Posting your rating...
Ultimatum Selected 8-Year rum

Ultimatum Selected 8-Year

Netherlands Antilles | Aged

7.2/10 (11 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
2
3
1
1

Rate Ultimatum Selected 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


11 Ultimatum Selected 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 13 days ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

This one is a very good blend, the nose starts with characteristic Jamaica pot distilled esters (think Hampden), but not too overpowering as they are mixed with the scent similar to Mount Gay XO, the taste fulfills my expectations of the pot and column mix (as advertised on the bottle) which takes much the Jamaican funk out and makes this rum well rounded as it adds Bajan style taste to the game. The taste has a sweet start, with some vanilla, dried fruits, it ends with oak undertones, and maybe some of the blend aged in ex-cognac barrels, or maybe I am just imaging it. The Bajan end of the taste profile kind of wanes out at the end of the bottle if you when you leave it for several weeks, I will finish it faster next time. No sugar added. If you are into Jamaica and Bajan style rums - this is a mixture of both.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 136 ratings

This is the 8 year old Guatemala Darsa 2008. Another great expression from the Van Wees who also bless us with Foursquare Rum. Deep rich and complex. Especially striking for just an 8 year old. Wonderful balance with a significant but smooth bite. Great body. Incredible nose.long luscious finish. Really good stuff. Great neat or on ice.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 54 ratings

Like their Ultimate whiskeys the 'van Wees' Ultimatum rums are unadultered and have a name to uphold. This 8 yo Spanish style blend (stated on the bottle) is one of their least expensive offerings (I paid around €26) and bottled at 46% ABV. Eight different rums are in the blend of which 50% is pot still; there is no geographical indication on any of these rums.

On the nose I get the first question as the bottle says Spanish style but the nose screams Jamaica (and that would be English style, right?); some sharper, almost petrochemical, notes, quit a bit of alcohol and some fruity notes as well that I would describe as a mix of drupes. The pot stil part takes care of the liveliness and complexity of this rum, the column part mellows the harsher flavours and make it easygoing. Both make it rather fruity and sweet on the 'midpalate' (is that even a word?) and it ends with some bittersweet dark chocolate/mocha and oaky notes.

This is a blend made in heaven; enough complexity to make it interesting, enough sweet notes to make it easygoing. The pot still part is very present but not dominating or overpowering as in some Jamaican rums. Balance is perfect and I am surprised this can be offered at this pricepoint. For good measure, the price is not taken into account on my rating; this is a well earned 9 (and I don't give them easily).Probably a love or hate rum.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Jan Staněk from Czech Republic with 108 ratings

Not really my cup of tea, I prefer different type of rums.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by TY from Austria with 53 ratings

Sehr intensiver süßlich-fruchtiger Geruch.
Birne und Kirsche klingen durch.
Würzig, scharf, alkoholisch.
Im Hintergrund jedoch etwas wässrig und ohne viel Körper.
Langer, warmer, leicht herber Abgang.

Pur exotisch und bestenfalls interessant, aber nichts für alle Tage.
Kommt selbst bei Cocktails deutlich durch.
Verleiht Orange-Rum Charakter.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by SSies from Netherlands with 6 ratings

Nice gentle rum which is affordable and not too complex in taste. Easy to drink. Nice price quality combination

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Evan.stols from Netherlands with 5 ratings

Rather harsch to drink, it has a nice aftertaste. They could have done a better job on this one.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Rum tasting in Amsterdam continued with Ultimatum Selected Rum. Nice bottle and label design. Golden color. Eight different rums blended for 8 Years. Strong oakiness mixed with some glue straight to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Strong and super dry burn at the end.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tomy from Romania with 423 ratings

Ultimatum Rums are released under the Little Distiller brand which is under the ownership of The Ultimate Whisky Company. Those companies are again under the ownership of spirits specialist van Wees from Amersfoort in the Netherlands. The Dutch company was founded by Han and Maurice van Wees in 1994 to allow them to buy, bottle and sell Whisky. The Ultimate is their independent Whisky bottling brand, Ultimatum is their independent Rum bottling brand. They apply the same principles to their Rum bottlings as they do their Whisky bottlings…..Single Cask offerings…..No Colouring…..No Chill Filtration….Presented at 46%.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul from Netherlands with 6 ratings

Goede rum voor de prijs. Zacht, wel kruidige afdronk. Lange nasmaak van rijp tropisch fruit. Zeker gewoon doen als je weer een andere rum wil proeven.