Worn brownish copper

Nose: Pleasingly coy nose on this one at introduction. Smells a little too sweet and one dimensional to be refined and makes me think it is quiet young with the ambition to seem older than it is. Like a teenage boy with grandads perfume on. Kind of oily and thick which can be promising but the lack of edge raises a red flag for me. Then comes the compulsory butter scotch and caramel, some dried fruits, hazel and walnuts. Detect also margarine (that´s a first) and vanilla coke. It also reminds me of Versace Edt Pour Homme but I suspect I´ve bumped into someone with that fragrance on earlier today. It develops somewhat in the glass and after a while I love the smell. Nougat, some citrus like orange marmalade and grape fruit zest. Very nice, could smell this all night!

Mouth: Yes, very sweet. Oh, and it comes in waves. First a small swell of cool sweetness with some exotic fruits, then a slightly larger swell carrying dried fruits and nougat and finishes with a monster wave of embrowned butter and burnt sugar, molasses even. This is the fault in my humble opinion. It is very mellow throughout the whole palate and is evenly presented with its entire register of flavors. In that respect it is very well balanced. I like each and every element but it is just too sweet and sugary which in the long run is …boring. Taste good though.

Reaction: As usual I don´t have a clue of what I am drinking. Apart from the treacle-like sweetness it is rather gentle and cool which is an unusual but welcome feature. It is also anonymous and lack that individuality I do appreciate so much in 40%-ABV-and-above-spirits. After 30 minutes I don´t agree with myself about the age statement anymore. I feels older and more self-confident towards the end but it seem to have lost interest in itself. Like an I-am-what-I-am-attitude. Good stuff but a tad sweet and simple. Seems like a bargain taking the price into account, but again, when do I drink it?

76p

Price: 289 SEK
Tasted: 2016, In a Riedel Sommelier Cognac XO glass at room temperature.

99b2726d07b11c014091c5624c717886.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 94 ratings

Found the last bottle at a liquor store in NY, so I figured it must be good if there's only one bottle left on the shelf. Interesting presentation in the leather sleeve, but this rum does not need a "hook" like this to gather attention. Nice bottle design, and the juice is quite dark. I let the rum sit in the glass before tasting, as some mentioned to let it breathe. Not a strong nose, somewhat sweet. Upon tasting, very mild oak taste, somewhat complex and nice finish.