Posting your rating...
Plantation Xaymaca Special Dry rum

Rate Plantation Xaymaca Special Dry

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


42 Plantation Xaymaca Special Dry ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

I love Jamaican rums, and this one blew me away. Pure pot-still Jamaican rums that have such wonderfully crafted progressions on the palate, and have such wonderful flavor and aroma are typically rare finds. The shelf at my local liquor store had at least 10 bottles on it, relatively untouched with a $25 price tag.

The qualities of this rum are undoubtedly Jamaican. The classic banana and pineapple character is given different floral dimensions, while the mouthfeel has a degree of richness and oily texture without feeling sweet. The finish in lingering and delicious; I can't seem to get over that oily character (coming from long-pond distillates).

I believe 10/10 rating on a spirit is an extraordinary rating reserved for only truly special rums. Some might wonder about the seriousness of giving a $25 bottle such a rating. My reason is this: while there are many examples of excellent Jamaican pot-still rums out there, many showcasing more aging or overproof qualities, how many are readily available at a $25 price point, and with all the exceptional character noted above? This is a special rum - A welcome new addition to the Plantation lineup and a permanent addition to my shelf.

Posted over 1 year ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

What it is:
A blend of Jamaican pot still rums from Clarendon and Long Pond (muck pits!). Most of the marques are the result of a 1-week fermentation period and less than a year of tropical aging, though there is some amount of high-ester distillate from a 3-week fermentation that was blessed with 3–8 years of tropical aging, depending on who you ask (Plantation says 3, CocktailWonk says 8. CW also lists an additional 2-week-fermentation marque, but the bottle label omits this). There may also be a drop of 17-year-old Long Pond in there, for marketing purposes ;). All of these were blended together before the inevitable 1–2 years aging in Cognac casks in France, however, WITHOUT any dosage (joining OFTD as the only other un-sugared, mass-produced Plantation bottling). Bottled at 43% ABV.

Flavor profile:
Kind of a Hampden-y nose. Unmistakably Jamaican, of the fruity variety, led by cherry and pineapple. Some banana. Like a Hampden lite (and hey, even Hampden can make "lighter" marques). It's plenty funky... more so than I was expecting, given some early reviews (see below). Not my favorite flavor profile (cherry), but I quite like it. Despite the lack of dosage, it still has some of that trademark Plantation "sparkle" on the finish, which I attribute to the Cognac aging.

My take:
This release has been subject to much debate since its announcement and release. I believe this is largely due to two factors:

1) interpreting the brand messaging of "100% Jamaican pot still" as "we're unleashing a hogo bomb that will put S&C and Rum Fire to shame," and
2) a rum nerd environment that's often very critical of Plantation (and often rightly so, I might add) and who are hungry for any excuse to decry the brand's endeavors.

So, if you're already not a fan of Plantation, and you're looking for more reasons to justify that position, this new release is an easy target: "It's not as hogolicious as X, therefore it is a disgrace to Jamaican rum."

I see several problems with this.
- If your preconceived expectation is your only benchmark, you are setting yourself up for disappointment. Let's at least temper, or broaden our expectations, a little bit, with the following...
- Brands, like people, are generally not all good or bad, but some combination of successes and failures; ill will and good; ignorance and prudence. Plantation's had some faux pas (and continues to tamper with most of their rums in ways I'm not a fan of), and some strokes of genius (OFTD, anyone?). But even their faux pas, to some, are strokes of genius for others. Their 20th anniversary could be your exemplar of adulteration gone amok—perfectly good aged distillate, ruined—or your most coveted bottle. Which brings me to my next point:
- Target market. Plantation has always striven for mass appeal, especially in their Signature Blends and Bar Classics, which represent some of the absolute best values in rum today. Even their Vintage and Single Cask releases are sweetened and watered down to appeal to a cognac-drinker's palate, with only OFTD and the Extrêmes (if you're fortunate enough to find them) offering a pure, cask-strength, hardcore rum experience. Plantation is for the masses, as they're probably not keen to bottle up the equivalent to DOK and unleash it on someone whose only exposure to Plantation is Stiggin's Fancy. It was never Plantation's intention for this to be a top-shelf sipper that would take dunderheads to Nirvana; rather this is a workhorse rum that is ready to be mixed or sipped affordably. Speaking of which...
- Price point/competition. In the US, you can grab a bottle for about the same price as Myers's, Coruba, or Appleton. Let's review the specs... 100% Jamaican pot-still rum, with Plummer-level esters, bottled at 43% without sugar. That's insanely competitive. Show me a bottle that gives you more flavor for less money (Golden Devil Dark Overproof comes to mind, but that's an outlier, and is sold out as of this writing). W&N White Overproof, certainly, is widely available, but lacks any aging and isn't well suited to most classic cocktail recipes (it's also a blend of pot and column, if that matters to you). Hamilton isn't much more costly (also 46% ABV), but that one too is unaged, and a rather different flavor profile (which I love, btw). Smith & Cross is about 1.5x more expensive with only 1.3x the ABV, and some Wadderburn-level distillate, but no age statement, marques, or even distilleries (not necessarily a point against, just a comparison). (See the CocktailWonk link below for a taste comparison at similar strengths.) But it sure kicks the pants off Myers's, Coruba and Appleton Special. So, this is really a very good value. If you want something with more funk, more aging, more ABV, well, it's probably going to cost you (which, if you’re like me, you're fine with that, but I would refer back to my previous point about the target market for this bottling). Yesterday, Xaymaca didn't exist, and today this quality rum it's widely available to just about anyone. Tomorrow, who knows? So, in my opinion...
- This bottle represents a positive direction for Plantation as a brand, and I believe that we the rum community should be applauding this step. Again... 100% pot still, Velier-level transparency, pungent flavor, no dosage? A "bridge" funky rum for novitiates that is priced well and mixes beautifully? Yes, please! Wouldn't you like to see them do more in this vein? Like an un-dosed Barbados 5 or 20th Anniversary? Maybe even a Xaymaca Ultimate with 300+ g/hLAA at 57% ABV? Help them keep the momentum going :)

