Posting your rating...
Veritas White rum

Rate Veritas White

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


17 Veritas White ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 7 months ago by Rudi from Poland with 10 ratings

A combination of high-ester Jamaican rum with milder foursquare column-distilled rums, this rum provides a very nice nose with fruity touches that remind you of a nice wine. You need to feel the aroma for a while before the Jamaican funk comes to the front. Then come some wood at the end.
On the palate the story is very different: it burns like you would expect from an un-dossed, non-aged rum and it leaves a dry, slightly bitter aftertaste.
It was conceived as a mixer, with a price/image/quality to match, so I would say that seeing it under this concept (instead of comparing it to other more premium rums) the product is outstanding. 9/10

Posted 8 days ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 251 ratings

one of the best and most interesting white rums I have tested! Aroma is full of esters but nice and gentle. First taste is sweeter and pleasant, reminding the fruit distilates (maybe grappa). Aftertaste is surprisingly long with fruit and wooden tones. Strong enough to have some "balls" but not burning your mouth. I don't drink coctails, but can imagine that this will be perfect mixer tooo. 8.5 point !

Posted 23 days ago by Rumopijca from Poland with 10 ratings

Idealny do Daiquiri, po prostu wspaniały.
Pyszny rum koktajlowy.

Posted 2 months ago by Francois from France with 82 ratings

I was hoping also according to the comments to have found a white sipper (I love white Agricole), but I guess I will have to stick to Agricole when it comes to white. Good but too rough to drink alone, so indeed perfect for elevated cocktails.

Posted 4 months ago by Durbs from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Just fantastic in any rum-based cocktail; daiquiri, rum and coke, Pina colada...
I don't sip it, but some do and enjoy it.
For £33, you'll never need Bacardi or Havana 3 again

Posted 5 months ago by Russ from United States with 70 ratings

This is a very versatile rum that can be used as a sipper but I think it's best for giving your mixed drinks that extra something...especially in a daiquiri. Its got a lot of funk with notes of banana coming through on the end. I really enjoy this and will use it quite often.

Posted 7 months ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 134 ratings

I got the opportunity to attend a rum tasting with Daniele Biondi from Velier were we tasted 9 different rums. This was the first rum of the night, which we tasted both on its own, but also in a daiquiri. If you need the perfect rum for the latter, then look no further. This rum is a blend of rums from Hampden in Jamaica and Foursquare in Barbados.

Nose: Natural smell of sugarcanes, lime and a grassy backbone
Taste: A very vibrant taste of molasses, banana, lime, grass and a small hint of spice
Overall: I was very surprised by the richness of this white-ish rum. It is already great as a sipper, but it truly comes to shine in a daiquiri. If you like your basic rum cocktails to actually taste like rum (and why wouldn´t you), then this is the rum for you.

Posted 10 months ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

First impression on the nose was big pineapple and then cola. A little funk and heat bites the nostrils. Bottled at 47% which in my rum book is a big plus!!
Sipping it neat I was surprised at the mouth feel. Almost borderline syrup thick, like a liqueur. BUT!! it’s dry. Not sugary or sweet but a wonderful agricole grass note along with tropical fruits.
Lively finish from the heat.
I’m extremely happy to come across this and four square really doesn’t put out poor rum. This is yet another winner. If you haven’t tried it yet, do! Make a Chief Lapu Lapu with it, or sip it on ice or neat.... it’s fantastic

Posted 11 months ago by Smovens from United States with 87 ratings

Collaboration between four square and hampden, this is the best of both worlds. The Bajan sweetness and oomph along with a touch of Jamaican funk makes this balanced and amazing. Great white rum.

Posted about 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Probitas Rum while vacationing in Sedona AZ. Unique bottle and label design. Light yellow color. Grass, funk and pure alcohol to the nose and palate when neat sipped. Strong and dry burn at end. Not my cup of tea.

Posted about 1 year ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

One of those rare unaged (mostly) rums that I'd drink neat. The combo of Bajan clarity and Hampden funky esters reminds me of a nice white demerara in its body and sweetness. A lovely base for a cocktail, esp. a daquiri.

Posted about 1 year ago by Joe Tortorello (PREMIUM) from United States with 18 ratings

This is a very light straw colored rum. Has very little aroma to it but I was quite surprised at the pleasant flavor it has. Never expected anything good from a white rum, which I usually consider for mixing, but this one tastes pretty good as a sipping rum. Pretty smooth. 47% Alcohol, Coffey Still and Pot Still from Barbados.

Posted over 1 year ago by Nick.DW from Belgium with 9 ratings

Nice taste, full bodied. Good after taste. But quickly disappears. Light vegital, straw color.great blend!

Posted over 1 year ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

47% ABV. A unique collaboration between Foursquare, Hampden, and Velier, Probitas (US; Veritas everywhere else) is a blend of 3 distillates: unaged Hampden pot-still, unaged Foursquare column-still, and some aged Foursquare pot-still.

Exceptional in a Daiquiri, this is still very nice on its own. It is confident and competent, yet delicate. A "white" rum with character and finesse—just a little more "oomph" than Royal Standard (43%, Barbados, Trinidad, Jamaica). I have no doubt this bottle will become a staple on bar shelves across the world. A big thanks to all who saw this project to fruition.

8-

Posted over 1 year ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

Bottled at 47% it has a very light straw appearance. Aromas of light vegetal, citrus, sweet cane, pastry, exotic fruits.

Posted over 1 year ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

Ceva special.. Prima dată nu mi-a plăcut dar... După 15 minute pe gheață lucrurile se schimbă radical.. Deosebit.. Pour le connoisseur..

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

When Vellier, Hampden & Foursquare collaborate to bring you a new blend of white rum you can bet ya it will be setting a new benchmark.

Veritas, or in the US named Probitas, is a blend of white rums of the Foursquare Distillery, Barbados, and Hampden, Jamaica. It’s a blend of three rums in all. Containing un-aged pot from Hampden. Un-aged from Foursquare’s twin column Coffey still and Foursquare’s aged pot still (2 years). There is no info on how much of each is in the blend however Mr. Seale in his usual cryptic way did disclose that there is “a lot of the un-aged and a little of the aged” in the blend.

Bottled at 47% it has a very light straw appearance. Aromas of light vegetal, citrus, sweet cane, pastry, exotic fruits. I love the aroma and can’t help myself to have a sniff every time I pass this bottle. You can easily drink this neat but it really is made for cocktails.

This is not a Jamaican funk high ester bomb. The notes are more subtle and in harmony with each other. Suggest you use this in classic spirit forward drinks. This makes an amazing Daiquiri.

My new favourite cocktail ingredient