Posting your rating...
Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva rum

Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva

Venezuela | Aged

7.2/10 (367 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
8
16
47
136
116
35
7

Rate Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


367 Pampero Aniversario Reserva Exclusiva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Token from Netherlands with 26 ratings

The leather sack makes it nice to give this rum as a gift. It starts with a alcohol hardness, but a ball of ice does the trick!
Good sipping rum for the weekends.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rodney from Albania with 27 ratings

Not s good to in my opinion. Maybe if you mix it with coke but straight up no way

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 165 ratings

Good reviews here a some good references from my friends made me to buy this rum. But it was big disappointment. It bites in the nose, bites on the tongue and bites in the throat. Maybe it is just bad bottle, ti would not be my first experience that one bottle tastes different than another. But for now i am not recommanding this rum.
Definitely not smooth with strong alcohol taste. More suitable on the rocks

Retasted: rate 4->5, but still unsatisfiing experience. This rum is not good, taste is just flat and bity.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

More bite than expected, but decent stuff. You're first greeted by a sharp alcohol smell, then a sweet aroma, and a large amount of oak. In the end, a great package for an OK rum.

Revisit- Still harsh, more smoke, 6

edited to add sugar test results- 12g

Small img 1323

Posted 7 days ago by Simson from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

Approx. 2 years ago, when I had tasted it for the first time at a joint tasting event, I had not quite liked it, so I wanted to see if there was any improvement since that time.

This is 40% ABV rum from Venezuela (4-6 years old), which was stored in barrels of American whiskey and bourbon. It is delivered in a nice chubby bottle with real cork, which is not standard at this price level. The package is either in a leather bag (more often) or in a paper box.

Color: Dark mahogany. Due to its age the rum had to be definitely colored.

Aroma: The actual smell of rum is not very intense, but the alcohol is quite strong. At first the smell is so sweet, but then it changes a little to musty. Vanilla, caramel, molasses, gingerbread, bitter plum jam and bitter cocoa were recognizable. For the first time, I felt something that reminded me of the smell of a leather. At the end you can scent the smokyness and wooden tones.

Taste: Not as sweet as is often written, but definetely not dry. It's somewhere in the middle. Overall, it is less substantial and more watery. Again, you can smell alcohol quite strongly, even after a few minutes of evaporation. After drinking, you can smell vanilla, caramel, raisins, dark cocoa or very bitter chocolate, dried cherries and smoky wood at the end on the tongue and palate. The finish is so bitter-sweet. The aftertaste is quite short.

After a thorough tasting, I must say that not much improvement has taken place. Rum is so immature and lacks the fineness of older pieces. But at the party to drink it is OK. Diplomatico Mantuano reminds me a bit when I evaluate the taste.

Overall rating: 6.5 out of 10

Ffffff

Posted 24 days ago by Sink from Switzerland with 20 ratings

This rum holds the best cost/quality ratio in my opinion. I love Its heavy molasses and leathery notes. Don't be fooled by the gimmicky presentation (which sometimes means a consumer trap), for the substance inside is superb.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Christian from Luxembourg with 15 ratings

This Pampero Aniversario comes in a leather sack, which is quite disturbing. But the content is excellent. A dark coloured rum full of nice flavours with a very long finish. A real sipper. Love it!

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Lawson from United States with 64 ratings

It's one of my favorite inexpensive sippers. Nice mix of chocolate, nuts and caramel.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 166 ratings

This is available everywhere. I avoided it for a long time because of the leather bag. I want rum, not a goofy marketing pouch. It reminded me of Crown Royal and that insipid purple sack. Crown Royal has a great reputation and although drinkable is very mediocre Canadian Whiskey. Don't take my word for it, go buy a $20 bottle of Forty Creek barrel reserve and join the ranks of the enlightened! I was expecting this rum to be pretty lack luster, like Crown Royal. I was completely wrong . This truly has substance. A fine rum. Complex and smooth with a great smoky nose. Notes of coffee, raisins, spice and pepper. Wonderfully complex. Chewy, it coats the pallet. Great bite and outstanding finish. This is damn good rum. All I can say is LOSE the goofy genuine simulated leather pouch. Let the contents do the talking.

Small 20191023 181007

Posted 7 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 70 ratings

This Pampero is a rum you drink at moments you feel like needing alcohol in an average way. It is not bad but it isn't super either. For me it lacks a little bit more of sweetness to rate it a 7 or even higher.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mujuru from United States with 53 ratings

This is a fun bottle to share with friends. It comes in a classic leather pouch which looks just cool as heck. The rum itself doesn’t quite live up to the expectation set by the presentation, but you can do worse. It is actually a decent sip. It has tobacco and strong oak tones but also carries a burn. Sometimes the oak and burn are a bit too strong for my liking but sometimes I am in the mood for that. It’s not Zafra level but it’s a great thing to grab for an evening with friends.

Nose: 8
Palate: 7
Aftertaste: 6
Smoothness: 7
Versatility: 8
Price: 7

Total: 7.1