Conclusion:
I believe Xaymaca should be judged on its own merits, and against peers in its price-point. This rum wasn't made to unseat the venerable S&C, but it sure as heck beats Appleton, Myers's, and Coruba (not to mention giving Rum-Bar Gold a run for its money). Set your expectations accordingly. It's got enough funk to draw you in on the nose and make itself known as Jamaican, and delivers lots of great flavor on the palate, without any nasty sugar. Mix it, sip it, and if you really like it, seek out the funk-bombs from Hampden and elsewhere.

Is it my new Jamaican mixer of choice? No (due only to my personal flavor preferences). Would I be perfectly happy with it if it were my only choice? Yes. Will I be recommending it to people getting started on their rum journey? Absolutely.

Enjoy!

8-

Further reading:
https://www.plantationrum.com/plantation-xaymaca
https://cocktailwonk.com/2018/05/xaymaca-deeply-deconstructed.html

Posted about 1 year ago by Jaybird from United States with 47 ratings

Dry nose with hints of oak, alcohol, lightly fruity and maybe a hint of leather. Esters are there but not huge. Banana as it breathes and sits in the glass.
Dry right off with very little to no sweetness. Pleasantly funky but again not bold but balanced. Very warm, nearing hot but the burn is smooth and long. Long funky aftertaste but not a huge funk. Some hints of nut. Oaky and dry. Finish coats the palate. Better mixer than sipper but if the mood strikes it's a decent dry Jamaican sipper. If you like sweet rums this is not for you. Over all a well executed rum. Be interesting to try this with both more and less age. More age may mellow what pot still funkiness there is but younger may bring it forward.
Interesting add on here, the longer it sits in the glass and breathes it seems to become smoother and just a hint of sweetness comes forward. After sitting for a while it becomes more enjoyable to sip as it seems to mellow. This could grow on me!

Posted about 1 year ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Alexandre Gabriel and his magic in coming up with many fine rums in the Plantation line. This is one of his newest which is distilled in pot stills rom two different distilleries on the island before heading to France to be nurtured and finished in cognac casks. Plantation uses Clarendon/Monymusk and Long Pond distilleries to combine their rums of various ages to create the newest addition in the Plantation line of fine rums...Xaymaca !
Slightly spicy (pepper) and the bourbon wood. Not as much funk as is associated with Jamaican rums like Smith and Cross or Appleton. Very little sweetness other than that from the cognac wood barrels. Taste of baking spices dried fruits, banana, vanilla, pineapple, smoked leather, treackle , lemon zest.
It’s ok to be sipped neat but holds its own better as a mixer.
It seems like Plantation is trying to create a Jamaican rum that is less funky in that weird flavor. Also a drier rum with 0 sugar with a high alcohol content at 43%. An introductory level rum for people who haven’t had Jamaican rum or or don’t like the funk from the Dunder, or sugar.

Posted about 1 year ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

Drinking it by itself has so much but that lingers so long. However, in a rum and cola, it smooths out and adds a sweet note that's kind of light.

Posted 10 months ago by Smovens from United States with 87 ratings

I was tempted to like this, but it’s just not as complex as it should be. The plantation aging process seems to take away from the flavors instead of complimenting them. Decent mixer, but I wouldn’t take it over a solid Jamaican

Posted 12 months ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

Purchased this bottle of Rum as it is said to contain no added sugar. Price wise it is available in my are for $37 CAD per bottle. The bottle presentation is quite nice with the familiar “Plantation” look.

This rum is indeed quite dry and very enjoyable. Sweet rum lovers are not likely to embrace this latest version from the Plantation line but in my case it is a sipper that has earned its place in my rum cabinet.

Well done Plantation!

Posted about 1 year ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 251 ratings

Aroma is promissing, full of vanila, bananna and fruits, but taste is weaker with small and not complex body. Short aftertaste.

Posted about 1 year ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

Tom Browne would be proud !
Nice 43%abv 100% pot still rum with no plantation dosage. The small amount of sweetness comes from the over ripe pineapple and bananas. Very fruity and floral in the nose plus some nail polish remover ! Plenty of funk and a bit of a bite. I need to be in the right mood for this one but its something different which is good. Will try in a couple of cocktails as I think it will perform well.

Posted about 1 year ago by Toudal from Denmark with 9 ratings

I am quite new to Rum, and i find this a little too dry for me. Think i need to find something sweeter.

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

I saw this one on the liquor store shelf for only $21 and remembered that it had some good reviews. Being a fan of Plantation rums, how could I go wrong in buying it? And to boot, this one specifically states that it is dry, meaning no added sugar. This could be quite interesting.

I got it home and the aroma from the snifter was subdued hogo funk that is unique to Jamaica. So far, so good. Then I sipped it and all Jamaican qualities were lost to excessive aging in cognac casks to give it the Plantation signature. So why did they go through all of that trouble in Jamaica and document in detail on the label only to unfunk it in cognac casks? Yes it is a sweet tasting rum without any added sugar, but it loses all identity as a Jamaican rum. It basically has an identity crisis for trying too hard.

Updated later: My rating rapidly went down from a 6 to a 5. Fearing that this rum would eventually go down the drain, I used it to try and improve on one of the most disgusting drinks called the Hemingway Daiquiri. Instead of the usual cheap 80 proof white rum that Papa preferred, I swapped that out with this rum. Had this rum been around in Papa's days, he would have approved of the higher alcohol content and no added sugar. Well, this rum only marginally improves on that nasty drink. I guess that I need to get more creative to avoid flushing this one down the toilet.

Posted 22 days ago by Panos from Greece with 11 ratings

It’s a blend of five rums (1-17 years old) I’ve tasted each one of them and I have to admit that 17yo jamaican rum is divine(probably the best rum I’ve ever had!!!
Xaymaca is a cheap rum but it has a great taste, very fruity, you can sip it or mix it in a mai tai

Posted 22 days ago by Jason Berman from United States with 44 ratings

I really enjoyed this one. As the name says it’s very dry but in GOOD way. I don’t do tastings note in my reviews. But its not thick sticky sweet. The price is VERY responsible for what you get. Good enough to sip cheap enough to sip on. A whiskey scotch drinker would enjoy it. I will definitely buy it again.

Posted 2 months ago by Isegal from Germany with 81 ratings

to me that is really not tastfull, i had some jamaican rums but this one is poor and bad

Posted 3 months ago by Inshore from Poland with 51 ratings

well here it goes, a new plantation signature blend. An glory Jamaican adventure? Aroma is truly that, full of fruits, a bit of bourbon sweetness. Taste not so interesting, as it smell. Finish not long enough. I Believe this one is missed one. Cognac cask and Jamaican rum are not dancing each other. But still this is Plantation brand, so it is fresh, great mixer!

Posted 3 months ago by Djgross144 from United States with 29 ratings

I was looking for a Jamaican rum for Mai Tais. I like dry wines and this is advertised as dry. I have enjoyed other Plantation rums so I thought I'd give this a try. This one seems a little lacking - needed something a little more funky and fuller.

Posted 4 months ago by Alkin from Latvia with 28 ratings

Plantation with very fresh and specific nose, tastes great!

Posted 4 months ago by Domstadtkerl from Germany with 37 ratings

Very dry Rum. For that kind of price a great little addition to anybodys Collection. Nice to drink after a heavy meal. Nothing to bind down.

Posted 5 months ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 63 ratings

Smells better than it tastes. On the nose you get the rich dried fruit with zesty notes, in the mouth it tastes like a smooth Jamaican rum with missing complexity. I liked it straight and mixed. Reliable plantation quality, just seemed a bit deceiving from its smell vs taste. Overall would recommend it, but there are others I would choose before returning to this

Posted 5 months ago by Nathan French from United States with 20 ratings

This is an experience. Like many scotch drinkers that will eventually end up in Islay, it’s a rum enthusiast’s pilgrimage to Jamaica that will introduce the hogo. Not all will stay, but most will fondly recall the high tones funky notes of this delicious libation

Posted 7 months ago by TY from Austria with 30 ratings

Feinwürzig in der Nase. Intensiv, alkoholisch, mit leichter Bitternote. Hat Körper. Trocken aber rund.

Posted 8 months ago by 69nl43 from France with 14 ratings

Light jamaican. Perfect for beginner. Or for light taste.

Posted 8 months ago by Tim bascombe from United States with 14 ratings

My favorite POTTS still goes to perfection excellent job of bringing out very unique and interesting flavors

Posted 8 months ago by mattrensa (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

First try of a Dry Rum, as a mixer with coke this is an 8/10 all day, lovely traditional Jamaican rum style taste, a little sweetness and good length of finish, in fact I really enjoyed the taste linger on my palate, something I didn't expect especially as I was drinking it with coke.
I didn't enjoy it so much neat, not that it is bad, I've paid more and had a lot worse, just that when compared to Plantations Belize/Guatemala offering this is not as good and its at a similar price point, but again I found it a bit harsh, not so smooth and really not a sipper for me.

Posted 9 months ago by je_farley from United States with 100 ratings

Nice to the nose but not quite a sipper. A full body taste when mixed with a funk that did not over power. This was a tasting sampler at my local tiki bar and is now in my bar.